We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100%!!”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was hard to fault my incredibly relaxing 2 night stay a week ago. Not only was the experience outstanding, it was very, very reasonably priced.

My colleague and I arrived late on Friday night after travelling and working all day. We were warmly welcomed at reception and given a brief and succinct tour of the facilities. We were clearly tired so the staff discreetly left unto our own devices.

The rooms are superbly appointed and quiet. The breakfast the next day (included in the room price) was sumptuous and instantly reminded me of the best of Paris. The only trouble was not eating too much!

I also tried the on-site spa which was very satisfactory.

All in all, Majeka House would be hard to beat!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hugentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Hugentry,
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review and for the kind words. This is highly appreciated.
Should you visit Stellenbosch again I hope you will make Majeka House your "home from home".
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Myself and 3 friends spent a night at the hotel on the "Bliss Accomplice" package. We had the most amazing time. The food was out of this world and the spa was so relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the personal service - all reception staff knew who we were and went out of there way to help us.
Altogether a fantastic experence and we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Maureen,
It is great to hear you and your friends had a great time at Majeka House.
The excitement that is generated amongst staff by comments like yours is so motivating.
Please visit again soon.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at Majeka house the weekend of our wedding and LOVED it! The Villa was HUGE and the best place to get ready in with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, as well as an awesome spot we had our hair and makeup done. We loved the stay as well, the brownies on turndown were incredible and a cute little note with the next day’s weather forecast as well as things to do in the area.

The restaurant is amazing. Had the most delicious meal there, the trout dish with message in a bottle was so creative and unique, it was more a dining experience than a meal! Quick tip – don’t bother ordering dessert as you’ll get a place with a few things on it when you are done with your meal. Which was DIVINE. The electricity did go off during our meal, but the staff were quick to light lanterns and it didn’t affect the kitchen. We actually preferred it, made it much more romantic!

The staff were all super friendly and helpful, especially everyone in the restaurant.

The only critisicm I have for the hotel is this - we stayed in the villa, which cost a lot more than a standard room, yet it is the only accommodation option where breakfast isn’t included in the rate. The one morning we did decide to have breakfast, the manager forgot to add it to our bill and were called later in the day to tell us we owed money for it… After a bill of about R10 000 they couldn’t let a few hundred go? Sort of ruined the experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Kirsten,
I am happy you enjoyed the villa and that the restaurant was as you say "amazing".
The villa is expensive in comparison to a standard room but it must be borne in mind that it comprises two bedrooms, two bathrooms,lounge,dining room, kitchen and private pool.
The reason we removed the bed and breakfast option for the villa is because most guests want self catering.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I went to Majeka house for the couples spa package which included a lunch. What an absolute treat for bodies, souls, and tummies! The spa was brilliant, the lunch was exquisite, and the service impeccable. I highly recommend spending at least the afternoon here, since I cannot rate the actual hotel as we were not guests (but we will be staying at least a few nights next time!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Michelle,
I am thrilled your experience of our spa and restaurant was good.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were given our stay as a gift by friends who had previously visited Majeka House and we had the best weekend. The service was impeccable, the room was gorgeous with lovely attention to detail and the salt bed massages were great. Our dinner in Makaron on the Saturday night topped it off absolutely perfectly! A beautiful, unique hotel that we would highly recommend and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin_si_joybould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Erin,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am glad we were able to assist in making your weekend special.
We are looking forward to you visiting us again in the near future.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a lovely time at Majeka house. Everything was out of this world. But the breakfast was a real winner. Amazing choices and everything very fresh. I'll hugely recommend staying here for a weekend.

And if you're a foodie, it will be a real treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinemeintjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi Christine,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are going to Stellenbosch and need somewhere to stay this has got to be it.
Everything is excellent, the staff are brilliant friendly helpful and service is excellent. The rooms are great, spacious and comfortable and like all the other facilities justify the 5 Star rating.
Just when you think it cant get any better, you go into dinner and the food is absolutely divine. In 45 years of traveling the world I can honestly say the meal that I had the first night is one of the best meals I have ever had, and accompanied by a fabulous glass of wine the wine list is exceptional. It was so good that I went back the next night and it was just as good. The fact that the meal is served by happy, friendly, helpful people only adds to the experience.
I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAUREEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Maureen,
It was great to receive your tripadvisor entry and very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to SA (and Majeka House) sometime in the future.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £128 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing