We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful top class experience”
Review of De Zalze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zalze Lodge
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would highly recommend Kleine Zalze. The whole experience was amazing. The lodge is delightful and the views were out of this world. We got so much out of the 2 days and I would highly recommend a stay here. From the wine tasting center to the highly acclaimed Terroir restaurant to the delicious breakfast overlooking the golf course. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: We stayed over looking the parking lot and there was a bit of noise from people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 433Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed overnight at Kleine Zalze ,what a delight.The room was 5 star ,spacious,well maintained and superb bedding and towels.The superior room is recommended.The breakfast was excellent and many choices from a buffet

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff were amazing, accommodation first class with stunning views of the golf course and the mountains. Wine tasting was fantastic and we bought home some really good merlot. Food was of a high quality for all meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevStrimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great lodge, wonderful views. Close to Stellenbosch yet out in the vineyards. The suites are luxorious and roomy with wonderful beds and excellent separate large bathrooms. Lovely infinity pool.The hotel restaurant is ok, but the nearby Terroir is great. The winery and its wines however are just ok, nothing more

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were booked in one night only. Thankfully. Reception was nice enough, but parking was a problem. First come, first serve we are told. Cleaners were still busy in the room on our 3pm arrival. Sat poolside for some r&r. Noisy building going on next to the pool. Not peaceful. Had to want 45 mins for pool service. A couple of cocktails ordered. We waited. And waited. Fed up, we decided to leave, only to meet up with our waiter with our warm, drowned and badly made cocktails. Supper was had off the premises. Breakfast fas abysmal. Watery, flavourless coffee. Buffet breakfast not pleasant. I'm sorry, but won't be back nor can I recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gdmm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Kleine Zalze accommodation is excellent, with fantastic service and the most beautiful setting_perfect place away from home. The staff go out of their way to accommodate you. The wine tasting is always a treat. Fantastic golf course, fabulous restaurant and free wine in your room make for a great stay each and every time.

Room Tip: Kleine Zalze have special upgrade offers when you check-in or be on the lookout on their online book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caretha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Cinsaut 4 in late January. The room was clean, spacious but the bathroom could have been upgraded. We liked the balcony although when we closed the doors, we could still see outside through the crack in the door. The grounds are lovely and the golf course very pretty but for us (HC 15 and 20) a but too short and easy. Otherwise nice amenities at the clubhouse but not the friendliest staff. Terroir was very good for a nice meal (check separate review) but the hotel restaurant was dreadful! The terrace is very nice overlooking the golf course hole 1 but the service is all over the place. We ordered chicken and got pork, a salad without dressing and it was drenched in it, and ordered tap water which was warm and didn't have any lemon in it. We were offered a free dessert for all the mishaps, but it was a defrosted "creme brulee" with no taste. The restaurant manager herself wasn't very friendly or accommodating. Breakfast also left much to be desired for. However, for the price and location it's solid value and we enjoyed it nevertheless for the 2 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,959 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
907 reviews
4.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zalze Lodge

Address: (R 44) Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £91 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zalze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards. Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms. Although the lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing