We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roosenwijn Guest House
Ranked #10 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just what you need.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Charming guesthiuse in Victorian style, great location, spacious rooms, friendly staff, efficiënt and effective. Just what you need. Close to the city centre and university. Walking distance. Small pool, not meant to be used as a real pool I guess. All in all, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Number 10 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    103
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
128
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We loved staying at this charming Victorian styled Guest House. We have stayed here several times never to be dissapointed.Roosenwijn is conveniently located within 5 min walking distance from the centre of Stellenbosch with delightfull quaint little shops and amazing reataurants. The management and staff were friendly , efficient and helpfull. They went out of their way to make us feel at home.The airconditioned rooms are furnished with beautifull antiques and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast were delicious . Best coffee!!!!! We can strongly recommend this Guest House .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeniwilliamsjones631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Conveniently located, clean, easy access to town centre, nice breakfasts. Would recommend to anyone wanting to explore the town on foot. Good parking facilities and friendly staff. Room tended to be a bit noisy as was on the route in for guests after reception closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been staying at this guest house for some years now but this will definitely be the last time. On our arrival Friday no help was offered with our luggage. The stoep infront of our bedroom door was so full of leaves that we had to close the door. There was only milk for one in the fridge. The mattress is very hard. On our arrival Saturday afternoon the stoep was still not swept, the swimming pool has so many leaves in we dont feel like swimming. There is still only milk for one. (We never used Fridays milk). Also found the lampshade tilted over....broken. Owners of this guest house will have to wake up, we are shocked that the standard has dropped tremendously.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

you should specify that the rooms are not suitable for business men travelling. a lot of noise and no desk in room. breakfast only at 7:30, needed to be in meeting by 7 so didn't eat 4 out of 5 days..





  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pmwoodhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I absolutely LOVE the guest house. The room was very spacious, clean, beautiful and staff was so nice and efficient. I highly recommend it and would love to come back. I was there for work and had to have my laundry done and it was done very well and quickly. The breakfast was delicious and the views from the hotel are breathtaking. I would love to come on holiday. I was there on business but it's defenitely a place where one can go with family or as a couple.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lianettdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stellenbosch is a charming and relaxing town in the center of the beautiful South African wine region - for people from the US, think Sonoma (not Napa). The Roosenwijn guest house is a lovely property, over a hundred years old and nicely preserved. It has its idiosyncrasies, which only add to the charm. Breakfast is excellent, price is right. Unreservedly positive recommendation for a relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin T, Owner at Roosenwijn Guest House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Roosenwijn Guest House. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Pierre & Karin Theron (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosenwijn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosenwijn Guest House

Property: Roosenwijn Guest House
Address: 14 van Riebeeck Street | P.O. Box 669, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roosenwijn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roosenwijn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing