We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugarbird Manor
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majeka House(Stellenbosch)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
185
68
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
68
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsdevon valleyhonesty barhouse catslovely catscape townrooms were spotlesslovely farmwine valleyhelped us planminute drivewished we could have stayed longermoment you arriveguest housebreakfast was deliciousshort staynice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You will be hard pushed for a better view from most accommodations. Beautiful.
We stayed for two nights.
The room we had was spacious and comfortable and lovely to be able to admire the view while lazing in bed. Plenty of wardrobe space and a very large bathroom,(not sure the nude portrait is ideal!) tea and coffee facilities in room. Good honesty bar .
The down side for us was that we were told we had to check in between 2 and 5. A very small window, but we arranged our day to be there on time and we called them at 4 to confirm we would be there by 5. After getting caught in rush hour traffic it was a bit tight and we were a few minutes late. After a nice greeting and being shown to our room the receptionist said she would be around until 8pm. If that is the case why the restricted check in times, we would have had a much more relaxed day if we could have arrived later.
We asked for a town map but there didn't seem to be one. The receptionist tried to google one and printed it off for when we returned from dinner. I appreciate she tried but it wasn't a very good map. For your reference it transpires there is one inside the wine guide booklet. Also a new pad of maps appeared on the desk for when we checked out.
The manor is a little more out of town than I thought it would be, but it wasn't a problem when driving ourselves and meant it was definitely a quite place to be. A taxi from A to B was arranged for us to go into town for our first evening and that worked well, BUT, he badly let us down for our return leaving us stranded in town for over an hour after we were supposed to be picked up. We were eventually rescued by a 'mate' of one of the staff members of the restaurant. Not the manors fault I know but I hope they have addressed the issue for the future.
Given how wonderful the rooms are and the surroundings, I think breakfast lets it down a little. I felt too rushed and think there could have a been more on offer. We were also subjected to a supposed unannounced power cut which caused some stress in the kitchen and for the conference that was about to start.
We were too busy touring all the vineyards to be able to use the pool and lounge or tour the farm, which I would have liked, but had to be by appointment.
In spite of above points the manor is a beautiful place to stay and if we hadn't been trying to pack so much into a short time we would have happily stayed longer and may even return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Found in a rather mountainous area of stellenbosch the sugarbird manor is very pleasant if you enjoy nature, amazing views and some very private time with your loved one. It's a 10 minute drive to the center and the staff is very helpful and nice. I can recommend having the breakfast on your balcony facing the pool (best view). We will come back :-) thank you!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Mario for this wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sugarbird Manor and that you had peace and quiet, as well as very private time with your family.

I’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our superb staff. We are very proud of our location and privileged to enjoy such beautiful views on a daily basis.

We are looking forward to welcoming you & your family back to the ManSugarbird Manor soon.

Warm regards,

Madre & the Sugarbrid Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to recently stay at the SugarBird Manor guest house in February. Upon arrival, I was greeted by one of the resident cats, Nacho, who was super friendly and sweet. Our room was beautifully appointed and the view was beyond amazing. The grounds and pool are perfect for relaxing and strolling around and I recommend taking a tour of the working farm of Protea flowers and grapes. The owner was very helpful and knowledgable about the areas sights and interests, and her carefully curated art collection hung within the house is superb. I felt that this house was a wonderful balance of serenity and privacy, yet close to town. I highly recommend this guest house for anyone that enjoys a warm, yet sophisticated place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good day,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sugarbird Manor and that you had peace and quiet, even if you were in the centre of a working farm.

Sugarbird Manor does benefit from incredible mountain and valley views, so we are happy you enjoyed that beauty.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Madre & the Sugarbird Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Extraordinary stay at beautiful Sugarbird Manor! So peaceful and relaxing. We received VIP treatment from the staff and personal guided tours of the working Protea farm, wine vineyard, and surrounding areas from the owner herself ! Great wine tasting nearby as well, not to mention Ginny's (Sugarbird Manor owner) award winning Botanica wine that is a "be sure not to miss" while you are there. This truly was the most amazing stay in a most beautiful country with incredible hosts from Sugarbird Manor and one that I hope to have again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sugarbird Manor as well as our Botanica Wines. Our guest are our first priority and we want everyone to feel like a 'VIP'.

Being located on a farm just outside of Stellenbosch, a mere 10 minutes drive away, you are sure to be overwhelmed by how peaceful and relaxing it is.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Madre & the Sugarbird Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Renovated rooms with modern bathroom.
the guesthouse is in the middle of a plantation, with great views. Amazing infinity pool and landscaping.
Unfortunately not all rooms have views and some of the staff members were not very friendly.
You must definitely have a car with you, there is nothing close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good day Felix,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Sugarbird Manor.

I'm sorry to hear about the staff not being very friendly, it is never our intention at all to make guest feel not well treated. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Sugarbird Manor in the near future and hopefully you'll stay a bit longer than one night.

Kind Regards,

Madre & The Sugarbird Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews