We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect package”
Review of De Zalze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Zalze Lodge
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Can't fault the whole 'Terroir' package. Excellent wine tasting, exceptional meal, comfortable room and friendly staff. Pity about the terrible weather but I can't think of a better way to sit out a storm!

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

A beautiful clear day, coupled with top wines to taste and purchase, friendly/ efficient front desk, and an inviting room. What more could you want? The soul needs this kind relaxation. as for restaurant choices, you're truly spoilt. The bed definitely sold me in the room!!! Wish i could have stayed longer, but, there'll be a next time for sure.

Room Tip: Ask if room has a bar fridge in it. Request more secluded room to have a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestonPb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

First class visit....ambience... friendly staff... fantastic service... wine... wine knowledge of staff...fine dining food... real value for money on the "eat stay taste special offer" A must visit....will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a beautiful area, spectacular views, golf course everything so nice except the state of the two bedroom two bathroom Apartment that I rented for two nights. On arrival I was disappointed on the terrible smell in the place, like someone had a braai inside the house. The cottage overall has such potential and I think some time ago it was lovely. The floors were dirty, the curtains in the lounge were filthy, the aircon in the bedroom did not work. But the general cleanliness was not up to scratch at all. I think with a good spring clean things would improve by a lot. The bed was very comfortable with good linen. We went to the 'Terroir' Restaurant for dinner and I can honestly say as a very well travelled person that this was one of the top restaurants I have dined at in the world. What fantastic food we had. Both my children agrees that this was a experience of note! I am going to this area again soon and will definitely dine there again........I am thrilled by the thought of it! I would love to see a little attention is given to the rest.........

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marianne793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely rooms, friendly staff and great food. The staff is very kindly and the rooms are very clean and quiet. It's a wonderful place to stay, in Winelands zone. We appriciate the restaurant too, and the excellent wines.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Arrived in the pouring rain and met with a warm reception. Our room was excellent if not a little warm and couldn't seem to get the air-con working to bring down the temp.
Off next to the wine tasting which was great and bought several cases, then on to the amazing restaurant for an equally amazing meal. This truly was the highlight of our stay as the food was beyond comparison. The best meal I have ever had!!
Left the next day both thinking that this had been a wonderful deal - especially at the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear John S

Thanks so much for your review and telling us about your experience here at Kleine Zalze.

We are delighted about your wonderful experience at Terroir. I will pass your comments on to Michael and his team.

I noted your comments about the aircon and have addressed it with the Housekeeping team.

Looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Melvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay, lovely rooms, friendly staff and great food.
Very honest, I forgot my handbag in the dining room and was called immediately after they discovered it, and this is quite rare in our country lately. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin D, General Manager at De Zalze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Antoinette V

Thanks so much for your review and telling us about your experience here at the Lodge.

Your very kind words are highly appreciated and I will share it with the TEAM. Their honesty amongst many other things makes them a great asset at Kleine Zalze Lodge.

I am truely pleased and very proud that we could assist with the safe return of your handbag.

Kind regards
Melvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,990 reviews
6.3 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zalze Lodge

Address: (R 44) Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £73 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zalze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards. Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms. Although the lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing