We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #9 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“Charming Place”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice, romantic and friendly Place. In walking distance to stellenbosch City with nice Restaurants -as well as close to wine farms - Shuttle Service could has Bern arranged with assistance of the nice stellenbosch.... We could recomment the guesthouse

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maren Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    213
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
337
35
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bonne Esperance is a wonderfully charming hotel near the center of Stellenbosch. If we didn't had a flight to catch we'd have loved to stay longer. the whole building oozes loads of history and is very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Bonne Esperance. We were greeted as friends and given suggestions for daily activities and restaurants. The breakfast was very good- a nice continental spread with the option for a hot meal. The location is great...an easy walk into town and a short drive to wine country and Franschoek.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Bonne Esperance is located 5mn by foot from the restaurants, coffee shops, clothing and souvenir shops. It is a stunning old house with exquisite furniture in, probably not everyone's taste, definitely mine though! The staff is helpful and always available to help with a smile, just ask!
Breakfast was a variety of 3 or 4 kinds of cheeses, fruit salad, preserves, eggs etc. something for everyone.
It's was what we expected, worth what we payed, we will go back.

Room Tip: We booked the 'Petite Rooms' since they were on offer, but for those who need a little bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehmat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Good location, warm and friendly, very reasonably priced. Decent beds with en suites as expected, a little chintzy but that's SA compared to modern european minimalism. Decent breakfast and very good service; arrived, asked staff to make restaurant booking for us and it was done, no issues. A good choice for a nice area of Stellenbosch.







  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndyFo66o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This place is ideally located in Stellenbosch just a short walk from the bars and restaurants in the town. My room was up a very narrow flight of stairs which was a little awkward when carrying a suitcase. My room was a good size with a small shower room off it. The room was a little chilly and unusually no electric blanket (most of the other places I stayed other than rest camps had them). The breakfast was very nice with a small buffet and then a choice of hot food. There is parking but be aware that there isn’t enough for everyone. We were fortunate in taking the last place when we arrived. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Bonne Esperance during a short visit to the area in September 2013. The friendliness of reception, the cleanliness of the rooms, the stunning garden- all made for a great visit. Will be back and will stay longer next time. Walking distance to everything in Stellenbosch!

Room Tip: Room that overlooks the courtyard will be quieter than one overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrePretoria_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Property: Bonne Esperance
Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing