We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation ”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the honeymoon cottage which is slightly away from the main building. The accommodation was relatively good. The service was lacking at times and the breakfast was very ordinary. Overall a very average experience would not recommend the place to friends although nothing really wrong with the place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was a guest at a wedding here and the whole organisation and layout of the place was excellent. The views were stunning...it's a great place to spend a wine weekend...and the food at the wedding was excellent and the service fine.
We'd certainly consider going back as regular guests for a weekend and the place is highly recommended. I could hardly think of a better location for a wedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We held our wedding at Zorgvliet and utilised the chapel and both reception venues. In addition we rented out all the rooms for the night of the wedding for the bridal party and family and friends.

I myself spent the night before the wedding in one of the rooms above the main offices, and the second night in the Honeymoon suite.

Firstly the rooms are well thought out, tastefully decorated and spacious. The white of the main building with the touches of grey, silver and purple only enhanced my wedding photos.
The honeymoon suite was amazing, however the slate floors were a little on the cold side (under floor heating would have been magical). However the bed was cosy and the fire place an added bonus.

As for the STAFF, what friendly and helpful individuals, all the STAFF were eager to assist and went out of their way to make us and all our GUESTS feel welcome. Both the food on the wedding night as well as the breakfast were of a high quality and there was always plenty.

I would defiently recommend this venue, not only as an accommodation option, but also as a great venue for weddings and events.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a most beautiful place in the middle of South African wine country convenient to dozens of other wineries. If ever in this area again this would be my place to stay. The complimentary breakfasts were of gourmet quality. We had a three bedroom three bath unit that was most comfortable. Zorgvliet wines and other beverages are available at a very modest price. I most enjoyed the Cabernet Sauvignon that was provided in our unit at a very modest price. It was outstanding! Our stay at Zorgvliet was truly and outstanding experience in South African hospitality!

Room Tip: I would choose a unit with multiple rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lherricksnewrrcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful country lodge. The views from all sides cannot be beaten and are out of this world!

Our bedroom was also magnificent and very tastefully done. Cushions were a little on the large side but we found smaller ones in the cupboard. Luxurious gowns were cosy and appreciated. I unfortunately found the bathroom to be below average, poorly designed and very unattractive.

Service was excellent throughout our stay and breakfast service was especially excellent. I wish I remembered the two gentlemen's names that welcomed and served us at breakfast. They were wonderful and also great sense of humour. My scrambled eggs were great as was the tea, but the buffet fruit, cereal and cake table was rather tragic. I watched a woman cut into her scone and saw it explode into dry crumbs.

Other then that it was a wonderful time spent and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

"Zorgvliet completely fail to meet the expectations created by themselves."

We visited Zorgvliet with 3 couples and one 4 year old.
We experienced No friendly welcome, no assistance with the suitcases (it was raining, so any service would have been welcome crossing the muddy garden that had no paved paths to rooms..)

It was not possible to have anything to eat. everything was closed? (17.00) “because nobody was there?” So, first night kitchen closed without notice .. After a long journey, that’s not a nice welcome) (every restaurant in the area was full, so our first night with a young hungry child was great, thanks Zorgvliet. No excuses offered.

There was no extra bed on our room for our 4 year old. But this was, despite their "policy" solved. (Children under 12 allowed in the room, but there is no bed?) “Rooms are according to the hotel’s policy actually too small for an extra bed.

Pool dirty, smelly and full of chlorine .. strange bubbles? Thin white layer of chlorine covered the pool. Somebody of the staff threw half a bucket of chlorine in the pool, a chlorine-dust cloud blew over over a child playing next to the pool!

Someone from the staff agreed with us, that she would not want to swim in this pool..

Spilled Chlorine was present around the pool, outright dangerous!

Sharp pieces of Tiles and broken Paving stones, and sharp pieses at the poorly repaired (but garden furniture (really sharp and very dangerous)

We had a leaking toilet, and after repeated complaints it was not fixed! Toilet is still leaking I think .. (However, they claimed that it had been looked after by an engineer .. yeah right)

Our friends toilet was clogged, they reported it in the morning and by the evening (22.00) after considerable urging the problem was finally solved .. but they also ended up with a leaking toilet...
No toilet brushes made this complete .. nice!

We noticed that our Key works on several rooms! We brought this to the attention of Staff that commented : "We know and we give these rooms to family groups of groups, so they need one key", oh this makes you feel so safe ....NOT!!!!!!..

Security is lacking and consisted of 1 person on duty at the main gate at night. If he was not asleep in the booth [hooted several times and noticed a sleepy person opening the boom gate at night] .....or at the bar watching TV ... and unbelievable but true : if the guard is patrolling at night [watching TV in bar ] he leaves the boom gate OPEN!!!!!!

Laundry bill did not make sense, after complaining no excuses nothing..

Cigarette butts and other sharp objects/glass/iron-wire on and in the grass, dangerous!

Garden furniture and partly defective or broken, Parasol (1 of 3) broken other 2 were close to falling apart, 6 chairs, 3 umbrellas for 9 rooms and 3 suites????

Chlorine stains and stains on the towels and bedding (room and on the sunbeds)

Noisy refrigerator in room (cheap edition)

No stone path to the room (we arrived with rain, and the room was immediately a big muddy mess)

Breakfast full of flies, no covers Staff commented “yes we will solve it for the next visitors”

Understaffed at breakfast : 1 person serving everybody taking orders and making coffee

For late checkout they charge €30 per hour !!!

Obvious signs of deterioration. Note to the owners: you don’t solve this with a “manager” who hides behind her laptop.

No 4 star! 2 maybe 3 star ..

Rooms looked nice though.

Please note:
Zorgvliet did not match our expectation, based on information given by Zorgvliet.
A shame for the beautiful surrounding! and if you want to feel or be safe day or night you are better of booking any other location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The lodge has a very nice design. The views from the lodge is fantastic. There is a small restaurant where you can have lunch or order a picknick. There a playground for the kids so it's perfect for families.
The wine tasting is also very nice, not to big and commercial.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
9.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,853 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorgvliet Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorgvliet Country Lodge

Property: Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Address: Helshoogte Pass | Banhoek, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorgvliet Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zorgvliet Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing