We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delheim

Delheim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.52*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #25 of 141 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delheim's Cellar Stellenbosch, offers internationally acclaimed wines, wine tasting tours, and a restaurant in a beautiful garden.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have been having lunch at various wine estates over the years and for consistency , good value and excellent food you just cannot beat the Delheim Restaurant. As it was an extremely hot day I settled for the smoked chicken salad and my wife the snoek (fish) cakes. Both were delicious and ample .Paired with a cold bottle of Delheim Pinotage Rose made it an unforgettable lunch. Their lambshank and Curry dishes can also be recommended especially in winter. The service was outstanding and as always very friendly and the prices reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeoRenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Delheim was highly recommended by friends in Cape Town as an "authentic" older vineyard and a good place for lunch. Although we didn't have lunch we can highly recommend the cellar tour and the tasting. In particular, they have some great Shiraz and can ship to some states in the US as well as many European countries.
Friendly staff, lovely grounds and an enjoyable tour/tasting experience make this an easy recommendation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A great place in picturesque surrounds. The tour was thorough and very informative. The tasting was interesting, we really enjoyed it. Very knowledgable staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The tour was informative and wine-tasting pleasant. You also get to try the notorious Spatzendreck (sparrow pooh)! I haven't been on this kind of tour/tasting before, so I have nothing to compare it to, although there are indeed plenty of options in Stellenbosch. Looked like it had quite a nice restaurant too, but we didn't eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gdn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical day in the garden restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

overlooking centuary old oaks and dining on local favourites - malay curry and malva pudding - YUM oh and the wine?? Mmmm divine try the chardonay sur lie

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delheim also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing