We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Golf Course”
Review of De Zalze Golf Club

De Zalze Golf Club
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is ranked in the top 100 golf courses in the world for a reason. It is just stunning. Some of the best fairways and greens we saw in South Africa

Thank Qtfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pro shop"
in 7 reviews
"great holes"
in 4 reviews
"challenging holes"
in 3 reviews
"halfway house"
in 4 reviews
"ground staff"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular setting"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding mountains"
in 3 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 23 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"caddies"
in 4 reviews
"marshalls"
in 3 reviews
"estate"
in 9 reviews
"backdrop"
in 3 reviews
"winelands"
in 6 reviews
"sa"
in 5 reviews
"terrace"
in 3 reviews
"lunch"
in 5 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Spent a week staying and playing golf at De Zalze. Excellent accommodation setting and golf experience. If you experience any problems the CEO Dave Hansen or or Alfie the Golf director will go out of their way to assist you. Great base to visit wine estates or play golf from with accommodation to meet individual needs or large groups.

Thank Lynt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Golf course in excellent condition. Staff very friendly and the overall experience was extremely positive. Thanks.

Thank dp4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Many thanks for your positive review and the compliments on the course , staff and service. we really appreciate the review and look forward to welcoming you again when next in SA. Kind regards, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband played in a competition there and the course is beautiful, very well kept, in such a scenic position, the clubhouse was excellent.

Thank cruisegirlsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Many thanks for the kind review of your experience whilst at De Zalze, we really appreciate it. rgds, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was looking forward to playing here again, having enjoyed this lovely course on previous visits.
We were a two ball and, as the pace of play was so slow, were very happy to join up with the two ball in front of us after four holes. It took over three hours to play the front nine, waiting on every hole. We are forced to stop halfway when we would rather have gone through, but I do understand that is the ZA way of doing things. We are then hassled by the starter who insists we go to the tenth. We arrive to find one group teeing off and another group waiting. After five hours we had completed 13 holes and left because we could stand no more, The score card actually says, under basic rules of play, "we allow two hours 15 minutes MAX" after 9 holes. Patently untrue - there is absolutely no effort made to marshal the course. The food available halfway is minimal but pleasantly served by the staff. We had hoped to get a buggy but our fault for not booking one in advance and none were available. However this turned out to be the best mistake of the day. Wally caddied for my husband and Gilbert was my caddy. They were exceptional. They looked after us so well, were great company, very knowledgable, and mended every (many) pitch marks on the greens that were, presumably, left by the members and/or their guests in front of us. So disappointing to not finish the course. I don't suppose the management could care less: they have the green fees. Management zero. Caddies ten out of ten. Restaurant staff very nice. Locker room attendant zero.

2  Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi Lyn, thanks for giving us your feedback. You can be assured that we have taken your review very seriously and tried to understand how your experience could have gone so wrong. We certainly do care and want you to return and enjoy a game with our compliments...we want to ensure that you do enjoy a lovely time at DZGC in all areas. Thank you for complimenting our caddies, they really appreciate this feedback. Please let us know when you will revisit SA. Kind regards, Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Zalze Golf Club also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zalze Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing