We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Grande Guest House
Ranked #50 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mosselbaai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arrived just before 21h00 on a Friday without a prior booking. Top form friendly service. Clean, tidy, quality furnishing in colonial style. Affordable and value for money for a couple in beautiful surrounding. A few minute walk to the CBD where the food and buzz is of Stellenbosch. Easy decision to extend the stay with another night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Struis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    17
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
38
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Charming Grandeur in Stellenbosch. Rooms were luxurious with shower & spa. Port and chocolates each night and a generous breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly and service focussed. The lounge with open fireplace was the perfect spot for a late night drink with friends. A 2 minute walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Third time staying at Villa Grande and we will definitely be going back in future! Such a lovely and warm stay with very friendly staff and excellent service.The accommodation is definitely worth the money and the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monika a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

It was our delight and pleasure to stay several nights at the Villa Grande Bed and Breakfast in Stellenbosch, South Africa! It is an extremely charming guest house, with wonderful staff, excellent fresh breakfasts and marvelous decor. It is very clean and tidy and the furnishings are of the finest quality. We loved the comfortable four poster beds with classy white comforters, little decks outside the french doors and the dark wood dressers and lovely lighting. The bathrooms were upscale and flawless and always appeared very clean and fresh. When we first arrived we were so impressed with the great entrance and courtyard. There were lovely little garden areas and vines surrounding the well-maintained two-story exterior. The living room was classy and comfortable, with a sitting area furnished in attractive and clean furniture. The dining room had several great cozy tables. The daily breakfasts consisted of custom egg dishes, fresh fruit, great coffee and so much more. The staff was "above and beyond" as far as personal service and sincere caring and communication. We just can't say enough about the fabulous features of this Bed and Breakfast! Although we stayed at many other locations throughout South Africa, this was definitely our favorite! If you ever have the chance, be sure to check it out!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights 22MAR13-24MAR13. Beautiful little guest house with a charming Manager - Tammy, for which nothing was too much trouble. She did not stop smiling from the time we arrived until the time we left. From check in to check out everything was handled swiftly and efficiently. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a deluxe room with what I think the most magnificent bathroom we have ever come across - HUGE slipper bath and a view of the stars with the help of the sky light / window that is easily accessible to open and close. The area is very quite - yet a stones throw from the buzz of wonderful restaurants - go to '5 on Ryneveld' and 'De Wiyjnhuis' - you will not be disappointed. The breakfasts at Villa Grande were lovely and well presented. Only downside may be if you have noisy neighbors as the walls are rather thin - but that in no way is a poor reflection on the Guesthouse itself. Secure parking behind an electronic gate for your vehicle. We walked to and from the town both in the day and evenings and felt VERY safe. On both evenings we arrived back in our room to find our beds had been turned down for us, a silver salver was left on the dresser with a forecast for the next days weather, a carafe of chilled water, two glasses, two chocolates, and two wee glasses of port...and a small rose to top it off !!! - WOW ! We will certainly be returning, as will our family whom frequent the Stellenbosch area from time to time. Fantastic start to our week long tour around the Cape Peninsula.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and secure room number 5 - end of the corridor and STUNNING bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJayneFrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have stayed at this place in the past and it was always good, but this year (2013) it's even better than before. Excellent location in Stellenbosch, good value, totally recommended. One irritation with going out of my way to write this review is that TripAdvisor won't publish it unless it's at least 200 words, so here are a few more words to fill in the space.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Villa Grande is a great location - easy walk to history and shopping in Stellenbosch. The rooms we rented were nice, clean and had renovated bathrooms. The B&B is on a quiet street with many areas to sit, relax and unwind.

Like several others have stated, Neil does struggle with keeping track of reservations. We made reservations months before we arrived and were charged the deposit to hold the rooms. When we arrived, Neil did not have record of the reservation. I did remember to bring a printed copy of the on-line reservation which help greatly. He ended up finding some empty rooms for us and everything else was fine.

Neil also helped us with advice on various wineries & restaurants to visit. We were very happy with his recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincygirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#25 of 112 in Stellenbosch
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#38 of 112 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Grande Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grande Guest House

Property: Villa Grande Guest House
Address: 1 Keerom Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Grande Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Grande Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing