We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #4 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 9 nights here and it was fantastic. The staff are so friendly and kind. The rooms are spacious, immaculate and tastefully decorated. There are thoughtful little extras like blackout blinds to ensure a good nights sleep and free water to drink. The breakfast is amazing and there's always coffee and cake on offer throughout the day at no extra cost. Really lovely guesthouse. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
210
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I (in our 40's) stayed at Summerwood in early April after having spent a few days at Parker a Cottage in Cape Town.

The two properties are very different in so many ways, but as is the way with Guest Houses, it is those differences that make every stay unique compared to international 5 star hotels.

Whilst Parker Cottage was an older building, complemented with so many period style furnishings, Summerwood was white, bright, fresh and clean, with understated furnishings that hit exactly the right note.

We stayed in room 8, which is the only room on the top (2nd) floor, but what this meant was that the room was completely filled with light, having windows on 3 of the 4 walls. Some people may not like this, but we loved it.

Breakfasts are had in the common breakfast room, which, again, is bright and light, covering all the typical options (juice, coffee, cheeses, breads, fruit, and a cooked option).

The property is a little out of town (maybe 1 mile/1.5 Kms?), so there are definitely other options that are closer to town, but we quite enjoyed the 15 minute stroll both in the morning, as well as later that evening to and from dinner.

There us obviously much on offer re: wineries and restaurants, so I won't go into that here, but on our second afternoon, we simply spent a couple of hours in the sun, sitting by the pool, listening to our iPods, or reading magazines.

Our only contact with the management was with Tessa, who was friendly, polite and not 'in your face'. She very much seemed to have everything running to plan and it showed with her cool, calm efficiency.

It's hard to say anything bad about this place - it was a very elegant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the summerwood beginning of April, we loved it. It sets the standards for guest houses, great room, great facilities and wonderful staff. Breakfast was all you could ask for, better than a top class hotel.The honesty bar was much appreciated and most welcome. The staff went out of their way to help with restaurant reservations and taxis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

hey!
Im back home looking at the fotos of south africa! it was all great but the summerwood was especially awesome!
the ambiance was so nice and the owners and service super friendly!
loved it! I especially took the two women which made the breakfast in my hert! they made the best scones (and french toast)
i hope i will return soon! it was such a good atmosphere and close (with the bike) to the center of the beautifull town stellenbosch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotti h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a wonderful guest house! Everything was absolutely perfect. Very comfortable, very quaint, very elegant. The room was immaculate with every attention to detail. The food was excellent and the staff were courteous and accommodating. The grounds and the pool are inviting and make relaxing very easy. For times when I had to work, the internet was fast and I was to get work done quickly and efficiently. I highly recommend this outstanding guest house!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlebury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A truly wonderful place to stay in Stellenbosch. We were a party of 12 and every room was lovely, spacious, relaxing and very clean. Great breakfasts to set us up for the day. The staff were very helpful especially when one of our party had to see a dentist. Tessa booked us a wine tasting tour which was really educational not to mention very enjoyable. Also our flight was a very late night one and we were able to use the pool and shower room until we left at 5.30pm. If we are lucky enough to visit SA again we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely. We had the top bedroom which was at the top of the house with the most amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was this ideal setting to be away with a bunch of girlfriends. The decor was stunning and the attention to detail fantastic. Everything was very clean and spacious. There was wine, cupcakes and snacks available and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
6.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Property: Summerwood Guest House
Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique mansion, originally built in 1904, was designed by an Italian architect and has been lovingly restored to meet the demands of the modern traveler. It is set in a spectacular garden featuring a great variety of indigenous plants. Our friendly staff can advise you and organize activities in the village and surrounding areas such as guided wine tours, hiking tours, transfers, golf arrangements and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing