We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and well priced”
Review of The Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stables Lodge
Ranked #55 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and well priced”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We only stayed for 1 night and had a very nice stay. Located 15-20min walk from town, The Stables is a nice distance away from any noise.
A huge bonus for us was that The Stables is pet friendly, on request, and our room was nice a spacious - so rooms for the dogs beds too!
There is a common area with a TV and books, just off the breakfast room - so no dogs allowed there. The rooms are within earshot so any 'grumblings' from furry kids can be heard and monitored.
Breakfast is a relaxed affair in buffet style with the option of a cooked breakfast if you're hungry.
Lovely walks not too far away - we walked the dogs along the river and in the woods behind the University.
Excellent security in the area, I think I saw 5 patrol cars within the space of 2 hours!
Ricardo was an excellent host, ensuring that we were comfortable.
Rooms were well heated and tea and coffee facilities were provided - we took our own milk but I am sure it is provided if requested.

All in all excellent value, clean, comfortable, warm and friendly.

We would happily recommend The Stables.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms at the back of the property - they seemed to be a little more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    46
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
62
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and it's a great B+B which makes you feel as if you own the place (could have also been because we were the only guests staying here :) That said - our host Riccardo was extremely hospitable and even gave us his room heater when we felt that our room wasn't warm enough! I would definitely stay there again. The internet connectivity could have been a little better and breakfast was alright. And oh - the Stellenbosch center is a 5-min drive away. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the queen bed or the ones next to the pool if you're there in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaushikM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed there for one night and everything was very good: rooms were clean, breakfast is tasty, secure parking. My son especially enjoyed the swimming pool.
Owners were friendly and gave good advises for places to see next morning and especially for a place to eat at night. Advises were perfect.
If you are looking for a stay in Stellenbosch we would like to highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olga_Mitya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great place with lovely rooms and a great value! The owners are very nice, and suggested some great places to eat. They were very helpful.

This might be the best value in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CV39560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012


The best in the area.really warm family to make your stay unforgettable.i will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoorl, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Een oase van rust. Nice Italian young family as host made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cytises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Located in pleasant, quiet area of Stellenbosch, 30 min. walk from downtown. We had a spacious, clean room opening up to small garden and ditto pool (perfect for a quick refreshing dip). No TV in room and simple breakfast: both highly appreciated by us!! Very kind and helpful owners (Italian) and personnel. Quick-Spar supermarket around the corner. If you don't mind the distance to town: highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.4 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eikelower Guest House
Eikelower Guest House
#65 of 112 in Stellenbosch
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Van der Stel Manor
Van der Stel Manor
#53 of 112 in Stellenbosch
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#44 of 112 in Stellenbosch
96 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
0.7 mi away
Rozendal Guest Farm
Rozendal Guest Farm
#17 of 112 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Property: The Stables Lodge
Address: 85 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* ITALIAN WARM & FRIENDLY WELCOME IN STELLENBOSCH * South AfricaGuest House 
situated in an exclusive area of Stellenbosch, less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, 'The Stables Lodge' offers panoramic views overlooking the mountains.
Accommodation in 4 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all equipped with air-conditioning-heating, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer, radio cd players.
One self-catering unit is also available.
Enjoy a leisurely breakfast, relax in a quiet common area.
Secure parking, cosy common area, 'honesty bar' with cool drinks and snacks, internet available.
The guest house is ideally located to explore the famous wine lands and a lot of other excursions and day trips!
A beautiful atmosphere with a mix of italian & african styles make this affordable stay one to be repeated!
Italian and English spoken..German in progress! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing