We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want luxury this is the place! First class all the way!”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #2 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you want luxury this is the place! First class all the way!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We arrived at Majeka House after having a bad experience at our hotel in Knysna. We arrived to a great welcome from the gate person and were then greeted immediately by reception. What a lovely surprise! The property is beautiful and the decor is elegant. We were shown to the villa and it was luxury from the second we stepped in the door. We had dinner in the restaurant on site and it was absolutely fabulous. The sleeping arrangements were amazing and The beds luxurious. They allowed us a late check out which I bought was wonderful of them. Our children swam in the private pool all morning after a fabulous breakfast. Sadly we had to leave to go to Cape Town or we probably would have stayed another night! We will be back!

Room Tip: For families I would recommend the villa. It had a full kitchen, laundry facilities and two full bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshipper049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    75
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
295
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at Majeka House for 5 nights at the start of March 2012.
We chose the Mountain View Suite, mainly due to the interiors, and the terrace - the room lived up to our expectations - a really unusual mix of modern and 'antique' style - The bright blue 4 poster bed was an amazing visual centerpiece.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable - the pillows were un-supportive and the duvet was too thick and heavy for the time of year, leaving us to sleep just in sheets.
The terrace had 2 sun loungers and a table & chair set - it has incredible views of the mountains and feels very private.
The hotel's interior is the real selling point of the hotel - the bar is absolutely stunning, the attention to detail, the mix of pieces - you could happily spend time in here just looking at all the eclectic mix!
The restaurant is the same, visually stunning. Breakfast is served in here, and the breakfast set up is unlike anything I've seen before. Individual portions in incredible bowls, stands & plates. Sparkling wine on ice, mix match dainty cups & saucers for breakfast tea... plus you can order great egg dishes, freshly prepared juices etc
The staff are very helpful and really showed their customer service: My Sister's late night flight home was cancelled (she was previously staying in Cape Town with her Fiancee and 4 month old son) and at last minute notice at 12 Midnight, the owners gracefully arranged a room complete with cot for their 1am arrival, they went above and beyond to help out and made a potentially very stressful situation both comfortable and enjoyable.
The Spa is absolutely fantastic - with amazing treatments and really lovely, helpful and friendly Spa staff. It's all very reasonably priced - BUT do try and book ahead as it gets full very quickly.
The evening meal at the restaurant is a little bit too modern - it was very unusual and certainly an experience not to miss- but to eat here once during our trip was enough which seems strange for a hotels main restaurant.
The Tapas menu served to the room / bar or pool is also unique, and this does work really well, it's all served as a platter to share and makes for a great evening meal relaxing in the room.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Majeka House - we found it an ideal place to explore the winelands, and was just the right size - not too small to feel constantly on show and certainly not too big and commercial.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Mountain View Suite if you want some extra privacy and your own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We just got back from a romantic getaway, and can highly recommend Majeka House. Everything was just right, from the staff that is very friendly and helpfull to the cleanliness of the whole place...attention to every detail.We were very lucky to get upgraded to a pool suite which was incredible! Very tastefully decorated, including lavazzo coffeemachines in every room, as well as natural products in the bathroom. The Spa area is fantastic with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and treatments to choose.We were amazed by the decoration of the bar...simply stunning! Really different to the "usual" stuff. Breakfast was too good...sparkling wine, smoothies, smoked salmon, the best meats and cheeses, home made pastries...and on top of that a full menu of hot items to choose from. Diner at Makaron restaurant was good, but not exceptional...I think they can still improve on that, but I must admit that we are quit spoilt eating out in very good restaurants in Cape Town. The plating is done in a very nice way, and no money is saved on good quality napkins, cutlery and crockery. Pricing is reasonable for the food/wine served... The hotel is located outside of Stellenbosch in an upmarket residential area. We went for a walk and came straight through the Vineyards, stunning! However from the hotel view is limited, so the location could maybe be better, but you can't wish for everything I suppose. If you are looking for a place of luxury in Stellenbosch, go for Majeka!

Room Tip: We were so lucky to get upgraded to a pool suite, so that is highly recommendable...but otherwise go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wijnhorstfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons. NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our third stay at Majeka. Since last year, they've had a major renovation: the public rooms have been designed in a playful, eclectic style that is wholly original and, at the same time, homely and welcoming. The cuisine is more imaginative and the 'plating' is exceptional. Service is friendly and, what it occasionally lacks in efficiency, it compensates for in warmth and willingness. Internet connection remains frustrating (as it does in nearly ALL S. African hostelries) and the addition of a couple of bikes to make the most of the lovely environment, would help. But the management seems very 'hands on' and we appreciated their morning round of the breakfast tables. We certainly intend to go back again and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 202, 203 and, above, 301 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makoHamptons.NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, particularly your chef's homemade yoghurt & the eggs Benedict. We look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We like Majeka House. It is an excellent place for romantic holidays and visits to the winelands. Warm and very friendly Staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice place with great staff. The restaurant is brilliant and the rooms spacious. The Spa also offers plenty of treatments. A stay should be at least three nights, so you have time to really use the facilities!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakaomaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#1 of 51 in Stellenbosch
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Property: Majeka House
Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing