We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
17
31
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
31
17
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After 25 years we decided to go back to where it all started. To our biggest surprise as we walked in it was nothing what we have imagined it to be.So much so that our one night stay turned out to be a weekend stay. Our focus was to enjoy the hotel and not its surroundings.

The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms make you feel at home with its living space and brand new bathrooms and extremely modern decor of dark-stained wood and some of the rooms have a private jacuzzi.They have free WIFI available in the rooms and public areas.

This hotel has a leisure centre with fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, jacuzzi, pool table and tennis court. The big TV screens allowed the rugby fanatics to watch the game in a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the bar area. Safe and secure parking with camera surveilance and electronic remote controlled safety gate and intercom system.

Wining and dining at the hotel is traditional, home style and elegant. The restaurant is located around the pool and their prices are very reasonable. Wide variety on breakfast buffet and an a la carte menu. They had a private function on the Saturday with 300 "oumensies" that was done in poise and elegant style to make it special for the aged.

A big thank you to the management and staff for their unbelieveable hospitality and friendliness. Arrie,(the GM on duty) and Dinelle (at reception) were of great assistance.

This hotel will definitely see us again! soon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannerie S, Owner at Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Cheryl T

Thank you for your most valuable review concerning our Property.
Your comments are very important to us and enables us to deliver great Hospitality to our Guests
The P H Cumberland Team, are delighted with your kind comments.
The Cumberland Team always strive do deliver Great Service, Great Food and Hospitality

Have a Great Day
Egidio Cardoso
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was quite easy to find, but offers no free secure parking. Check-in was quick enough, but once you are in the secure parking area it's a very long walk back to reception or your room.
The public facilities looked okay but we didn't try it as it was quite late.
The room was pretty standard, spacious enough and well equipped. Strange to see an old fashioned key in this day and age.
Negatives were a funny rounded shape bath bottom which made showering quite hazardous, an aircon that emitted bad smells and damp issues on the walls.
My main issue with this hotel is that it's overpriced by about 40% for what it is. For the kind of money they charge one expects better.
However, all the staff were very friendly and helpfull, and the service was very good, and for that reason alone I will consider staying here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KarmaTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hoteom offers a lot, from tenniscourt to sauna and from (serious) swimming pool to bar to watch the sports. Interior isfine but a bit outdated. Rooms are sufficient, Bed and sanitations are very fine (comfortable and hygienic), although airco can be noisy. Personel is very friendly.
Free nternet is availabe for up to 100mb a day.

Room Tip: Ik ben er nu twe keer geweest. Ik vond de kamers 235 en verder beter dan die in de uitbouw. Reden dichterbij de andere voorzieningen en tenminste een raam met uitzicht.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel , Cumberland and really had a very relaxing time. The hotel dors not look like much from the outside. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. We were 3 hours early and our room key was given to us. The kids are also free to roam the hotel. There are games for them to play, the kids had lots of fum in the pool. All in all friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews