We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy restaurant near Stellenbosch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terroir

Terroir
Ranked #10 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant near Stellenbosch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Food and service were excellent. The winery is also worth a visit, and the nearby Kleine Zalze Lodge is a very pleasant place to stay

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    178
    82
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to Terrior a few times and it never disappoints! Food is amazing and service is good. Wine is Fab! Always top of my list if I want to do some fine dinning!

Helpful?
Thank Audsvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all in the attitude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've dined here many times over the years and Terroir has been a "top of list" choice for us and a regular recommendation. Not any more. We have decided to simply ignore the establishment entirely.

We gave Terroir three strikes before deciding on the total boycott. A poorly cooked meal was one, and then staff and managers attitude numbers 2 and 3, with an added dose of fraud sealing strike number 3.

My parents, who live outside of South Africa left us with a Terroir Gift Voucher for my coming birthday. My mother, who bought said voucher on site, made a specific point as to whether any unused balance could be carried over to a fresh voucher should we not use the entire amount. She was told "yes". She even explained that she wished to do R1,500 and would be happy with two R750 vouchers if it would not be possible to carry over a balance. Again, she was reassured. On the night we attempted to use the voucher we required a small amount to be carried over and this was refused. I explained the situation to the manager who was entirely uninterested and clearly not really listening. I went so far as to call my mother in the UK from the restaurant and she also spoke to the manager who simply continued to refuse to carry over the balance.

So Terroir is a venue that happily mis-sells to OAP's, and does not have the grace to accept their own mistake.

Our boycott has not been difficult to stick with. This area is rammed with excellent restaurants with better food, better prices and staff and managers who still appreciate that without customers "the end is nigh".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The absolute best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I liked everything! The food was the BEST I have had in many many years! It was great every bit of it! I will go back jut for this! Highly recommended! Treat yourself!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank marianne793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the finest dining experiences! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Terroir exceeded out expectations. The food was of the highest quality and the service and atmosphere could not have been better. A highly recommendable and truly great place to eat

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terroir also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Terroir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing