We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning place to stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Zalze Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
De Zalze Lodge
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning place to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Recently returned from staying 3 nights. Stunning scenery, excellent food and wine. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the pool watching the world go by. As our first stop in South Africa was perfect to chill out before the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Room overlooking golf course best, our room was at the back and looked onto the vineyards. Nothing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuDhabiHappybunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    96
    33
    20
    17
See reviews for
43
154
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend atthis amazing Lodge. The accommodation wad first class. The surroundings was picture perfect and the service excellent. Melvyn and his team are doing a fantastic job. Well done guys. We feel well spoiled. All the best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ptlpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

All round good place to visit. On our 2 week trip through the Cape we mostly stayed in more wallet friendly b+b's but decided to treat ourselves to their Winter special package which included dinner at Terroir restaurant ( awesome), breakfast and wine tasting. Definitely got the most bang for my bucks and will definitely go back on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We hosted our daughters 21st at Kleine Zalze on 21 September 2013 and it was a most successful event with a Great Gatsby theme. Our heartfelt thanks go to the fabulous staff, especially Samantha, who went out of their way to meet every request, even at the last minute. They provided us with delicious food, friendly and effecient service and were most hospitable. The venue looking into the wine vats and winery was much admired by our guests. Our rooms at the Lodge were lovely and we enjoyed a superb breakfast on Sunday sitting out on the verandah overlooking the golf course and snowcapped mountains. Well done Kleine Zalze and thank you again for all your hard work and attention to detail. Everyone enjoyed a superb weekend celebration!!

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a superior room overlooking the golf course and beautiful mountains. I loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The stunning views of the golf course and Stellenbosch mountains made up for lacklustre staff. On checking-in we were upgraded from a 1 bedroom luxury suite to a 2 bedroom luxury suite due to availability - this was a very pleasant surprise! We were given our key and our suite was pointed out to us and that was that! No porter available to help my daughter and I cart our luggage down a rather steep flight of stairs and then back up again on our departure 2 days later!

The suites are comfortable, the beds however are quite hard. The bathroom with full bath and seperate shower are adequate - nothing too fancy, however loads of hot water and spotlessly clean. The underfloor heating is a nice touch in the cooler weather, however it would have been helpful if we were shown where to find the temperature switch to control the heat as once the day warmed up, the floor became uncomfortably hot! Ample cupboard space.

The Lodge does have a gym which I viewed but did not use as it is rather small and dark and stuffy. The Lodge advertises walking trails which they do have around the golf course, they are however, unmarked for distance and direction - the result is that you continually walk up a dead end, retrace your footsteps, choose another route and hit a dead end again - this became rather tiresome and frustrating as my daughter and I were keen to do a 8-10km walk but gave up in the end. I did ask the Receptionist if there were any marked out routes and she looked at me rather blankly and said "no - you just walk wherever you want"

Our rate included breakfast which we partook of on both morning - nice range of choice and perfectly cooked. We received a complimentary wine tasting ticket which we did use and loved the wines of the Estate which I might add were very reasonably priced.

The Estate is well situated for visits to neighbouring wine farms and a 5 minute drive from town itself. Also 2 shopping centres within close proximity.

All in all a pleasant stay in beautiful, tranquil surroundings.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

With the assistance of the Kleine Zalze functions team we put together a fabulous 21st birthday celebration held in their function room on 21/9/2013 for a 100 people. We will have no hesitation using the same facilities in the future.

Room Tip: The superior rooms offer more space and a view of the golf course, if you are a golfer, is worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a winter package with one night accomodation in a one bedroom luxury suite inkl breakfast and one round of golf and winetasting included. When we arrived we were informed that there was a balanse of R400 to be paid, but presenting a print of the e-mail that confirmed that everything was paid in full the issue was quickly brought to rest. An appolegy rather than a "OK" would have been appropriate ,but apart from that the general service was nice and friendly. The luxury suite was spacious and nice and had good kitchen facalities for those who would like that. The shower was quite "weak" and this was reported to receptionist who promised to look into it. The winetasting is highly recomended and Wayne did an excellent job in teaching us about wines and it was very informative. All in all an excellent deal and recomended both in winter and in summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zalze Lodge

Property: De Zalze Lodge
Address: Strand Road (R44), Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zalze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards. Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms. Although the lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your De Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing