We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
17
31
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
31
17
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Reception staff couldn't provide a street map and didn't know of any local restaurants, of course they could recommend their own! We didnt feel safe when we set off walking to find somewhere and we're not cautioned against this by the staff. Eventually found a nice restaurant. Everything extra cost, breakfast, secure parking. Air con ineffective, struggle for the staff to agent room safe working ... Left after one night not three. Maybe suitable for business meetings, stays or Rotary!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank 77M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannerie S, Manager at Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Herewith I wish to apologise for your inconvenience.The staff involved has been spoken to and are receiving the necessary trainning to avoid any unpleasantness in the future.

Egidio Cardoso
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My family and I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. When our children were young we went there for 9 years in succession for our post-Christmas holiday. With a sauna, jacuzzi, games room and tennis court, it is an ideal place to relax. Friendly staff and good food round off value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dupreezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in the Protea Hotel Cumberland for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Our room only had a shower, I am not sure if any of the other rooms had a bath.

Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room (away from the smoking rooms) as our room was filled with the smell of smoke every time our neighbour lit up.....

The restaurant in the hotel where we had breakfast is very basic, but the breakfast was outstanding and the service was great! The very friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate everyone.

The hotel is centrally located and there is a new shopping mall closeby (not walking distance) with restaurants and shops. The hotel has a big swimming pool and a private paid parking area.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay over in Worcester.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I spent a very comfortable weekend at the Cumberland hotel with exceptionally organised and friendly staff - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyL970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Seeing as I grew up in a town about 80km from Worcester, I have always known about the Protea Hotel Cumberland. Never really wanted to stay there, but was forced in the past few days.

Our car broke down and was towed into Worcester. We had to arrange urgent accommodation and the Protea Hotel Cumberland is one of only 2 hotels in Worcester and was the only one that had place. We booked immediately while being stuck in next to the road.

We arrived at 21:30 at the hotel after the long wait and was greeted by a friendly receptionist. She explained everything and was very helpful. We asked if there were restaurants in the area where we could have a bite, and she suggested that we eat at the hotel's restaurant. They did however close at 21:45. We confirmed that we just want to take a quick shower after the long day and then will come through. Once in the room, we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, and neatness of the room, as well as the overall amenities. While showering the receptionist phoned our room and said that if we want to, we can order what we want from the menu in the room and they will bring it from the restaurant. We were happy with the room service, as we actually didn't want to go anywhere. The room service was prompt and efficient and arrived as asked. Upon receipt of the bill we realised that they didn't charge us room service prices, but the cheaper restaurant prices.

The following day we asked for a later check-out as we were waiting on news from our car. This again was no problem, and we checked out at 12. We then proceeded to have lunch and the service was as good again. We realised that our rental car would be late, and asked if we can use the swimming pool, upon which we were given towels and our bags stored behind reception. In the end the hotel management allowed us to stay and use the hotel until 15:30 and our car arrived.

This is not quite the experience we thought we would have at the hotel, as we expected it to be worse, but we both agreed that this was a very pleasant stay with a clean hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, nice food, and nice rooms with decent general areas.

This hotel has surely shown that some 3 star hotels might even be better with services and friendlyness than some 4-5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews