We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disturbing traffic noise levels with the experience improved by front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgemoed
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My work's travel agents booked me into this hotel, and it was only then that I saw many reviews mentioning the high traffic noise levels. They weren't exaggerating! The room that I was given was so noisy that I couldn't keep the windows open but had to keep the aircon on all of the time to compensate. Traffic is busy until at least 10:30 p.m. and gets going again by at least 05:30 a.m. The quality of the room was adequate without being special.

If I have to look for a positive element about my stay it would have to be the friendliness of the front desk staff. They are the reason that my overall rating has moved up to Average from Poor.

If you are wanting a good night's sleep then this is not the hotel to be at. I have recommended that my work's travel agents no longer make use of it, and I will personally be sure never to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here because of there being no other options whatsoever, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

No complaints! Clean, comfortable, decent A/C, 500mb of free wifi (awesome compared to most South African hotels), and decently priced. Nice view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Decent on-site bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you would like to stay at a place very you can rest this is the place. The hotel is in the vineyards and the atmosphere is simply to dream off. The hotel offers free transport frequently to the Tygervally Mall which is a bonus. The hotel has free Wi-Fi for you convenience. Don't mis out on the breakfast which was very special.

Room Tip: Room 119 is a big room with seating on a stoop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was nice enough and rooms were clean. I was given a smoking room which made my eyes burn just opening the door, when I called the front desk to ask to switch to non-smoking, I was told they were all booked and so was every hotel nearby. I argued a bit and was told they would "purify" the room and it would be fine. I asked how they would do that and he explained that he would plug-in an air-freshner. I said that would not do and walked back up to the front desk and had the same conversation with someone else. After a third person got involved, they decided they could offer me an empty non-smoking room....exactly what I asked for to begin with. I went through something similar with the broken A/C in my room. getting anyone to do anything for you is a complete hassle, they just don't want to bother.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

While it is understood that Protea runs a training program annually for learners, it does not excuse poor service, learners are learning but should be supervised and with supervision comes responsibility to the guests at the hotel. I stay at Protea Hotels all over South Africa, and this is the worst. Breakfast is supposed to start at 06H30, every morning the stove is not hot enough, they are still putting out food, one morning they were only ready at 06H45, had to wait for them to make the coffee and warm up the milk too - they must surely realise that business guests have time schedules and meetings. Overall the learners seem to be the excuse for not providing their guests with the expected Protea excellence. Just today, I had to ask three times for my water bottle to be filled. The traffic noise and plumbing pipe moans wake the dead. Suggest these employees get sent to Protea Bloemfontein - Nelson Mandela Drive for training, where the service is so HOT is sizzles.

Room Tip: Rooms near the middle and front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My son and I stayed at the Tygervalley Protea Hotel. Staff were pleasant and the grounds clean. The room was great in size as was the bathroom and both very clean. My only complaint is that it was smelly. It stated "non-smoking" room - but one could smell stale smoke. Not pleasant at all.

Room Tip: Perfect for a stop-over and central to most things and easy highway access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdelweissP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is situated close to a motorway, so some rooms are noisier than others. However, the rooms are spacious and clean. They have air conditioning fitted. However, the one I had in my room was not the most efficient. Either it was too small and needed servicing. The Hotel restaurant tends to serve buffet food for dinner and breakfast. I was told that if I wanted to order a la carte, I would probably have to wait at least 45 minutes. The problem with the buffet is, if there is a large crowd in the restaurant before you, the food selection that you might want, may no longer be available.
The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful and are a plus for the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with number 150 or so, should be quieter as they are more sheltered from the motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgemoed
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
8.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.2 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
3.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
1.9 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley

Address: 278 Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip de Jager off-ramp, ext 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Tygervalley)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Welgemoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgemoed
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley is now a full service 3 star Cape Town hotel overlooking scenic views of Table Mountain and offers unrivalled convenience and value for money. As a budget hotel in Cape Town the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley is strategically located near the airport and CBD and is tailor-made for the executive traveller. All rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, 32" flat screen TVs with DVD players in all rooms and en-suite bathrooms. The hotel's new a la carte restaurant, Point of View, caters for breakfast and dinner, whilst the exclusive residents' bar and lounge is ideal for informal meetings or sundowners. Secure, individual parking bays are strategically located outside each room. Off the restaurant, situated in the park-like surrounds, is the hotel's swimming pool and sundeck. Various other sporting activities are available nearby, including golf only a few minutes away. A cozy lounge facility off the reception area offers comfortable seating and a fireplace. For the Corporate traveller, the 3 star hotel in Cape Town offers a small business centre with internet and word processing facilities. Tyger Valley Shopping Centre and Willowbridge Mall is only 5 km away from the Protea Hotel Tygervalley. Within a 5 km radius, there are more than 30 restaurants to choose from. There is a Virgin Active Gym 5 km away. Shuttle services can be arranged to all destinations at a cost to the guest. For the adventure seeker, the hotel is only 8 km from Ratanga Junction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyger Valley Hotel
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley Welgemoed, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing