We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff & honeymoon room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our garden route trip in September. Tim met us on our arrival made us feel very welcome with beverages. Room fantastic thank you to the manageress for the upgrade. We had unfortunate late night wake up from other drunk guests!!
Breakfast only disappointment as no cooked breakfast.

Beautiful 5 star hotel with lovely attention to detail in everything

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa7141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Batavia as competition winners through Distell and the hotel was definitely one of the features of our stay in Cape Town. The service, attention to detail and general warm, friendly atmosphere is what makes the place so great. The décor is amazing and feels like home away from home but with an extra special touch. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visited Stellenbosh and decided to stay over. We were recommended to Batavia by 2 other guesthouses as they were full and we were truly glad we went to Batavia. Service , food and rooms exceptional and so close to all the shops and restaurants it was a pleasure walking and sightseeing. I travel internationally and will benchmark future accommodation and service to Batavia. Have already recommended you to all your friends and family during our visit to the Cape. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANZTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in Batavia two weeks ago for 3 nights and are so glad we found this place! The room was beautiful with so many little finishing touches that could only be admired - great attention to detail with everything you require in it. Very cosy and relaxing. The town cenre is only a two minute walk and safe to walk to. I had reviewed and considered other hotels in the town centre that were more expensive and older but having stayed in Batavia I see we made the right choice - Stellenbosch is a small town and this hotel is just as close as any as the more centrally adverised hotels and has better prices. The service was fantastic, nothing was a problem and Suzaan & Hanco were so helpful in recomending restaurants and things to do along with always being on hand if we required anything - thanks to you both!! I'd love to return some day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellymIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were met by Susann who was helpful and charming and provided everything we could possibly need. I had to fight hard to resist the chocolate cake but succumbed to the wine! The room was lovely and comfortable with great attention to detail and everything you could possibly need. The town centre is just minutes away although you would never know when in your room. Its a perfect place to stay if you want to be in the Stellenbosch area. There was no downside - we will definitely stay again, one night just wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlandiafaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for a night, and it was wonderful experience. The bed was super comfortable, room was spacious, air-con kept everything cozy, lovely bathroom and best of all - there was an aroma throughout the room that I just loved, can't describe it, it just gave the place a particular warmth. Breakfast was very filling, wonderful hospitality. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenD285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying in another place in the area that was terrible so we left. We literally stumbled across Batavia and were thrilled. It is small with only 9 rooms. It had free parking. I was concerned about the location in the center of town because I wanted to be closer to the wineries but being close to town had its advantages. They serve a nice breakfast which is great. The service is excellent. The staff is friendly, a good group. The rooms are a little small and have no closets but the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
956 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
699 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £142 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing