We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #101 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The scenery is breathtaking, the service was friendly and attentive. I asked them to do a little something special for us on our wedding anniversary and they pulled out the stops. We visited on a Groupon, and were still treated as well as any other guest would be. Their cheese board was the best I've had (they didn't skimp on the quantity or quality). A great experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dnldav005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Alluvia Wine Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just one of the nicest place we have stayed. Lots of space, stunning views and breakfast delivered in a picnic basket!! Wonderful. Ideal for visiting both Stellenbosch and Franschhoek We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me-and-the-other-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed for two nights during a mid-week special in November. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a luxury suite wich was really amazing. I appreciated the little details like nougat on the pillows and sherry in the room. The view was really amazing with my room overlooking the mountains and the valley. The setting was completed with a bottle of their Cabernet Sauvignon which I thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

we had the most awesome experience at alluvia yesterday afternoon. We rocked up there, unannounced and asked if we may have a wine tasting. The friendly lady at reception gladly let us in, and presented their wines to us. What really impressed me the most was all the friendly faces of the staff. Me really felt part of the family and cannot wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wynvlieg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went on a special citysliker voucher deal. The day was great sunny and hot. Arrived after 12h00 and obtained our basket which had to be booked 48 hrs in advance..Upon opening the basket boy were we disapointed. The basket cost us on a City slicker special R229 and what we got wasnt worth R199, given that this was a special deal. The only nice item was the wine an average Chenin Blanc. There was no cooler for the wine . A loaf of white bread some processed Checkers meat ie ham salami and some other unknown processed meat a few pieces of fruit and a fig preserve for each and a piece of konfyt and apack of crackers plus a pate. The ultramel desert was not worth even mentioning. No salad or smoked chicken or even water. The picnic area was ok if no one else booked ,as there is only one tree and limited seating on upright chairs. No tiolet no tap., sorry . Loungers with no mattrasses.x4. Enough said.

Room Tip: enqiure before spending
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a beautiful, peaceful wine estate!

Our chalet overlooked the mountains covered in snow and the lake which had attracted many different species of birds. We could see the sheep grazing about 100 metres away in a paddock and a few lambs came a bit closer.

When booking I enquired about restaurants and was referred to three different ones with a short and accurate (as we later discovered) description of them. The reception was lovely, the chalet was tastefully decorated with a huge bed. We even got our own slippers! The bathroom was lovely (separate basins which was very nice) and there were bath salts and bubble bath to choose from too. Alluvia even provided bathrobes.
The chalet was lovely and warm with its own fireplace, if we chose to use it. There was a bar fridge with all sorts of drinks to choose from, not all alcoholic, as well as chocolates. There was also a TV in the wall cabinet which you could pull out and watch from the lounge area near the fireplace or the bed.
Breakfast was delivered in a basket the next morning (we were asked what time would suit us) and it was lovely - fresh warm croissants, moist muffins and a lovely variety of muesli, fruit and yoghurt served separately in Tupperware so we could mix our own. There was also a big jug of fresh fruit juice in the basket. There was a variety of coffee, tea and hot chocolate to choose from in the chalet as well.
I will definitely return to Alluvia. We had a wonderful stay.

Glen Arum Road, Helshoogte Pass, Banhoek Valley, Stellenbosch
GPS: 33° 55' 05"S 018° 55' 36"E

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Decided to spend our first wedding night at this establishment, what a mistake. We booked and paid our accommodation in December for our wedding that was in April (also informing them on the booking form that we will be checking in AFTER 12:00 in the honeymoon suite, because it was our wedding night). We eventually reached the estate @ 12:30am. The gate was closed so we try to contact reception to open the gate for us, no one answered. After half an hour of struggeling my husband decided to jump over the gate. After finding our honeymoon suite he returned to the gate with our key and remote and we were able to go inside. After entering the suite. We wanted to switch on the light. NON OF THEM WORKED, not the bathroom nor the livingroom. It was only the bedlamps that worked. There were no facial towels, handsoap or conditioner for the lady's (which I think is a must for a 5 star rated estate?)

Next morning, we received a picnic basket on the front porch. There was not table set for us, we had to sit on the sun chairs. Breakfast was plain, yogurt, fruit, croissant and juice. No warm breakfast or coffee??? I did report to the reception that we were very unhappy espesially for paying over R2000 for the one night. She just raised het shoulders and only offered a free bottel of wine (which you get in the room anyways?) and said that the manager that was supposed to answer the phone after hour was, and I qoute, "probably our partying.."

Had an awful stay and I truely hope that they sharpen up the management as the setting of this estate is absolutely stunning, its such a pitty actually?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.9 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
#13 of 55 in Stellenbosch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
0.5 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
0.8 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 55 in Stellenbosch
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £150 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing