We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #7 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thank you to all the very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable and adequate in every aspect. Breakfast was superb. The gardens are a delight as well as the whole appearance, inside and out, of Bonne Esperance.
Our only complaint was the road traffic through the night due to noisy students.
We would choose to stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early April. For us the guesthouse enjoyed a perfect location in Stellenbosch. It is situated on a quiet suburban street on the outskirts of town but yet is only an easy 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Stellenbosch where you will find a good selection of bars and restaurants.
We stayed in a petite room on the ground floor located beside the reception. The room was fantastic value for money. It was bright, airy with high ceilings and had 2 French doors leading out onto a patio area and the communal pool. The room also had a small fridge, good air conditioning and an excellent shower although the bed was not the most comfortable
Breakfast each morning was a DIY continental breakfast followed by a choice of cooked items and the special of the day. The breakfast offered good choice and was of a typically high standard.
In terms of the staff, we found each and every member of staff we encountered to be very friendly and helped make us feel relaxed and right at home.
We would like to re-visit Stellenbosch in the future and when we do the Bonne Esperance will be our 1st choice for accommodation in this lovely town

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

One week in Stellenbosch with a few colleagues of mine for job purposes - we enjoyed this lovely guesthouse, surrounded by beautiful gardens and pretty much close to everything we could get interested in - the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS) and the Stellenbosch University, but also bars, restaurants, the winelands, Cape Town and the coast. The staff at the Bonne Esperance Guest House is friendly and always smiling. The atmosphere is relaxing but the services always irreproachable. Having breakfast on the patio is the best way to start your day! We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoFR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Bathroom slightly small and the wine in the mini bar was a tad expensive for the size, but the rest of the place surely made up for it. The breakfast was wonderful! Staff friendly. Good parking. Lovely swimming pool area. Felt very welcome and at home straight away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

everything is excellent, except perhaps the thermal stability of the water of the shower! the food is excellent, people are nice. one room is not very good : the room closed to the kitchen, because it smell early in the morning



  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A very well postioned, comfortable guest house with friendly staff and a relaxed, colonial ambience - sitting on the wide veranda watching the world go by with a glass of wine close at hand was a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Errol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Bonne Espérarnce is a very nice place to stay, an old colonial house wwith a lot of character and confort. The service is very effcient and hospitable. The only thing that could be on the downside is the rooms upstair, under the tin roofing : when it rains at night it is almost impossible to sleep for the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,906 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £71 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing