We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely weekend break at Alluvia in Banhoek Valley, Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #102 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a beautiful, peaceful wine estate!

Our chalet overlooked the mountains covered in snow and the lake which had attracted many different species of birds. We could see the sheep grazing about 100 metres away in a paddock and a few lambs came a bit closer.

When booking I enquired about restaurants and was referred to three different ones with a short and accurate (as we later discovered) description of them. The reception was lovely, the chalet was tastefully decorated with a huge bed. We even got our own slippers! The bathroom was lovely (separate basins which was very nice) and there were bath salts and bubble bath to choose from too. Alluvia even provided bathrobes.
The chalet was lovely and warm with its own fireplace, if we chose to use it. There was a bar fridge with all sorts of drinks to choose from, not all alcoholic, as well as chocolates. There was also a TV in the wall cabinet which you could pull out and watch from the lounge area near the fireplace or the bed.
Breakfast was delivered in a basket the next morning (we were asked what time would suit us) and it was lovely - fresh warm croissants, moist muffins and a lovely variety of muesli, fruit and yoghurt served separately in Tupperware so we could mix our own. There was also a big jug of fresh fruit juice in the basket. There was a variety of coffee, tea and hot chocolate to choose from in the chalet as well.
I will definitely return to Alluvia. We had a wonderful stay.

Glen Arum Road, Helshoogte Pass, Banhoek Valley, Stellenbosch
GPS: 33° 55' 05"S 018° 55' 36"E

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Decided to spend our first wedding night at this establishment, what a mistake. We booked and paid our accommodation in December for our wedding that was in April (also informing them on the booking form that we will be checking in AFTER 12:00 in the honeymoon suite, because it was our wedding night). We eventually reached the estate @ 12:30am. The gate was closed so we try to contact reception to open the gate for us, no one answered. After half an hour of struggeling my husband decided to jump over the gate. After finding our honeymoon suite he returned to the gate with our key and remote and we were able to go inside. After entering the suite. We wanted to switch on the light. NON OF THEM WORKED, not the bathroom nor the livingroom. It was only the bedlamps that worked. There were no facial towels, handsoap or conditioner for the lady's (which I think is a must for a 5 star rated estate?)

Next morning, we received a picnic basket on the front porch. There was not table set for us, we had to sit on the sun chairs. Breakfast was plain, yogurt, fruit, croissant and juice. No warm breakfast or coffee??? I did report to the reception that we were very unhappy espesially for paying over R2000 for the one night. She just raised het shoulders and only offered a free bottel of wine (which you get in the room anyways?) and said that the manager that was supposed to answer the phone after hour was, and I qoute, "probably our partying.."

Had an awful stay and I truely hope that they sharpen up the management as the setting of this estate is absolutely stunning, its such a pitty actually?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were looking forward to a relaxing weekend away from reality. But ended up having a weekend of utter disappointment with an entertaining twist. Reservationist Clary Cameron was sufficient and professional, from making the booking, to getting directions, to getting a list of restaurants good to eat at in the area sent to us, to flowers specially for us in the room. She offered incredible customer service and we were very content and excited. Nothing to do with her. The day we booked in we were checked in by a beautiful blonde who made us feel warm and welcome. Got to our room and the whole experience changed from there. Falsely advertised 5 star. More like 3 star. Old and poorly maintained. Box tvs, fireplace broken, over priced sheer disappointment. We went back to reception only to find the blonde taking care of a new born lamb, later we went to ask her for warm blankets (like advertised) only to find her chasing stray dogs like an olympic runner off the premises. She was interesting alright. But entertaining. We decided not to stay because of the conditions. When we checked out, the blonde was sincerely disappointed that we were leaving and really tried to keep us there. We explained it was not her fault and not to be worried. The only good thing about our stay was Clary Cameron who in the end, turned out to be the warm, caring blonde herself.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 77718428trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was a special two nights stay for us on our anniversary.
Two freezing nights, no heater,no fire that would light.We were told by the receptionist that she did us a favour by someone trying to light it, still never worked. Breakfast in a huge basket with half an apple each and the rest of uninteresting stuff thrown in. The steps up to the cottage were badly broken. The one TV did not work, the other failed while watching the rugby. There was no roasting pan in the oven to heat up food that we had bought. One can go on and on but the bottom line is that their website is totally misleading, the accommodation is poorly maintained, the reception was not welcoming, information was mostly incorrect (there was no wine tasting, etc.) If it were not for the electric blanket on the bed, I could have become a frozen sculpture.
The sherry and nougat were enjoyed. When I complained by telephone the next day I was offered a free week end stay, thank you but NO thank you, and I am still waiting for an e-mail of apology which has never happened. Even if an establishment offers a special deal, it should in no way compromise the ambience and service of their guests. Venitia (4 star guest house owner)

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage. Not much sunshine in winter due to the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Alluvia Wine Estate in early February. This is located about half way between Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, and this is what makes the place so great. We visited both towns, and enjoyed Franschhoek more than Stellenbosch, which seemed to be much more built up.

But for being able to visit wineries, this was great, and we were given good advice from Alluvia staff on places to go to find the wines we liked. They also gave good advice about restaurants to visit.

We greatly enjoyed the view from our room (Oakleaf 2), with the swimming pool right in front of the room, and the clouds passing the mountain in the distance. Unfortunately, a pyromaniac was setting wildfires in the valley, so smoke was a problem at different times on different days.

In the room, we were surprised to see that there was no door for the bathroom, just a wall. And (as is apparently common in southern African nations) the location of the hot water faucet was not standardized. There were 2 sinks in the room, and the hot water faucet location varied between the two (as I recall).

We were looking forward to using the fireplace, but were unable to get it to work. We did not pursue this problem with management, as it was summer, and wasn't needed for anything more than the ambiance.

To enter this hotel, you must be buzzed in at the gate. After that, you have a device that opens and closes the gate for you on your key chain. And when leaving, the gate opens automatically, which helps for your departure after checkout.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The site has potential although not the prettiest in the area. The accommodation does not fit the description on their web site It is run down and poorly maintained. room and bathroom worn out. bathroom antiquated and not clean. bed creaks and frame not maintained.Continental breakfast served in the room without a table to eat off
Spa room is sparse and does not even contain a wash hand basin.
Picnic basket was appalling bread biscuits and so much cheese very little else. Wine was OK!
I fished the lake was full of weed. However I caught fish. On check out all above was politely pointed our to the receptionist who checked us out who completely ignored the suggestions my wife made. the only reply was to say "the picnic was nothing to do with her as it was sub contacted" This is not an example of most South African vineyards or hospitality.

Room Tip: Unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regdenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Oakleaf 2 suite is spacious, chic and feels like a remote, secluded hideaway in the beautiful and vast Alluvia estate. The estate itself has lots to offer - wine tasting, golf, walks and fishing, and is also perfect for relaxing. We enjoyed the complimentary sherry and continental breakfast picnic delivered to your door.

Following Alluvia's recomendation, we dined at Le Pommier, the vineyard next door, which as delicious and great value. We also did one of the recommended wine tours organised by Alluvia which was very interesting and covered a lot of different estates.

Perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oakleaf 2 which, having looked at the photos of the other suites, is the nicest. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
9.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 54 in Stellenbosch
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
905 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £120 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Alluvia Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing