We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Manager in the Tasting Room”
Review of Simonsig

Simonsig
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.69*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
More Info
US$42.65*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #24 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Simonsig Estate upholds the legendary status of pioneering wine excellence shaped by the Malan Family's devotion to quality and innovative winemaking. Named after its dramatic views of the Simonsberg Mountain, the estate is ideally situated in Stellenbosch, South Africa's premier wine region, 45 km east of Cape Town. Tasting & Tours: Taste and learn more about our award winning wines from our knowledgeable team at our tasting room, set amidst the tranquil gardens on the estate. As a founding member of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, Simonsig enjoys widespread popularity and attracts visitors from all over the world. With a cosy fire crackling in the tasting room during winter or flutes of chilled Kaapse Vonkel served on the cool, shady veranda during summer, we welcome our visitors to cellar tour experiences all year round. Opening Hours Tasting and Wine Sales Mon to Fri: 08:30 - 17:00 Saturdays & Public Holidays: 08:30 - 16:00 Sunday: 11:00 - 15:00 Closed on Christmas, New Year's Day & Good Friday Cellar Tours Mon to Fri: 10:00 & 15:00 Saturdays: 10:00 Closed on Sunday, Christmas, New Year's Day & Good Friday
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Service Manager in the Tasting Room”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This person does not know you. I have visited Simonsig on numerous occasions and only received the best service from you. You make us feel special and have always explained every wine in detail and certainly patiently. It is the only wine farm I don't feel like a common wine drinker, but like a real wine connoisseur. Keep it up Denzil, fools like that guy does not deserve to be entertained.

Eugene Jackson

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacket27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    46
    12
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mehlingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything about this place is amazing!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful wines, some of the best in the Western Cape! Never had a bad bottle of Simonsig wine-ever!

The restaurant is also fantastic with beautifully prepared, very tasty food using good quality ingredients prepared with a local flair.

You like great wines and great food then look no further. I will be back again and again :))

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLFkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Goodish wine", very bad service and attitude from staff in wine tasting area”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Simonsig's wine is not badly priced, but then its definitely not the best wine in the region. The cheap wines, are exactly as priced, cheap and watery. The more expensive wines are good but we found it to be a overpriced for the taste, as you can find better bubbly and reds in the area that taste great at better prices. The wine tasting room is very nice, since you can play some board games while tasting and have a good time.
Only thing is the service is very bad as well as the service manager Denzel, he is just blatantly rude and have an arrogant attitude which is not a good thing when people want to enjoy a wine tasting. You have to fetch your wine at the counter and are not served, trying to figure out which is which can become confusing as they explain it all in one go and leave it there.
If you like a fruity, light, not full bodied wine, a reasonable price, then that's the place to go. If you are looking for a full bodied, deep sensual wine, best to be avoided. Don't think, no I know that this place will not see us again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PriveeMarinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Simonsig, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Goodday

Firstly we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. Every patron visiting Simonsig is important to us and your feedback helps us to make the Simonsig Experience an even greater one.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your visit. Unfortunately you arrived just before our closing time which made a full tasting impossible. We did however see it fit to treat you and your five guests to a complimentary glass of Kaapse Vonkel.

We do understand that taste in wine is a very personal opinion and that you can’t appeal to everyone’s tastes. We do however know that our wines are of the highest quality and crafted with the utmost precision and skill as can be seen by the many awards won.

As you only tasted the Kaapse Vonkel Brut, which is a lighter wine, we would love to invite you back for a complimentary tasting of our top range which we’re sure will blow you away.

Kind Regards

The Simonsig Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Incredibly delicious food and stunning surrounding”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My parents were coming from Jhb and we wanted to go out for my mother's birthday, after having looked at a lot of restaurants near Stellenbosch I found that most of them were just incredibly expensive. I looked on the Simonsig website loved the Cuvée menu and it seemed reasonably priced for a wine farm.

When we arrived we were very impressed by the view and the decor of the restaurant, elegant and sophisticated.

The staff were wonderful and the food was just incredible. I had the Springbok rump and it was just sooo delicious. The portion sizes were just perfect and we left incredibly impressed and very satisfied.

So satisfied that my father ended up saying that it has been the best restaurant he has been to in a very VERY long time.

Well done guys, can't wait to come again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Simonsig, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good Afternoon Marlizan

We are so pleased to hear of your lovely time at Cuvée Restaurant. It is patrons like you who reward us when we receive such wonderful feedback!

We're looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

The Cuvée Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Simonsig is ideal for wine tasting, cellar tour and lunch! Try the Cap classique Cuvee Royale it' s simple heavenly. Also the red wines like Frans Malan blend is a joy on the pelate. The guides are well educated and friendly, the atmosphere relaxed. Lunch at Cuvee restaurant is a gem with exquisite crab dishes or perfect venison.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VeraLaura1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Simonsig, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Goodday Laura!

We would just like to thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to Simonsig again in the near future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simonsig also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Simonsig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing