We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. A great location and easy stroll to many bars and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast. Nice spacious open plan room. Would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rayed at this hotel for one night in the end of May. The service, reception and attention to detail was excellent. My room was large and clean. The only negative pout is that it was a cold night but I didn't manage to work out the air conditioning/heating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very good personal ambience experienced.The rooms have been refurbished and modernised, yet retain just the right sense of a retro look. Basic room amenities including wifi add to the sense of comfort. I would come back if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moeketsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I needed a central retreat to explore Stellenbosch by foot. Batavia delivered with a great location to town, beautiful rooms and personalized service. Our thanks to Suzanne for taking such good care of us, and the unsurpassed home made Apricot jam. These two Texans will be back. Anne and Andre D.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here while on a conference at the university. Staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a great location - close to everything. Parking is at a bit of a premium, but they try to cram everyone into the courtyard. We had to park outside the gate as we were leaving early in the morning and didn't want to be jammed in. Had a lovely stay. Nice tea and treats in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and clean and feel homey. Could not have done better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Batavia is the perfect place to stay in the lovely historic part of Stellenbosch. It's safe, secure, only yards away from all the lovely shops and restaurants in Stellenbosch, but amazingly quiet. Suzaan and Tim, the managers, could not have been more helpful, ensuring that we ate in the best places and saw the important sites. Free secure off-street parking added to our enjoyment. The hotel indeed is boutique, only 8 or 9 rooms, interestingly furnished in combination of antique and modern styles. The public areas were very welcoming, interesting and comfortable with access to coffee, tea, cake and cookies at all times. We stayed for 9 nights and were well served and extremely happy throughout our stay. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Each room was unique in layout and furnishings. We had Room 8, to the front. Very comfortable, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cathy found this unique hotel while setting up our trip to South Africa and shortly after making and confirming our reservations, my friend and personal trip advisor to South Africa said to be sure to stay in Franschoek. Too late, we were committed to a boutique hotel in the "big city" of Stollenbosch and it turned out to be a blessing. Nothing against Franschoek but we really enjoyed the old downtown area, it was the second settlement settled in South Africa shortly after Cape Town and the buildings date back to the same era maybe older than our U.S. village of Williamsburg, Virginia. Susannah was very helpful in the planning stages and made many recommendations to include restaurants and a wine tour. The rooms were very nice, not a five star hotel but very comfortable and nice and the staff was outstanding. We were only there two nights, thoroughly enjoyed it and, this is the key in a recommendation, will book there again the next time that we are in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: Cannot help here because we did not see any other rooms, ours was on the ground floor and had a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkobernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
865 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £122 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing