We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a picnic there if possible”

Hartenberg Wine Estate
Ranked #36 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the slopes of Bottelary Hills bordering Stellenbosch, we are a family estate where nature provides the perfect backdrop to grow, produce and share award-winning wines. Summer at Hartenberg brings lunches on the terrace or picnics on the lawns followed by buoyant games of boule. Winter invites you to intimate fireside lunches and sumptuous reds, smoky charcuterie and olives, and sensorial cellar tours. Our Wetland Conservation Area, alongside the vineyards, makes for a beautiful setting for walks and shared family fun.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Have a picnic there if possible”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If going there, call in advance and make sure to reserve a picnic. You get a fantastic picnic basket and a bottle of wine and get to sit and relax amongst the vineyards! Also the wine is incredible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simms327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK/Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We will always come back”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been dealing with Hartenberg for at least 12 years now and with the help of Betty have ordered their wines many times through their European agents.
Since we have been escaping the European winters for about 7 year in a row we have visited the estate on many occasions not only to top up our wine stock while in South Africa but also to enjoy their excellent picnic lunches.
During our last stay we treated 4 overseas visitors to a lunch and wine tasting at the estate but unfortunately a few things went wrong during lunch and not being accustomed to a lesser than perfect lunch I wrote to Hartenberg about our experience.
The response from Hartenberg was quick and extremely professional with apologies from different levels of management and a more than adequate offer of compensation.
This experience has confirmed our believe that Hartenberg is fully commited to their customers and that our lesser lunch experience was an unfortunate fluke.
We will always go back and will keep on recommending it to people looking for excellent wines and a nice lunch in a wonderful setting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AC-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hartenberg Picnic”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a lovely picnic with friends under the trees. Picnic spread was very good, great variety, lovely fresh breads, great snoek and farmhouse pates, generous half a bottle of wine per person. Wines were excellent!!! Unusual Chardonnay, and divine red blend. Spacious picnic area, so does not feel crowded at all. Only thing missing was a really nice cappuccino as the perfect complement to the lovely chocolate brownie!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique DT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great tasting experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Caroline our host did a great job of describing the wines and they tasted great. There are some good photos opportunities too with the old grape presses and barrels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went to Hartenberg for a wine tasting and a light lunch, what a joy! Elouise was such a fantastic wine ambassador! Explained all of the varietals in such detail, answered all of our questions with such ease and so politely. And the wine is excellent! We had such a great lunch and were served by Johno who is one of the friendliest servers we have had in a long time! Our seven year old loved the kiddies picnic they served and had a great time playing on the estate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alishia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartenberg Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Koelenhof, Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Hartenberg Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing