We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does hardly deserve 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does hardly deserve 4 stars”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel bears 4 stars which have not been confirmed during our stay.
The room is ok, but worn out. The bath is clean but needs refurbishing. The bed is too small.

The hotel itself lays in a quiet street. But there is an intersection (R44/Dorp Street) with traffic lights just behind the hotel. This is the main reason not to suggest this place
The pool is very small, not very inviting.

Positive: Breakfast buffet and fenced/guarded parking. Located close to the center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Biker4711
Thank you so much for your support of the Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa and for taking the time to review the Hotel on this platform. We value your feedback tremendously.
I am immensely sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay.
We are currently busy with renovations and refurbishment, and we are very excited, some of the rooms have been completed.
Your main reason for not suggesting this hotel is due to the fact that Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa is situated on the intersection (R44/Dorp st). Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa’s location is one of our unique selling points due to the fact that it is walking distance from all shops and city centre of Stellenbosch. It is also known as the Historical Dorp str. Most GUEST chooses the hotel due to the location.
Your comment about the pool, the property only provides for this size of heated swimming pool as we are only a 28 bedroom.
I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, fenced guarded parking and the fact that we are close to centre.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    28
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
53
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Our last night on a Thomsons Africa self drive trip. Absolutely superb... A two storey, luxurious room awaited with a little fridge and microwave which could be handy. The pool was great for our 8 yr old as it was heated. Great location and helpful, friendly staff made it even more enjoyable. Thank you so much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Woodpeckers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Woodpeckers5

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa and for taking the time to write a review, we are truly honoured, and appreciate it sincerely!

We look forward welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa and our Beautiful Country South Africa.

Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our last stop in South Africa before flying back home. A lovely hotel close to the centre of Stellenbosch. Our 'room' was actually an apartment which included a kitchen and an upstairs and downstairs bathroom. The door boasted the largest cat flap I have ever seen!

Room Tip: The evening traffic is very heavy so try to arrive before the rush hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Pete P

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to receive your compliments. It was our pleasure to accommodate you!
We look forward welcoming you back to South Africa and to Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa!

Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My 2nd visit to the hotel. This time the room was more modern and fully equiped. Apart from all the old rooms and building, the staff give exceptional service. I would definately recommend it to other people.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lavish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Lavish M

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Trip Advisor . We are delighted to receive your compliments. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable.
We look forward welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa!

Kind Regards

Gerty Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I booked one the suites at the hotel and was pleased to see that it was loft with two main areas. On the lower level are a few couches and a sleeper couch with small bathroom and shower, a kitchenette and a flatscreen tv. The upper level has a king/queen size bed with a great en-suite bathroom, tv and ample cupboard space. I was booked at the hotel for a number of weeks and during that time the hotel made me feel like it was home. I was able to make small meals using the stove that they kindly connected. They also went out of their way to accommodate me and make me feel welcome and comfortable. I have stayed at a few other Proteas around the country and I must say that this is one of best! Keep it up!

Room Tip: A loft room near the heated pool
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WK3_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear WK_3

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to accommodate you, and your loyalty are truly invaluable to us!

Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Dorpshuis was the venue for our last night on the Garden Route and it proved to be a severe letdown.

We arrived on a Tuesday and the hotel was almost empty. We were allocated a room at the back of the hotel adjacent to the busy road (room 10 I think). On first view it appeared that we had been given a room at the Bates motel, the room was cold, impersonal, with a small bathroom with a slug crawling up the wall (see photo). It was clear that the hotel was still in "off season" season mode since the swimming pool was covered.

The noise from the road continued through the night accompanied by people shouting at each other and honking car horns. Get a room towards the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice which was a bit of a waste since we were the only diners. A thank you for the receptionist who used her computer to help me print out my Emirates Boarding Passes.

The hotel is within about 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of town although we would recommend a car journey in the evening since the hotel's immediate vicinity is somewhat "down at heel".

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel away from the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Simon,S

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor.

GUEST perception is the only way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer. Your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve where necessary.Please accept my most sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced.

I am really pleased to see the STAFF assisted you well, and you enjoy our breakfast buffet!


Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Bryanston, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We checked in on the Friday evening and had to stay an extra two nights and needed three extra rooms as we had guests. The hotel was full yet the staff ran around and made a plan for us. With no notice at all they made sure we were all comfortable. It felt like home walking into the dining room seeing all my family talking and eating and being comfortable. There was internet facilities, a lovely fire place and parking facilities. We did not have to worry about anything. The staff are extremely friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There is also a heated pool which we did make use of during our summer months stay. All round a lovely homely experience I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Brenda T
Thank you for your words of appreciation on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to receiver your compliments. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your GUEST, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
4.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
791 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
2.5 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
Address: 22 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa is an elegant Victorian Boutique Hotel in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The hotel, a fusion of Victorian and modern elegance, is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, providing luxury accommodation to the weary traveller. With 27 rooms, all individually decorated and furnished with antiques, the atmosphere is that of visiting the country side, and yet the Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa with its homely ”Guesthouse” atmosphere provides every modern amenity you would expect from a 4 star Hotel. Surrounded by vineyards and beautiful mountains makes this location one of the most sought-after holiday venues in the Western Cape and in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing