We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just around the corner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Just around the corner”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Batavia for 4 nights including new year's eve.

We arrived literally straight off the plane from Heathrow to be greeted by Suzaan who showed us to room 6 and provided us with pot of tea. From then on we were made at home.

The room was well appointed with a large bed, fridge, wifi, seating area plus a separate toilet and a full bathroom with one of the biggest and most satisfying shower we have ever experienced. There was a small sitting area just outside the door on the open landing.

Elsewhere there is a plunge pool with loungers and secure parking behind remotely controlled security gates. Breakfast is taken downstairs in the dining room. The breakfasts are good rather than great but they do set you up for the day ahead.

The Batavia is very well located and is a very short walk to the sights, cafes and restaurants. We ate at the Stellenbosch Hotel, Wijinhuis, Volkskombuis and the Big Easy. All of them were very good and come recommended.

Stellenbosch felt very safe most of the time but we felt a little uncomfortbale on new year's eve when at about 10.30 in the evening we walked along deserted streets with restaurants and cafes closed for the evening.

So would we return to the Batavia and Stellenbosch - the answer is yes - and we would to thank Suzaan and Hanco for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    64
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
179
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay (our fourth) in Batavia. Thank you to Suzaan and Hancock for all they did for us. An excellently run establishment in the centre of Stellenbosch. We are booked in for 2014! Rosaleen and James

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosaleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The room was advertised as a double luxuary room, only to informed that it was a twin bedroom upon arrival. This made for very uncomfortable sleeping. The rooms do not provide privacy as the walls are too thin and thus we could hear the neighbours talk and their TV playing. The breakfast left much to be desired, with a very limited variety. Space also proved to be an issue as we ended up sharing a very uncomfortable seating arrangement with strangers at our table.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllendaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Central to walk to restaurants and close enough to walk to the start of the Winelands Marathon.
Comfortable bed and beautifully furnished room. Pool area is a bit of a squash. No view from the room - just a view of a wall but with a little patio area. Very welcoming at reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemarkie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for two nights to do a wine tour and wished we could have stayed longer. Beautiful boutique hotel with large rooms uniquely furnished. Lovely cooked breakfast and really helpful staff. Ideal location right in the centre of Stellenbosch with lots of good restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here and loved it - location is excellent and the hotel itself superb with high quality rooms and a fantastic breakfast as other reviews have mentioned. If I had to pick out something I would improve it would be the pool area which was more a plunge pool with little flexibility to follow the sun but this would not stop me staying there as everything else was excellent.
For runners there is plenty of scope and the area is completely safe, I ran a 10k each morning (to counter balance the red wine later) along the river and out towards the country side and met loads of young runners on their own from the local university.
So if you want great quality, perfect location for restaurants and a good base to explore the winelands then Batavia is a great option.
Visit Hussars for great food (no corkage so bring along a wine you have found during the day), Big Easy another good place to eat. The Japanese next to Hussars also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We sayed here for just one night so that we could do a wine tour. Just wish we could have stayed longer as this was a beautiful haven. the rooms were stunningly decorated - lush fabrics and I just loved the red hearts and feathers - nice touch. The tea/coffee facilities were great - tv great for my husband to watch the golf!! Breakfast was amazing - it was the little touches - the beautiful crockery - dainty. Plus the crisp linen and blingy napkin rings, just loved the taste in decor.

Room Tip: We were in the room at the front of the hotel downstairs - it was huge! The bathroom was superb. Hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAP_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Property: Batavia Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing