We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay at Kleine Zalze lodge”
Review of De Zalze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zalze Lodge
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Kleine Zalze lodge”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

For the best winelands accommodation experiences, stay at Kleine Zalze Lodge. It is an unforgettable experience! The wine tasting was great, and the staff very friendly. The location was convenient and close to Stellenbosch

Room Tip: Book the executive room - it has a living area with balcony for a magic view of the estate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Hannes

Many thanks for sharing with us your experience here at Kleine Zalze Lodge. We were glad to have read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the wine tasting.

Our staff is certainly our biggest asset.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    98
    34
    20
    17
See reviews for
45
157
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I usually have to list both the positive and the negative of all establishments we try, but I have only good things to say about Kleine Zalze. We loved every moment & every aspect...especially the heated floors in the rooms! The huge bathroom is lovely, the bed is extremely comfortable, the views are stunning (I'll excuse the half-built construction site next to the pool as that is out of their control)...I now remember one negative and that is the fact that the pool is advertised as heated, but it was icy cold when we visited!
Apart from the cold pool, I must say we only have wonderful memories of our stay. The breakfast was delicious (fresh honeycomb is something different you won't just see everywhere else) and the staff are friendly. The on-site restaurant Terroir is truly amazing...but that is a review unto itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Omnitravelix

Many thanks for the very comprehensive and detailed review as posted here on TripAdvisor of your recent visit to Kleine Zalze Lodge. I am delighted that we managed to create a good experience all around.
I am pleased that you liked the size and cleanliness of our rooms,not to mention the stunning views! The fresh honeycomb is indeed eye catching.

I have passed your comments onto the Maintenance Manager and will ensure that we address the pool issue.

Happy travels!

Kind Regards
Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at many hotels and B&B's in Stellenbosch and Kleine Zalze is by far the best we have experienced. The rooms are of the highest standard and although we have dined at Terroir a few times, the restaurant at the lodge is excellent (we have tried lunch and dinner). The breakfast is the best we have had for a long time. On warm days it is hard to drag yourself away from the views around the pool and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay a great one. This will be our only location when visiting Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: The self contained rooms with fireplace are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Hird

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked the size and cleanliness of our rooms as well as the dinner options we provide.

It makes me extremely proud to hear such comments about my staff. My friendly staff is really an attribute to our lodge!

I hope that this experience and your past experiences staying at Kleine Zalze Lodge will now ensure that Kleine Zalze Lodge is your 'home' away from home when next you are in Stellies.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kleine Zalze Lodge in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards
Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I had the most amazing stay over at Kleine Zalze Lodge this weekend. Derick chose to take me away for a Winter Experience for Mother’s Day weekend, which for me, is always the most wonderful treat and spoil. We had comfortable accommodation and the underfloor heating made our room so toasty and warm that we nearly overslept for breakfast the following morning. Our winter special included wine tasting, dinner at Terroir and bed and breakfast at the Lodge. Our daughter, Samantha, was married at the Lodge last year and we decided that a trip back to experience the wonderful hospitality and friendliness of all at the Lodge was necessary. We were not disappointed once again. Thank you Kleine Zalze for making our Winter Experience memorable.

Warm regards
Dianne and Derick Flugel

Room Tip: Room overlooking the golf estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Flugel

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your recent visit to Kleine Zalze Lodge

I am delighted that you experienced a wonderful Mother's day here with us and that you found everything to your liking, including the superb friendliness and excellent service from the staff and of course our renowned Terroir.

We hope to see you back at Kleine Zalze Lodge - perhaps for Father's day? Its a win-win.

Kind Regards
Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 5 marvelous days at Kleine Zalze, beautiful luxurious rooms which are well maintained, views that are breathtaking, wonderful walks on the Golf Course and The Terroir Restaurant is one of the best in the country. The staff are friendly and very professional and nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: Semillon 1 is perfectly situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Russell P

Your very kind words are highly appreciated and I will share it with all the staff.

I am happy to read that you had 5 memorable days at Kleine Zalze and had a truely Unique Cape Winelands Experience.

Please visit us again.

Kind Regards
Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flims, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The lodge is nice and has a good location to the golf course and to Stellenbosch. We would recommend the superior rooms. the breakfast was excellent, specially the honey. The wine tasting cellar is cosy and we tried some good white wines. The Terroir restaurant we can recommend, has good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would highly recommend Kleine Zalze. The whole experience was amazing. The lodge is delightful and the views were out of this world. We got so much out of the 2 days and I would highly recommend a stay here. From the wine tasting center to the highly acclaimed Terroir restaurant to the delicious breakfast overlooking the golf course. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: We stayed over looking the parking lot and there was a bit of noise from people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 433Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
4.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zalze Lodge

Property: De Zalze Lodge
Address: Strand Road (R44), Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zalze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards. Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms. Although the lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing