We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #101 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town,South Africa
1 review
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We did the One Night Pamper Special and cannot complain about anything...Everything from the accommodation,to the staff,to the views and the food was star... and we will definitely be going back for a longer stay and bring our friends along too...To Hendré and all the staff thanx for making our little get away extra special.

See you soon.
Rene & Jason

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneMesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
7
58
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Mixed feelings...the room we had at Alluvia was really great. Just perfect. What we did not really like was the service (lack there of) and fact that for e.g. breakfast you had to walk ~500m to a nearby located restaurant of average quality. Not what you expect when you book a location like Alluvia. The wine tasting was by far the worst we have experienced on our trip to SA. Just forget about it. On the positive side - the estate is beautifully located, approx. 10 mins drive from Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreetingsfromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed in Alluvia for 3 nights during our 4 week trip around the Cape and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff. We stayed in Hutton and the view from our terrace was over the vineyards to the dam. Alluvia arranged a picnic for us one evening, which was excellent, with South African sized portions! Andrew, the wine manager, arranged a wine tasting for us and then gave us a day's itinary of wineries to visit and a lunch stop. It was a very enjoyable day. The only downside would be that the pool needs some attention - it needed a clean and there were no cushions on the loungers. Also breakfast is a walk away next door at Le Pommier - I actualled enjoyed my morning walk through the vineyards. There are also 3 very good restaurants close by, which means you don't have to drive down to Stellenbosch.

  • Liked — the beautiful views
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

In short I sit somewhere between the two opinions offered.

The location is lovely. Don't be put off about the road, it is nowhere near the property and simply serves for ease of access.

The view is stunning. The lake, the willow trees, the hills: stunning.

The honeymoon suite (Clovelly) is big and home from home. Sherry (delicious) on arrival, Alluvia wine (red not the greatest!) and a big warm fire.

The breakfast was delicious. A short (ish) walk through the vineyards (thank goodness it wasn't raining!) and served until 10.30am (we rocked up close to 11am and were served with a smile).

However...

The management was pretty sub standard. Cleanliness was not an issue, in fact the touches of lilac on the towels in the Bathroom were lovely. But I am sad to say the couple who own this place appear to have lost interest themselves and have put a very nice but not very bright "manager" in to run things. She didn't light the fire to warm the room for our arrival - in fact I only figured it out the next day after a rather chilly evening - a small but important point with the chilly winds!

Maybe we were unlucky, but the much talked about wine tasting in the book never quite happened and the manager tried her best, but in the end I believe she learned more from us having read the lierature in the room.

But...

In the end, although Spier (which we visited) may have the fab Moyo buffet restaurant experience and Cheetah cubs (and much better wine!), the seclusion is lovely and (once warm) I loved the room, white roses, open fire and four poster bed.

As stated by others, if you put yourself on a pedestal, you do risk being knocked down... but it is a lovely hideaway break.

  • Liked — Stunning location
  • Disliked — Wine experience
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonShilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We visited there about 3 months back and my family's experience was a rather different one. On our arrival, we were shown to our family apartment. The place was lovely and spacious and the staff were warm and friendly. When my husband urgently needed to check his email they went out of their way to arrange this for him.

As many people have mentioned, the views are pretty fantastic but besides that, the kids could also enjoy the fly fishing and mountain biking. All in all, we had a really nice weekend.

So agreeing to the post “Well done Alluvia,” unhappy customers should report their experiences to the owner.

Hopefully, your next stay will be as enjoyable as ours!

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnnyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2008

I agree about the setting: very nice, although most of the area is very beautiful.

The biggest problem, which unfortunately overshadowed what could have been a good stay, was the service. I won't go into all the problems as some have already been echoed in other reviews (and I don't have that mush time), but bascially they're attitude was "couldn't care less."

We raised these problems with management and they assured us they would address them. If you decide to book, I would ask them specifically what they have done to address the service problems. If they act as if they don't know about any problems, stay away.

The cleaning of the property was adequant at best. (For expample, the window blinds has a film on them which made it look like look like they hadn't been dusted for months.) Not what is expected for these prices.

There is free wireless internet. The swimming pool is very, very small.

  • Liked — The setting (but you need a car)
  • Disliked — The Terrible Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2007

I visited Alluvia earlier this year for a weekend break come belated (very) second honeymoon with my wife. Our experience was absolutely out of this world, the weather was great and we spent many relaxing hours enjoying the estate's wines around the pool. While the furniture is certainly what some would consider a bit old fashioned, others would probably call it "period" and it seems appropriate for the historic surroundings of the Cape winelands.

We arrived on a Friday evening, later than expected and the staff were there to welcome us with a complimentary glass of wine and snacks. I spent a few hours the next day fly fishing in the trout dam (caught a couple as well) but mostly just relaxed, chilled out and enjoyed the view. On the recommendation of the manager we had dinner at Zorgvliet, just down the road on the Saturday night, a rare treat in stunning surroundings, with good food and wine.

We left early on Sunday afternoon, a couple of hours later than the 10AM check out time without any bad vibes from management, and the bill was ready soon after we requested it. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive and the weekend was one that we will certainly remember. We'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — Location, luxury.
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank salm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#3 of 112 in Stellenbosch
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
0.1 mi away
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
#13 of 51 in Stellenbosch
73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#43 of 112 in Stellenbosch
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Property: Alluvia Wine Estate
Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing