We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beautiful South Guest House
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The Beautiful South is a lovely guest house just outside the city centre of Stellenbosch. The rooms are nice, the staff are very friendly & helpful and the breakfast is lovely! The only thing you have to bear in mind is that it's a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre. We did a wine tour with Tsiba Tsiba which we can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naipien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for The Beautiful South Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

We (a family of four) stayed here in April for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We chose to stay in Stellenbosch as our base for the Cape. It is ideally situated for the wine region and it is only 30mins from Cape Town, out of rush hour an easy drive.
The guest house is situated within walking distance of the centre of Stellenbosch, meaning that we didn’t have to take the car out each night. We stayed in the Udemi suite which is upstairs in the main house. It’s a lovely suite, very spacious and well appointed, the bathroom is stunning. The only problem we had was that the Cape was going through a heatwave when we were there and the fan in the main bedroom did little to alleviate the intense heat – being up in the thatch it was very warm! The kids loved the pool.
The other small critisism is that our stay coincided with the start of University Easter Hols and the students next door were partying most of the night.
Breakfasts were good and served by very friendly staff. There was also an honesty bar but we didn’t partake. Peter and Katarina were helpful with our requests for advice.
There is a laptop available during the day for internet access and the house has WiFi, just ask Peter or Katarina for the code. They had excellent advice on the vinyards and there was a copy of the "Platters Wine Guide" which you could borrow. Also very good advice on restaurants in the centre. We went to Cognito and were impressed at the quality of the food.
All in all would recommend the Beautiful South, but beware in very hot weather.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We had a very pleasant stay here but believe this accommodation has been over-rated by Trip advisor readers in the past. We suspect a number of guest you have stayed here in the past have not experienced true South African B&Bs when writing their reports.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigdSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I choose The Beautiful South because of the Trip Advisor reviews and the great price. It's a good deal for the price, but it did not compare well to the other Trip Advisor top rated B&Bs we stayed in throughout S. Africa. I appreciate what the hotel is trying to do by making a cute affordable pace, so if you want a good deal, go for it. But, we so wish we had spent more money and stayed somewhere else.

The owners have tried to make the rooms cute, but ours was really a motel-like room. It didn't feel relaxing like our rooms at 18 on Crox (Cape Town) and Amanzi Island Lodget (Knysna.)

The worst thing was that the towels were smelly. The staff leaves at night and is only available for emergencies, so we just had to deal with unclean towels that night. The room also smelled smokey. We brought this to the attention of the management and their response was that they would try to air it out and clean a lot.

The result: Half of the towels smelled ok. Half still smelled badly. The room smelled ok until we shut our windows. Then the smell returned.

The breakfast was good, but if you're planning to go wine sampling all day, it's better to stay somewhere with a bit heartier breakfast

The location was convenient, but why stay here when you can stay in the tons of other places that are nestled in the beautiful mountains on in a vineyard?

If you really want to be taken care of and look forward to returning to your hotel at night, this is not your spot.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This was our first trip to South Africa and The Beautiful South was our first port of call. We stayed here for 3 nights and were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We arrived early in the morning (6am) and the hosts Peter and Katarina organised an airport transfer for us. We were able to get changed, store luggage and have coffee / tea on arrival and were given maps and directions of where to go and what to see locally in Stellenbosch.

We were booked into the Udemi suite for our first two nights - lovely large room with an enormous bathroom. We didn't need to worry about air-conditioning as the temperature had dropped on the day we arrived but I would imagine it could get hot under the thatch roof. On our 3rd night we had to change rooms as the guest house was fully booked. We moved to an African room which was smaller but very comfortable and opened out onto the charming pool area.

Breakfast is served between 0800-0930 each morning and is a very informal affair with guests all sharing a large table and swapping stories etc. There is a buffet which consists of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cheese and ham and a choice of breads plus juice and tea or coffee. There is also a 'Catch of the Day' which is the special and is always worth trying, however I did long for some scrambled eggs after a few days!

The Beautiful South is very good value for money, however what makes this guest house so special are the hosts Peter and Katarina and their assistants Lousanne and Karen. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We were given restaurant recommendations, advice on trips, had car hire sorted out for us - everyone was so helpful. The township tour with Madiba is an absolute must as is the full day winery tour with Niel Oosthuizen - his knowledge is fantastic!

We had a great time and will go back again - thanks for a great time

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAllyPally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

This guest house was our first stop on a 10 day holiday. We were greeted by Catalina who was so helpful. As we arrived early, we relaxed by the beautiful pool and soaked up the sun. Soon after we were shown our beautiful room, which was clean and modernly decorated.
The breakfast wasn’t your traditional fare! The fruit and bread was lovely but the special made the morning. The honesty bar with local wine and cheese was great and very well priced!
Catalina took time to tell us all of the local places to go and showed us the best route for the next part of our holiday.
When we both left we wished we had stayed longer and have already recommended this guest house to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara101076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Stayed for one night. Booked the suite which was a lovely looking room, big bathroom, all under a thatched roof. The biggest shortfall of the stay was the heat of the room, with no aircon, the fan provided didnt really cut it. Nice garden and good looking property. Breakfast was OK but not the best we had on our two week holiday in S Africa. If we went back we would probably choose to stay at a winery rather than in Stellenbosch town itself.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
6.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beautiful South Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beautiful South Guest House

Address: 4 Hospitaal Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beautiful South Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is a thatched jewel, centrally located but quiet, right in the heart of the university area. Surrounded by old trees and flowers, you find it with a dreamy garden and a big pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beautiful South Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beautiful South Hotel Stellenbosch
Beautiful South Stellenbosch
Beautiful South Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing