We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roosenwijn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Perfect location, luxury rooms, great breakfast, friendly people.
Stellenbosch is a very nice city with many shops and restaurants.
Wine tasting & Golf opportunities.
Had a wonderfull stay.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The stay at Roosenwijn Guest House was outstanding. Great people, great service, great breakfast, great location! If you want an experience with convenience to Stellenbosch University, this is it!! Cost of the stay was extremely reasonable--value for the cost was off the chart!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UwAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We didn´t find the shower adequate to our needs. We think necessary to have a close space for the water not to split outside the tube. We also think the shower handle should have to be placed in a bar or something similar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos Fernández
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay here. The staff are really awesome and they take such good care of their guests.
I was welcomed there on a very cold evening in the reception with a lovely fireplace. My room had underfloor heating, which was a treat, but it can get too hot after a while. I unplugged it after I was snugly settled in bed. The staff had it back on every evening, which made my room nice and toasty by the time I returned.
My schedule demanded I leave each morning before 8AM, but the breakfast team was ready to fix me a hearty meal anything from 7:15. They sure know how to spoil their guests! The delicious breakfasts were truly a highlight!
I loved that the guesthouse offered safe parking. The pool would probably be heavenly during the summer months, but I appreciated the extra effort to make my stay during the winter as luxurious and comfortable as possible.
The entire guesthouse is lovely and epitomises the gorgeous Western Cape Dutch style, complete with vines growing in the courtyard. The room was stylishly decorated, with an African flair. The room had a stocked snack bar/mini bar, but I didn't get the chance to nibble away. It is a nice touch though!
The only negative thing was that I discoved on my second last night, that one of my windows' blinds enabled people to see through from the outside! Haha, so I got dressed in full view of anyone who cared to look during most of my stay. I sincerely hope nobody saw me!
Regardless, I had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely Guest House!! Friendly, warm welcome!! Manager Vicki served us a delicious breakfast.!! Excellent service, beautiful big room and warm comfortable bed!!! Walking distance to all amenities. Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I fell in love with roosenwijn right from the start.
We received a warm welcome when we arrived, every morning for breakfast and when we checked out.
Service is given with a smile.
Roosenwijn is very clean, serves delicious breakfast, quite, safe and have big rooms.
I couldnt have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chanelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Quite a lovely place with small garden, terrace, pool, fabulous service, excellent breakfast, and wonderful location right near downtown but in a quite neighborhood. Also beautiful view of mountains out the windows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thaisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 115 in Stellenbosch
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
460 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosenwijn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosenwijn Guest House

Address: 14 van Riebeeck Street | P.O. Box 669, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £82 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roosenwijn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Roosenwijn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing