We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batavia Hotel Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We spent New Year 2011/2012 at this lovely quirky boutique hotel and had a lovely time. We has the suite which had its own little garden and a wonderful decadent bathroom filled with red glass hearts, wonderful luxury toiletries and an enormous jacuzzi bath. The service was excellent and the individual touches made our brief stay special. A great base for touring Stellenbosch and the wine region. Breakfast is great but there is no restaurant - however, there are plenty of super places to eat and drink within 2 minutes.

Room Tip: We had the suite downstairs at the front which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcevoyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Batavia very much and can recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel out of the rush and noise of Stellenbosch! The atmosphere is relaxing and the stylish decorated rooms and living/dining area makes it an unforgettable stay. We definitely felt spoiled :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The staff were very warm and welcoming ... excellent made to order breakast, very personable staff. Interesting ... sherry in the bedrooms and port in the living room! All complimentary!
They were very accomodating, staying a bit late to arrange for us to get a late night call into the room. Very neat housekeeping. Very centrally located, walked to a sushi dinner!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awinestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We loved our stay at the Batavia Boutique hotel a few weeks ago! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel was well located and easy to find. Our room was also very well decorated and much bigger than we had imagined. Breakfast was delicious and the staff went out of their way to provide us with a 'takeaway' breakfast one morning when we need to leave early to go whale watching. They also provided us with some excellent restaurant recommendations and were happy to make reservations if we wished on our behalf. All in all excellent service in excellent surroundings. We could have stayed for much longer...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Lovely hotel with wonderful decor and ambience. Nothing is too much trouble for Suzaan. Ask for a slice of her home made chocolate cake.
The wine guide she arranged for a trip round the wine farms was brilliant (Anel).
All restaurants recommended by Suzaan proved to be above expectations.
Great location in the heart of Stellenbosch with 2 minutes walk to the shops.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone for value, ambience and exceptional service!
We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The staff is great the place feels like a home, very clean, very safe, very up to date flat screen tvs. all the amenities you need.

Room Tip: i stayed here twice in two different rooms and both were more than enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBLEMKRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here for 1 night and wish it could have been for longer! The decor of this hotel is amazing and so much effort has gone into it to make it very personal it is obvious the owners and staff care so much about their business! So many little touches that I just loved!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for a stay in Stellenbosch.

Definately will stay here again!!!! and YOU should too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,959 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
650 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £115 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing