We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kleinbosch Lodge
Ranked #18 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kleinbosch Lodge and wished we had more time there. You can tell that Hans (the owner) really enjoys running the place - he's very warm, attentive, and entertaining. The breakfast buffet is great - in addition to the usual eggs etc. there's lots of fresh fruit, bread, and cheese. Yummy! And breakfast is a great opportunity to meet the other guests and chat and exchange tips and stories. The rooms are spacious and the whole "package" is great value for money. Some of the other guests there have been staying there every year for many years, and we would definitely go back to Kleinbosch Lodge again next time we're in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItinerantLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

we were on vacation with friends. Hans the owner of the complex helpt us finding a good room on his complex. He gave us for a good price two rooms next to each other with a kitchen and terras. We enjoied his lifeliness and good humor. Thanks for reservation of restaurant and bringing the girls to Stellenbosch when we were on the golfcourse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

After around 20 different Guesthouses, always connected with complains, we finally found the ultimate Place. Starting from the most friendly host I ever met, over the huge rooms with an amazing Bathroom ( bigger than some guesthouse rooms) and some very nice and helpful details, a clean and perfect placed Pool till a delicious breakfast. The choices are amazing. All kind of breads, fruits, cereals, juices and more. Of course english breakfast as well.
The Host has always fantastic tips for trips, wine-tastings and restaurants.
Also this Place has finally a real fast internet connection which is surprisingly rare here in South Africa.
We enjoyed every second and we will definitely come back.
We missed nothing at all. Thank u very much

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

4 Friends and myself stayed at Kleinbosch Lodge for three nights as we were attending a Wedding in the area. We shared the Family unit which was spacious enough for us to have a very comfortable stay. The house is beautiful, the colourfully painted walls create a fun and warm atmosphere, the rooms are tip top clean and the breakfast ist out of this world. Hans has put so much love into the Lodge and it is visible in the details. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraBruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We liked it here, didn't really want to leave. Nice setting to relax by the nice pool or use as a base to explore the winelands and estates around Stellenbosch. Host is very friendly as our his two dogs Zimba and Max and his staff that work around the lodge.
Very nice sociable breakfast if you take that option to take around the big table with your other guests and your host who makes you feel very welcome.
Plenty of grounds to nice and quiet. Easy to find on the R44.
Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A few cottages and rooms in a spacious garden with a real pool, loungers and gazebo. The perfect place to come home to after a day of golf or sightseeing. The rooms and baths are spacious and the small kitchenette (we had a room, not a cottage) is sufficient if you do not want to go out to eat. Much has been written about the delicious breakfast and it is all true. Also, the whole experience is made better than great because of Hans. Hans creates an easygoing warm atmosphere and is a fantastic host. Golf and restaurant bookings, personal help with small problems, nothing is too much. And make sure you have Hans book your table, you will get a better one!
We spent four weeks here and hope to come back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Ah what a lovely place. Hans has managed to create an environment which feels intimate and spacious at the same time. The communal breakfast table is a great idea, many pleasant conversations were had and overheard around the table but you can take off and find another space (the tables outside the rooms, loungers around the pool) if you're not feeling chatty. Some of the people I met there were repeat visitors, some were staying for a month! Which says a lot about the place I think. I'd definitely come back if in stellenbosch again. Well located lodge, incredibly reasonably priced, great pool.

The personal attention is super sweet. I was a solo traveller expecting a couple of days of quiet, but Hans nudged the three boys next door in my direction and my stellenbosch leg took a different direction altogether.....can't say he could promise that for all solo travellers, but it's the little thoughtful touches like that which turns a perfectly pleasant place into a special one...not forgetting the legendary notice board!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Annieo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
421 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 115 in Stellenbosch
459 reviews
3.6 mi away
Webersburg
Webersburg
#17 of 115 in Stellenbosch
176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#10 of 115 in Stellenbosch
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kleinbosch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kleinbosch Lodge

Address: R 44 South - Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £72 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kleinbosch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kleinbosch Lodge is situated on the R44 Strand Road just outside Stellenbosch on 2,5 ha of farmland and landscaped gardens, nestled between vineyards and a pine forest. Enjoy spectacular mountain views from the terrace of your luxury room, take a dip in our large swimming pool, play golf on world class golf courses in the direct vicinity, dine in excellent restaurants, visit renowned wine estates, picture perfect beaches and a nature reserve featuring the unique Cape Fynbos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kleinbosch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing