We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to be amazed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #101 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Beautiful setting beyond description. Nestled in a breathtaking valley of wine "farms" this place was heaven. The Staff, Hendre, Andrea and Jacque were extremely friendly,accomodating and professional. Accomodations were spacious, modern and "homey" at the same time. Our cottage could use a better heating system( didn't want to smoke up the plac eby usung the wood burning fireplace) as nights were chilly in April, for sitting around before bed, but sleeping was was very comfortable.Highly recommended in every way. A little secluded, so it's best to have wheels if you can deal with right hand drive cars.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTheMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alluvia wine estate. The rooms were beautifully decorated and boast a breathtaking view of the surrounding winelands and mountains. We were content just to sit outside on our patio and take in the beautiful landscape. Lounging by the pool in the shade of the oak tree and strolling to the dam were also wonderfully relaxing pastimes. Alluvia offers great picnic breakfasts. On the first morning of our stay we were presented with a big picnic basket filled to the brim with delicious breakfast foodstuffs such as croissants, muffins, muesli, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Besides producing the best Sauvignon Blanc I've ever tasted, Alluvia is just a few minutes' drive from other top quality wine estates and the town of Stellenbosch itself. In terms of décor, service and especially location, Alluvia certainly gets full marks from us.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

What a wonderful gem we found recently, and quite by accident having taken a wrong turn whilst navigating the rather confusing Banhoek Valley area of Stellenbosch.

Alluvia Specialist Winery is as perfect a setting for holiday makers as we have ever seen. Besides the friendly staff, excellent wines and perfect setting for sundowners, my husband jumped for joy upon discovering a dam fully stocked with trout and bass. Even though he had left his fishing equipment at home, the staff promptly produced a spare rod and reel whereas that was it and I spent the day relaxing in the pool.
We were going to take the wine tour but time was against us so I can't comment on this.
Just to say a big thankyou to Alluvia.
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We did the One Night Pamper Special and cannot complain about anything...Everything from the accommodation,to the staff,to the views and the food was star... and we will definitely be going back for a longer stay and bring our friends along too...To Hendré and all the staff thanx for making our little get away extra special.

See you soon.
Rene & Jason

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneMesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Mixed feelings...the room we had at Alluvia was really great. Just perfect. What we did not really like was the service (lack there of) and fact that for e.g. breakfast you had to walk ~500m to a nearby located restaurant of average quality. Not what you expect when you book a location like Alluvia. The wine tasting was by far the worst we have experienced on our trip to SA. Just forget about it. On the positive side - the estate is beautifully located, approx. 10 mins drive from Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreetingsfromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed in Alluvia for 3 nights during our 4 week trip around the Cape and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff. We stayed in Hutton and the view from our terrace was over the vineyards to the dam. Alluvia arranged a picnic for us one evening, which was excellent, with South African sized portions! Andrew, the wine manager, arranged a wine tasting for us and then gave us a day's itinary of wineries to visit and a lunch stop. It was a very enjoyable day. The only downside would be that the pool needs some attention - it needed a clean and there were no cushions on the loungers. Also breakfast is a walk away next door at Le Pommier - I actualled enjoyed my morning walk through the vineyards. There are also 3 very good restaurants close by, which means you don't have to drive down to Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

In short I sit somewhere between the two opinions offered.

The location is lovely. Don't be put off about the road, it is nowhere near the property and simply serves for ease of access.

The view is stunning. The lake, the willow trees, the hills: stunning.

The honeymoon suite (Clovelly) is big and home from home. Sherry (delicious) on arrival, Alluvia wine (red not the greatest!) and a big warm fire.

The breakfast was delicious. A short (ish) walk through the vineyards (thank goodness it wasn't raining!) and served until 10.30am (we rocked up close to 11am and were served with a smile).

However...

The management was pretty sub standard. Cleanliness was not an issue, in fact the touches of lilac on the towels in the Bathroom were lovely. But I am sad to say the couple who own this place appear to have lost interest themselves and have put a very nice but not very bright "manager" in to run things. She didn't light the fire to warm the room for our arrival - in fact I only figured it out the next day after a rather chilly evening - a small but important point with the chilly winds!

Maybe we were unlucky, but the much talked about wine tasting in the book never quite happened and the manager tried her best, but in the end I believe she learned more from us having read the lierature in the room.

But...

In the end, although Spier (which we visited) may have the fab Moyo buffet restaurant experience and Cheetah cubs (and much better wine!), the seclusion is lovely and (once warm) I loved the room, white roses, open fire and four poster bed.

As stated by others, if you put yourself on a pedestal, you do risk being knocked down... but it is a lovely hideaway break.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonShilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
895 reviews
6.9 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
636 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
#13 of 55 in Stellenbosch
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £44 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Alluvia Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing