We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Boutique Hotel”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #6 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in May and it was great. We had the room facing the mountains and the interior design is also beautiful. The staff ins very kind and made us feel very comfortable. Will be back certainly some day.

Room Tip: Is is worth the investment to stay at the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jporiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My Husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night away for our anniversary and what a treat it was. The staff give you a big warm welcome you as you arrive and continue with their warmth through the duration of your stay with them. The location is great if you want to go do some wine tasting and I highly recommend dinner at the hotel after, it was magnificent....
The rooms are beautifully laid out with attention to detail. An all-around thumbs up, I really do recommend Majeka house to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at Majeka House during our vacation in South Africa in March. The hotel and rooms are absolutely stunning, and I think the photos don't do the place justice! The outdoor areas reminded me of Yves Saint Lauren's gardens in Marrakesh, and I can't say enough about the beauty of the whole property.

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast both days, and we also enjoyed the bar area after dinner on the first night.

We didn't have time to use the spa (which seemed reasonably priced by the way), but I would love to return next year for a longer stay so I can do so!

While we had considered staying at properties in the center of Stellenbosch, I don't think any of them would have been as enjoyable as Majeka House. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We looked for a relaxed place with an indoor swimming pool, a place that would be great for adults and a 2 year old. We did find this. The room was , the balcony safe and for was great.

We loved hanging out in the garden and used the swimming pool several times.


The food in the restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leneoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay at Majeka House. We stayed in a Mountain view suite which was spacious and beautifully furnished. We loved the heated swimming pool. The decor is amazing and contemporary, the staff super friendly and helpful. All in all we had a great experience and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaFullst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very interesting place with staff that are proud of there establishment- will stay there next time we visit Stellenbosch. Although we did not stay there as we had already booked in at another guest house we got the feeling that it was a good relaxed environment

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife chose this venue for the amenities that came with the room. She loves to swim. Our room had it's own (mostly) private pool which is shared with the next door room only. For our stay the adjoining room was vacant, so the pool was private.

We were greeted warmly at the main desk and escorted to our room. Both my wife's and my jaws dropped when we saw the room(s). We had a huge bathroom with separate tub, shower and toilet areas. Double sinks and the wall panels beside the tub moved out of the way to open up with the bedroom for those who need that kind of connections.

Between the bedroom and the pool deck was a sun room with the most comfortable leather chairs imaginable to sit in a gaze in wonder at the outdoors. On top of the room, there was another sun area with chairs accessible from the outside to the left of the entrance door.

The bed was large and so very comfortable and soft. Wish I had that at home too.

If the pool at the room isn't to your liking, there's a large heated pool at the spa which is there for guest's use as well. Lastly, there is an excellent restaurant and a comfortable bar for before or after dinner drinks.

The compound is gated and secure with Stellenbosch just a few minutes drive away.

All in all a very classy place. You get your money's worth to say the least.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jollyjacktar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,037 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
922 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 116 in Stellenbosch
272 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £157 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing