We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Grande Guest House
Ranked #48 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Elegance and quality”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A glorious B&B in the heart of Stellenbosch within easy walking distance of old town and numerous quality restaurants. It is only a quick drive to the vineyards. Beautiful elegant rooms and situated in a quiet cul de sac. The breakfasts are wonderful and the staff are friendly. The owner goes out of his way to help.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahthexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    17
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
37
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great hotel in Stellenbosch! The rooms are beautiful and well-decorated.

The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet has fruits, yogurt, juices, cheese, jams.. and then you can order the hot breakfast which depends on the day. It is very good!

The hotel is about 5 minutes from restaurants and bars, so it's perfect.
I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_Tanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Being only 5 mins walk from the restaurant quarter of Stellenbosch this guest house has excellent location and is at the end of a quiet cul de sac. Decor is slightly tired but in keeping with a classic colonial style house. Our bathroom had been recently refitted and everything worked. No fridge or tea/coffee facilities, and the staff all lived out, which meant it lacked the homely atmosphere that a host / hostess set up brings.
All things considered good value fro money.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the balcony, which has a small table and 2 chairs to sit out in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We only had one night at the Villa Grande but did not experience any of the negative comments we read below. The reception was terrific, our room was spacious, internet was free, the bathroom was clean and huge, with a terrific shower. It was really nice the way it was set apart from the downtown area on a quiet cul-de-sac. It is only a 2-3 minute walk to restaurants and shops. We had such a comfortable night here. The breakfast consisted of a buffet and then only one option for a ham and cheese omelette. This was fine for me, but since my boyfriend didn't like that choice, he was unable to have a hot breakfast.

A great choice for Stellenbosch area, would book again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

On a golfing holiday from the UK we based ourselves here for 8 nights. The B&B is located in Stellenbosch which is a lovely Cape Dutch town that welcomes tourists. Safe, clean, and classy. The local students are lively but there are so many bars and restaurants here that there's no problem finding a quiet place. The B&B was superb. The owner could not do enough for us. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms luxurious. Breakfast was pleasant and there was always someone there to help. The laundry service was second to none. Wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blott2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Villa Grande is a lovely B&B. It's located in a cozy neighborhood, just minutes away from the city centre on foot. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable, and the public spaces are aesthetically pleasing and well maintained. Our only complaint is that the staff forgot to switch on the hot water heater, and as a result, we didn't have hot water for the night. We complained the next morning and were given another room to shower in. We were eventually compensated for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themelissard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My first stay at Villa Grande was in 2002. I have been back every year. The guest house is located in a very quiet but central spot, the rooms tastefully decorated, breakfast in de dining room or outside in the garden is a wonderful experience and owner Neil is one of the most helpful and friendly guest house owners I have met. I usually book well in advance, since I would not like to miss my yearly Villa Grande experience while in Stellenbosch. Thank you Neil!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#11 of 51 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#26 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Grande Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grande Guest House

Property: Villa Grande Guest House
Address: 1 Keerom Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Grande Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Grande Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing