We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and value fof money”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Grande Guest House
Ranked #50 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good location and value fof money”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

clean ,good price .good breakfast .we stayed in the standard room would stay here again

called in here on the off chance of accommodation and was no problem .was able to have access to the room straight away .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    17
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
38
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, breakfasts excellent. Rooms comfortable and the complimentary glass of port welcoming me every night my room was a great touch! Very convenient for a 2 minute stroll into Stellenbosch. Can't fault it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Villa Grande is located in the middle of historic Stellenbosch and is the perfect location for exploring Stellenbosch and its surroundings. The guest house is beautiful, the rooms are clean, breakfast is delicious and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last months and really enjoyed it. beautiful and clean rooms in a great ambiente of an old fashioned villa, very kind and helpful staff. And great breakfast for a great price, would always stay here again. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Let me start off by saying the only reason I have given this establishment an average rating is because I stayed in the standard room. If you have a choice, upgrade.

I stayed overnight for business at this cute guesthouse and overall everything was standard.

LOCATION: Excellent in a quiet cul de sac within walking distance to the University and town eateries.

SERVICE: Excellent I was greeted by a friendly front of house staff which showed me to my room and assisted with breakfast the next day. Smooth and efficient check-in and check out.

ROOM: The standard room is small and you can hear the people in the room next door. The room was clean but not very much room to move around in. The TV only had local channels which was quite surprising as all other guesthouses in South Africa normally have satellite. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in my room which is also usually pretty standard. The room is a bit dated.

WIFI: Free wi-fi was offered but did not work

BREAKFAST: Simple choice of cerels and juices, with fruit salad. English breakfast with choice of eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms. I requested a soft poached egg and got a hard one. Quick service.

OVERALL: Pleasant stay but the room and overall amenities let them down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosselbaai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arrived just before 21h00 on a Friday without a prior booking. Top form friendly service. Clean, tidy, quality furnishing in colonial style. Affordable and value for money for a couple in beautiful surrounding. A few minute walk to the CBD where the food and buzz is of Stellenbosch. Easy decision to extend the stay with another night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Charming Grandeur in Stellenbosch. Rooms were luxurious with shower & spa. Port and chocolates each night and a generous breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly and service focussed. The lounge with open fireplace was the perfect spot for a late night drink with friends. A 2 minute walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#26 of 112 in Stellenbosch
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#38 of 112 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Villa Grande Guest House

Property: Villa Grande Guest House
Address: 1 Keerom Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Grande Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Grande Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing