We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way all hotels should feel.....”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #7 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The way all hotels should feel.....”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were booked in as part of a wedding party but were made to feel as if we were the only guests in the place. Charming period surroundings, extremely friendly staff and a nice secluded courtyard with pool - perfect. Add in good off street parking and excellent breakfasts and you have an ideal base for touring the surrounding wine-lands. The central location in Stellenbosch allows easy walks to a wide selection of good restaurants for evening meals.

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs room served by its own staircase - it's a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    216
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
115
341
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Bonne Esperance in Stellenbosch is the the type of hotel that is the perfect antidote to those big 5* boring clinical establishments. The welcome is warm and the staff are very accommodating. When we booked there was only 'petite rooms' left which were small but perfectly adequate for our needs.
The gardens are a pleasure to sit beside and the whole atmosphere is very homely. It is in a perfect location, close enough to walk in town.
We would strongly recommend Bonne Esperance to anyone visiting Stellenbosch who wants a more personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the guesthouse.. Excellent location, walking distance to many nice restaurants. Nice restaurants' recommendation by the guesthouse.
Helpful staff.. we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgosphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was received at Bonne Esperance with a true Stellenbosch style. My room was great and big overlooking the mountains. The food was great and the service was excellent.
Everything isnwithin walking distance, no need for a car. Wonderfull experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Refiloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in Bonne Esperance on our first night in South Africa. I wanted to find somewhere close to Cape Town that was a gentle introduction to SA and offered us some quality. This was exactly what we got. The room was really nice and very welcoming after a long journey. The reception was very friendly and gave us lots of information about where to go and where to eat. I would have liked to actually stay longer. Maybe another year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was my first time to Stellenbosch, though not my first to SA or Cape Town. Staying at the clean and comfortable accommodation Bonne Esperance Guest Lodge was great experience. I really felt at home


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ipuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hanover Kzn
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The fact that only a duvet was provided was somewhat problematic as the night was rather warm and the option of a sheet and light blanket would have been greatly appreciated. I loved the gardens and location close to the university.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
601 reviews
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,846 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Property: Bonne Esperance
Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing