We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the senses...”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #6 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at Majeka House for one night last week. The rooms were quirky but classy and totally gorgeous with an extemely comfortable bed. Having also viewed some of the other rooms, each room is different with its own distinct colouring & character. Mine was coloured with green tones and had a fabulous canvas ceiling to stare at. I'd definitely recommend booking the mountain view rooms, truly stunning!!
The absolute highlight for me had to be dinner. We were treated to a fabulous meal which tasted divine. I can honestly say it was the best meal I had while in South Africa! The waiters were fantastic and so knowledgable, it was such a fun evening. Breakfast the following morning was also very good with a great selection of juices and pastries, cheeses & cereals plus a hot menu too. Karine (one of the owners) told us that almost all of the fruit & veg/herbs etc are grown on site, so my healthy green juice for breakfast was fresher than fresh! Amazing!!
The owners Lloyd & Karine made us feel so welcome and can't thank them enough for their hospitality, they have created a fantastic retreat in Stellenbosch. It is a short taxi ride into town, would recommend Cubana's for drinks after dinner too :)

Room Tip: Go for mountain view rooms - they were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Lola,
WOW - thank you so much for all your kind words. Feedback like yours make it all worthwhile.
I do hope you will visit us again soon.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ok, the interior designer seemed to be on speed or steroids at least when creating this place, less would have been more, but this is only our personal taste. The rest was simply amazing. Dinner in the Makaron restaurant is definitely a must and also meeting Josefine, the sommelier and her fresh approach to wine was a highlight. We also had the best massage ever. The location is very central if you are up to a foodie feast like us, Terroir and Rust en Vrede are just around the corner,and also the famous vineyards of Tokara or Delaire Graff. Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: 501 and 502 are very spacious and have their own pool and a nice roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Thandi,
I passed on your comment of "seemed to be on speed or steroids" to the designer. His laughed and responded with "think how boring life would be if we all liked the same thing".
I am thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant and spa and we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Took my mom for a mother/daughter much needed rejuvenating reunion. 3 night cork trail package including breakfast, dinner, massages and wine tours. From arrival the staff were so welcoming and helpful and friendly. The spa was bliss, food wonderful, room lovely and spacious - only problem the step up to the shower and loo as mum had had hip replacements and still recovering but she managed. The owners were lovely and interested to chat about making Majeka more disable friendly.
I was sick and on antibiotics so the wine tours were altered to make it more interesting for me i.e. some sight seeing and shopping added in which was really lovely and much appreciated. The restaurant was lovely, excellent service and food and again very accommodating and patient with our food allergies. Would and have highly recommended Majeka House and would love to return when I visit South Africa in the future.

Room Tip: We chose the garden room because it was spacious and had a lovely garden outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jenni,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your valuable time with your mom. On your next visit I hope you are well and able to enjoy some of the superb Stellenbosch wines.
I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and thanks for the recommendation.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was hard to fault my incredibly relaxing 2 night stay a week ago. Not only was the experience outstanding, it was very, very reasonably priced.

My colleague and I arrived late on Friday night after travelling and working all day. We were warmly welcomed at reception and given a brief and succinct tour of the facilities. We were clearly tired so the staff discreetly left unto our own devices.

The rooms are superbly appointed and quiet. The breakfast the next day (included in the room price) was sumptuous and instantly reminded me of the best of Paris. The only trouble was not eating too much!

I also tried the on-site spa which was very satisfactory.

All in all, Majeka House would be hard to beat!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hugentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Hugentry,
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review and for the kind words. This is highly appreciated.
Should you visit Stellenbosch again I hope you will make Majeka House your "home from home".
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Myself and 3 friends spent a night at the hotel on the "Bliss Accomplice" package. We had the most amazing time. The food was out of this world and the spa was so relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the personal service - all reception staff knew who we were and went out of there way to help us.
Altogether a fantastic experence and we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Maureen,
It is great to hear you and your friends had a great time at Majeka House.
The excitement that is generated amongst staff by comments like yours is so motivating.
Please visit again soon.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at Majeka house the weekend of our wedding and LOVED it! The Villa was HUGE and the best place to get ready in with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, as well as an awesome spot we had our hair and makeup done. We loved the stay as well, the brownies on turndown were incredible and a cute little note with the next day’s weather forecast as well as things to do in the area.

The restaurant is amazing. Had the most delicious meal there, the trout dish with message in a bottle was so creative and unique, it was more a dining experience than a meal! Quick tip – don’t bother ordering dessert as you’ll get a place with a few things on it when you are done with your meal. Which was DIVINE. The electricity did go off during our meal, but the staff were quick to light lanterns and it didn’t affect the kitchen. We actually preferred it, made it much more romantic!

The staff were all super friendly and helpful, especially everyone in the restaurant.

The only critisicm I have for the hotel is this - we stayed in the villa, which cost a lot more than a standard room, yet it is the only accommodation option where breakfast isn’t included in the rate. The one morning we did decide to have breakfast, the manager forgot to add it to our bill and were called later in the day to tell us we owed money for it… After a bill of about R10 000 they couldn’t let a few hundred go? Sort of ruined the experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Kirsten,
I am happy you enjoyed the villa and that the restaurant was as you say "amazing".
The villa is expensive in comparison to a standard room but it must be borne in mind that it comprises two bedrooms, two bathrooms,lounge,dining room, kitchen and private pool.
The reason we removed the bed and breakfast option for the villa is because most guests want self catering.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I went to Majeka house for the couples spa package which included a lunch. What an absolute treat for bodies, souls, and tummies! The spa was brilliant, the lunch was exquisite, and the service impeccable. I highly recommend spending at least the afternoon here, since I cannot rate the actual hotel as we were not guests (but we will be staying at least a few nights next time!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyduss, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Michelle,
I am thrilled your experience of our spa and restaurant was good.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
696 reviews
15.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#3 of 116 in Stellenbosch
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £151 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing