We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting experience”

Hartenberg Wine Estate
Ranked #37 of 140 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the slopes of Bottelary Hills bordering Stellenbosch, we are a family estate where nature provides the perfect backdrop to grow, produce and share award-winning wines. Summer at Hartenberg brings lunches on the terrace or picnics on the lawns followed by buoyant games of boule. Winter invites you to intimate fireside lunches and sumptuous reds, smoky charcuterie and olives, and sensorial cellar tours. Our Wetland Conservation Area, alongside the vineyards, makes for a beautiful setting for walks and shared family fun.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
382 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great tasting experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Caroline our host did a great job of describing the wines and they tasted great. There are some good photos opportunities too with the old grape presses and barrels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went to Hartenberg for a wine tasting and a light lunch, what a joy! Elouise was such a fantastic wine ambassador! Explained all of the varietals in such detail, answered all of our questions with such ease and so politely. And the wine is excellent! We had such a great lunch and were served by Johno who is one of the friendliest servers we have had in a long time! Our seven year old loved the kiddies picnic they served and had a great time playing on the estate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alishia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My mother, husband, daughter and I visited Hartenberg in March this year. We just popped in for a quick wine tasting and ended up staying for over an hour. The staff were incredibly friendly and chatty, stopping by our table to talk to us and explain all the wines we were tasting. We had a really lovely time, so I was surprised when I saw the couple of negative reviews they've had lately! We enjoyed it so much that we're visiting again in January when we're in the Cape again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank katieleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was....”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have been going to this estate for years, we love the place and the picnic experience. For the last 2 years the picnic has lost quantity and quality and this year we were even very disappointed by what we found in the picnic basket, few bits to share .... The management was still very polite and looking after the guests but the waiters were not very nice and a bit arrogant. I do hope they will go back to the plate wrapped in the table cloth which was lovely and they will hire better staff. The wine is still superb...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rudest person I have ever met in a wine farm”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A group of us recently visited this wine farm for the afternoon and were actually stunned by how rude the elderly woman was who "welcomed" us.

She sighed when she saw a dozen people walk in and gave us lip, told us to be quiet and tested us on what she told us! At first it seemed a joke, but then we realised that that was it! That was the real thing. We had the wine tasting, paid and departed for Simonsig where, all told, the group bought something like R 6,000 worth of wine to take home.

I could understand if we were a loud, drunken mob. But this was a very well behaved group with business visitors to show around. Very, very embarrassing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartenberg Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Hartenberg Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing