We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and fab breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and fab breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

24 hours of bliss..... What a beautiful and tranquil place. The staff were charming, our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The shower had great pressure and the bath was vast!
Our treatments were all very professional and deeply relaxing.
This was all topped off with an absolutely scrumptious breakfast.... A large table laden with a vast array of delicious homemade produce .....
What a treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    75
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
287
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We went there on our honeymoon, and we were treated like royalty. When we arrived they bumped us to a better room. Exceptional service, and don't get me started on their food. We had a lovely spa experience as well. Very well decorated, and good balance between modern and vintage interior. Overall this is an exceptional place to stay at and we will definitely go back there in the future. I can honestly say that Majeka House is more than 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was at Majeka House on a site inspection as I am an inbound tour operator for high end clientele to Southern Africa. Majeka House is fantastic my team from Timeless Africa Safaris will most definitely be adding this stunning venue into our itineraries which we tailor-make to suit our guest....this venue is a jewel in the Winelands!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Wow, what can I say? What an awesome experience! We stayed in one of the the Mountain View Suites at Majeka House over the weekend, and the only rating we can give is 10/10! Despite the fact that the lounge area of suite 504 felt a bit "unfinished", the suite was well appointed, practical and the attention to details was phenomenal! Majeka House is a true feast for the eyes and most certainly one of those "oooohhh aaaaahhhhh" properties! Thanks David and Jennifer - you were the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonvandenHeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I came here to do a Site Inspection, as I would like to increase guest sales into the beautiful Stellenbosch suburb. It is such a beautiful place and very romantic as well.

Majeka House is superb. Once I arrived I was greated by very professional and friendly staff. I checked in and went to the bedroom. It was very nicely decorated and really good size room. The bathroom was very good to, the showers were done with a wooden flooring which in unique. We had complimentary water and coffee.

I took a look at the property and what it offers, and i was impressed. They have a state of the art Spa with a unique treatment to South Africa, two swimming pools (indoor & outdoor), but what made it better was its Makaron Restaurant which I tried in the evening. You can check my comment on its Trip Advisor profile, but it was a phenomenal dinning experience!!!

Once back in the room after dinner, the most favorite part was the bed of course. It was so comfortable. The best i have ever slept in. 5 star hotels that I have stayed in before do not have the same comfort as these ones.

Needless to say, I was extremely happy with Majeka House, and recommend anyone to go there if they can. You will not miss out.

Thank you to Karine and the team for a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: go for the Garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Extraordinary stay at Majeka, fantastic hotel with limited number of rooms and a high quality of comfort and service. We had even the chance to be upgraded. Restaurant is amazing with a chef inspired by French food and having been trained famous Parisian chefs. Selection of wines by the glass was awesome, and we even went to buy the wines we had. good adavantage for French speaking people: the owner is French and gives also good advice to visit the wine area around Stellenbosch. We will go agian for sure if the opportunity comes again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two sublime days of luxury recently at Majeka House. Since its inception a few years ago, Karine and Lloyd and their team have gone from strength to strength in the hospitality they offer. We aren't surprised really as we knew this hotel was a cut above the rest but the new furnishings, the amazing food in the restaurant, the spa treatments as well as the beautiful accommodations all add up to a very special place indeed. Definitely my number one choice and totally deserving of its 5* status in the winelands.

Room Tip: The pool suites lend themselves to couples or families who want to be close to each other as they sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Fran,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your compliments about Majeka House are really appreciated
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Property: Majeka House
Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing