We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“majeka house avoid it”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The room we were given was both dirty and somewhat shabby, There were traces of faeces in the lavatory and the bath had hairs adhering to the sides. There was dirt in the corners of the room and bathroom, and dust in the cupboards and surfaces. The swimming pool and surrounds were full of leaves and dirt and had not been either swept nor cleaned. The room was overlooked on all sides, and some vital windows had absolutely no curtains nor blinds. I saw various naked people getting dressed in the morning, and they equally could see us. So no privacy at all. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite simply inedible as it was covered in flies on every item. There were flies on the yoghurt and the fruit, there was even a fly IN the bowl of plain yoghurt.The breads which had napkins folded over the middle of them were constantly covered with flies where they were exposed at either end. Only the cold meat and the cheese were covered with cloches and therefore did not have flies settling on them. It was disgusting and we could not eat the food. This was the only meal we had so cannot comment on the restaurant in general. Majeka House looks wonderful on the web site, but be warned. The reality is a rather ghetto like warren of rooms, some large, some small, photographed with a wide angle lens. We found the place pretentious but tatty and our room and bathroom was certainly not clean. Majeka House is expensive...save your money and stay in one of the really excellent, clean and comfortable alternatives which abound around Stellenbosch. We did, and we had wonderful luxurious accommodation and a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear car w,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Majeka House and pointing out some issues that happened during your stay.
Secondly, we apologise for the terrible experience you had with us. Cleanliness is something we take extremely seriously and as you might see in other reviews on this forum is hardly an issue. We have taken note of your remarks and will make sure that no other customers have a similar experience.
Lastly, we would like to emphasize that we are nothing of a “rather ghetto like warren of rooms” as we are located in one of the most sought after areas of Stellenbosch. Our rooms are situated in different buildings around the main house, all designed differently by a talented, renowned and respected designer.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Enjoyed three wonderful nights at the Majeka House earlier this month. We were greeted by the friendliest staff who were helpful during the entire stay. We stayed in a standard room with a small private patio and it was perfect. The room was spacious and clean, and the beds were so comfortable that getting up in the morning was a challenge. The complimentary still and sparkling water at the bedsides was especially handy after long days of wine tasting ;) The breakfast was downright luxiourious, and we also enjoyed a sampling of tapas by the pool one afternoon. Dinner at Makaron was also to die for. Definitely worth a trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our Premiere room was very nice both in size and design. The bed was to die for! We loved to eat the tapas menu in our room with some of the wines we had bought during our days out in the Winelands.
The pool was a bit to warm but thats just me, I like it fresh (23 degees).
The restaurant Makaron was OK but we were not blown away. It felt like they were trying a bit to hard and lost the flavors on the way. The tapas menu was 5* we loved every bite.
Majeka we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Interesting modern decor. Stayed in Garden suite with semi private pool. Great restaurant. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to explore the wine farms in the region of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek .

Room Tip: Garden suites all lovely
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYGH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We arrived for the first time in South Africa and our first stop was Majeka House. The hotel is in a very quiet location and when the gates open you find a lovely set of buildings with pretty flowers everywhere. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were soon shown to our room, one of the Pool Suites. Wow it was a huge space with a lovely sitting area and the most comfiest bed ever! The pool is shared with the next door room. During one of the days there was a wedding party getting ready so there were a few people wandering around so it didn't feel that private but they soon left and it was nice and peaceful again! We ate in the restaurant twice during our three night stay and the food was excellent, innovative and upmarket with the emphasis on fresh produce. There is a separate bar area for an evening drink which was very groovy, the decor throughout being very tasteful and served good cocktails. The breakfast was also fantastic, a huge array of fruits, cheese, hams, salmon, lots of breads (including gluten free), pastries, juice, yogurts and of course cooked breakfast which we never tried because we were more than happy with the buffet! The hotel kindly booked the Tokara restaurant (on a nearby wine estate) for us which was also very good. We did not have a car at this point in our journey so had to rely on taxis although on one day we took a Tuk Tuk into town, this was great fun and much cheaper than a taxi. Having stayed in Cape Town at the end of our South African trip, we felt that the Stellenbosch taxis were rather expensive, it was probably about a 10 minute drive into town. All in all, we had a really lovely time at Majeka, great room, lovely gardens and grounds and fantastic food plus friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pool suite lovely large room, no noise to disturb sleep at night. Probably depends on who is in the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doglover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Wow. This place was fantastic. Arriving at Majeka House was an experience. The short drive from Cape Town takes you through some spectacular scenery as you get into Stellenbosch so you wonder how any hotel is going to maintain the same level of impressiveness. This property does that. It’s set in a beautiful residential area and I was surprised to find such a large complex here. The first things I noticed were the interior design and the very well-heeled locals and tourists heading to lunch in the restaurant.

Check-in was great. We had a short wait until our room was ready so we jumped straight into the local sparkling wine – the bar here has a great selection. The gardens we sat outside in were wonderful and very peaceful. When our room was ready we headed straight up to room 506 which we say was a mountain facing suite. Wow again. This room was huge and incredibly well-equipped.

The massive bathroom didn’t have a tub in it but that didn’t matter. I loved the bathroom tiles and the grey-coloured floor. It was well-stocked with high-end South African toiletries which I liked – in glass bottles so they can be re-filled (very green – I like it).

The bedroom was huge and they obviously invested in good interior design. The bed was so comfortable and I slept like a baby. The room came with a nice little “honesty bar” which had loads of local snacks and drinks which you pay for. We were also given a jar of olives made onsite which was a nice touch. We had a huge balcony which faced the mountain next door – such a spectacular view. There were also two sun loungers on the private balcony which we tested out.

Breakfast was fantastic. The buffet was great and you can order hot options too. The eggs benedict was particularly good. We ate in the restaurant one of the evenings but I’ll write a separate review for that on the restaurant’s page (it was absolutely incredible – lived up to its reputation as one of the best restaurants in the region.) The bar area is also great for a night cap – such a cool setting to end the night in.

I was surprised to find a small gym on the property. It isn’t huge but has just the right amount of things in it to help you feel like you’re balancing out the food/wine calories with some exercise. It has a rowing machine which is quite rare in hotels – and (much to my delight) a basic but decent set of weights and a barbell. I used the pool briefly too which was great – although slightly too short to do laps in.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and very well-manicured. I’ve never seen so many roses – which also create a pleasant smell. In fact, everywhere you go at Majeka House you are hit with an array of floral smells from different sources. On that, I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in such a clean hotel.

In terms of location you can’t go wrong – it’s a quick drive anywhere and you’re just outside of the main town.

Price-wise, the British Pound gets you a long way in this country in general and Majeka House is no exception. It's incredibly good value at the current exchange rate and should be for some time provided this doesn't change dramatically. Put it this way, I could never afford to stay in a comparable place in most other wine producing hot-spots like this.

I’m trying to think if there was anything negative about this place. There wasn't. It was amazing. The only thing I regret is not staying longer. I’ll have to make it up by coming back next time…

Room Tip: The mountain view suite in 506 is definitely well worth a try.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Moaksey,
Wow - thank you so much for a great review.
We do try so hard to meet (and exceed) our guest expectations and your response does so much for staff morale..
We look forward to welcoming you back to Majeka House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I celebrated his birthday with a weekend at Majeka House. It was the ideal spot for a relaxing, peaceful time without our children and definitely exceeded our expectations. Situated in a quiet street on the outskirts of Stellenbosch (but conveniently within 5-10minutes drive from town and shopping centres), with a beautiful view of the mountain. The service was excellent from the booking, checking in, room service, restaurant and right through to the spa. Staff is friendly and helpful (we asked for a I-pad charger and it was organised and sent to our room within minutes.) The decor is full of surprises and very tastefully done. Our room was very well-equipped, clean and neat. The restaurant is rated one of the top 20 in the country but according to our experience deserves a spot in the top 10! Dinner was magnificent, the wine list extensive with excellent wine pairing! Breakfast absolutely divine. Everything freshly made and even personal requests were attended to with a smile. My husband had the most divine dessert at dinner and asked if he could have the same at breakfast on our last day. They gladly served the dessert without charging for it. An absolute gem that we could gladly recommend to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarelome_vanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Sarelome_vanN,
It is comments like this that makes it all worthwhile.
Thank you very much for all the good things you say. We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £127 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing