We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Old Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Manor & Spa
Ranked #34 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Old Villa”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, and were really enchanted by the place. The villa was built in 1904, and it's floors and furnishings really add to the antique vibe of the manor. Open the bathroom door, however, and you have every modern convenience a girl could want.

One of the major positives for me was how dark the room became when the shudders and curtains were closed. Combine that with a large, comfortable bed and a quiet location, and I slept very long and very well.

The best thing about the hotel, though, is the people. The manager is professional and informative, but also really funny and personable. The woman who runs the breakfast room is warm and welcoming, much like the selection of hot and cold foods. The woman who runs the spa was very nice and easy to talk to (and gives a GREAT massage!). My husband also got on famously with the man who helped us with our luggage.

The other major positive to note is the location. The hotel is situated on a very quiet street, but it is super close to the university, and maybe a five minute walk from the center of town (which can be VERY helpful coming back from dinner in a wine region). Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskanNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riel_in_Stellenbosch, Manager at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Nina

Thank you for your nice review. Having restored the building from a very dilapidated state some years ago it makes all the effort and hard work worth it when you know that guests approve of, and enjoy the end result.

Our aim is to provide friendly luxury, and your kind words about the staff mean that we are attaining that goal. We hope to welcome you back at Evergreen in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    49
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
72
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful breakaway weekend in Stellenbosch, staying two nights at the beautiful Evergreen Manor & Spa. Although we arrived early evening, it was already dark, we had a warm welcome and were immediately shown to our beautiful room.

We had a gorgeous and very spacious room (number 9) at the back of the Manor with our own separate entrance and parking right outside the entrance. This was absolutely perfect for us to be able to come and go easily and without bothering any other guests. We had our own remote control for the gate and keys to our room and the small gate at the front of the Manor House.

Our room was decorated with old Victorian style furniture, beautifully restored and marvellous to look at! All the bathroom amenities were there along with slippers and fluffy gowns. Our overly large bed was exceptionally comfortable (especially considering the cold weather!!) with luxurious linen and an abundance of pillows. We had a large shower as well as a bath, two basins and underfloor heating in our bathroom.

In the mornings we had the options of ordering hot breakfast (scrumptious omelettes, bacon & eggs or French toast) or enjoying the spread of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits and a variety of baked goods - all delicious and served with a warm smile. Breakfast is served from 08h30 till 10h00 and the breakfast room overlooks the patio and one of the two swimming pools. I can only imagine how beautiful this must be in summertime!

We also booked full body massages, deep cleanse facials, mani's and pedi's - all were delivered in a lovely warm room by well trained specialists who were friendly and professional at the same time. A definite must do while staying here!

Due to the central location we walked to the city centre, exploring the incredible variety of restaurants, visiting the beautiful botanical gardens, the toy museum and the excellent ice cream shop, Lecca il Gelato, without once feeling unsafe or endangered. The neighbourhood watch passed us several times during our two days of walking about and their presence was just an added bonus to the feeling of tranquillity and safety in the leafy suburb in which Evergreen Manor is situated.

Evergreen Manor & Spa comes highly recommended and I cannot wait to back!

Room Tip: Keep in mind that Evergreen Manor & Spa is the five star collection of rooms while the Evergreen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarenS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riel_in_Stellenbosch, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Caren

Thank you for the nice review - we are glad that you enjoyed the time at Evergreen Manor and hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A friend and I had the most wonderful weekend at Evergreen Manor & Spa - nice relaxing girls weekend without the kids:) The house has a great homely atmosphere(and it is really beautiful) and the service was excellent (warmhearted staff and owner). Great breakfast and magnificent spa! Had a lovely time in town as well - the rainy weather made it even more spectacular. Evergreen Manor & Spa is highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esterine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubalcain777, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and to chat a little. We hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

While this place had great hospitality and the breakfast was wonderful we were very disappointed with our room. It looked absolutely nothing like what is advertised on the website and certainly nothing like a number of other rooms we walked past in the Manor.
Our room was in the attic of the Lodge (not the Manor) right at the top of the stairs. The bathroom which was across the hall was so small you could not turn around in and did not have the bath that they advertise is in ALLL ROOMS. The toilet was also outside our room at the top of the landing and to be honest the room was bloody awful. There was wires hanging out of the wall, paint peeling off the walls and the carpet was old and grubby.
We had planned to stay 2 nights but was that unhappy that we left after the first night.
While I recognise that we booked at the last minute I do feel like they took advantage of us. The price for this room (which I will load pictures of shortly) should not be anywhere near the 1995 rand charged for the spacious rooms advertised with the lovely bathroom. Maybe 1400 at best.
If you are thinking of booking this place please request a room in the MANOR, not the LODGE.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Manor are lovely. Make sure you request the Manor and not the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubalcain777, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Tracie-Lee

I refer to the direct email that was sent to you and to my response. As we indicated, you were indeed charged an incorrect price and I am awaiting the necessary information from yourselves to rectify this.

The rate confusion arose because the room you stayed in is in process of being upgraded to the level of our cheaper Manor rooms [R795 pp] and the lady who took the reservation worked off the rack rate that had not been activated yet. The items that still needs to happen is that we will fit a door on the stairs to seal off the entire unit together with bathroom and toilet. Although there are no other rooms on that floor, only storage, it is clear that people experience the toilet and bathroom facility as “outside the room”. The wiring you saw was for the down lighters that have now been fitted above the 2 basins.

I am still unclear about the comment regarding the carpet, as it is in fact brand new and only fitted in November 2013. I would really appreciate your feedback on this, as I place great emphasis on the fact that everything must be perfectly clean in our rooms.

I apologise for the fact that your expectation was not met and I hope that we will be able to wow you on a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Galilee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Lovely guesthouse in the heart of Stellenbosch.Two minutes from the beautiful botanic garden and five minutes walk to the streets with all the restaurants and other attractions. Clean and spacious rooms, a small swimming pool and excellent service. Lovely fresh and varied breakfast. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubalcain777, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Anne

Thank you for your nice review. We work hard to try to make our guests happy, and it is really heart warming when they let us know about their appreciation.

We hope to welcome you back at Evergreen in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Agulhas, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is just too good to be true! Every single comfort and luxury taken care of - what more can one ask for! One of the biggest plus factors is that Stellenbosch is super super busy at the moment and with secure parking at the manor, you can easily walk to some of the best restaurants in town and safely experience the wonderful leisurely walk with luscious gardens without any threat or the endless hassle to search for parking. Service was excellent, staff were really efficient and friendly - breakfast was to die for with a few additions that really make a welcome change to the standard B&Bstyle - on offer generally and the room was wonderfully romantic, cleanliness clearly setting a new standard!

Room Tip: We loved the authentic furnishings in Room 2 on ground level - double volume and really luxurious sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riel_in_Stellenbosch, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2016
Dear Bluebay
Thank you very much for your great review. It is wonderful when guests appreciate the effort and hard work we put in to ensure that our guests have a good experience. We hope to welcome you back at Evergreen Manor in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed several times at Evergreen and each time in a different room and I am yet to find the bad one. Thanks again for best service, great accommodation and the most comfortable bed ever. Looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Pick one, it will be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryGeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riel_in_Stellenbosch, Owner at Evergreen Manor & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2016
Dear Barry
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back at Evergreen Manor. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
#21 of 112 in Stellenbosch
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#11 of 112 in Stellenbosch
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#20 of 112 in Stellenbosch
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Manor & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Manor & Spa

Property: Evergreen Manor & Spa
Address: 11 Murray Street | Central, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Evergreen Manor & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience friendly luxury at Evergreen Manor & Spa. Located in the historical core of Stellenbosch, heart of the Cape Winelands we are only 4 minutes walk from the CDB and 3 minutes from the University. Built in 1904, in the grand country house style, Evergreen offers gracious living and old world charm combined with every modern convenience. Let us pamper you with a Decleor or QMS Spa therapy. Relax next to the swimming pool or make use of the free Wi-Fi to stay in contact with work or loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Manor & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing