We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in North Goa”
Review of Resort Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Rio
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in North Goa”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Hi,

It had been a few weeks I was trying to plan my vacation but work priorities kept changing the plans, location and dates. Finally, after all the plans, it was time for Goa again.

It is interesting that for all my 6 trips to Goa so far, I've always chosen North - reasons are many but one interesting reason is the range of things to do and some fantastic choice of hotels.

One of these fantastic hotels is Resort Rio - by far my best experience in Goa so far. I say this confidently having stayed in hotels in all ranges - Taj Village Resort to Beacon Court.

Location: Resort Rio is ideally located in Arapora, 5 minute drive/scooty ride from Britto's or Titto's/Capetown (There are different ways to reach Baga from the hotel). It is also perfectly located for your trips to Anjuna or to other side - Calangute or Candolim as you have the option to avoid the busy roads of Baga. Cars/bikes for hire are available outside the hotel at normal city prices

Rooms: Most of the rooms are facing the green plains and the hills - its one of the most refreshing sites you will get across all hotel options in North. Rooms are big and all rooms have a different theme. Bathrooms are very well done and all rooms have terreces to sit out and enjoy the view.

Amenities: Hotels serves Italian and Continental food - for the India pallette, there is a Vegitarian restruant as well. A well managed bar with good 'SunBurn' music makes it a perfect plan to hang out late in the night.

Staff: On thing that you will remember after your visit to the hotel is the fantastic service. Akash at the Bar is 'Innovation' personified. Always keen to add a personal touch, he has the ability to invent a drink to match your taste. Prudencia is one of the managers - You will also find Prudencio in the hotel all the time for your service - morning breakfast, late night dinner - he literally stays in the hotel. With his suttle expressions but keen observations, he will ensure you get a personal touch with the best quality service.
The hotel is very well managed by Benny D'souza - GM for Resort Rio.

Perfect Holiday - 10 on 10 !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NGExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear NGExplorer,

We thank you for your excellent review of our resort. We have noted your comments and look forward in welcoming you again!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special offers, promos and updates...

Warm regards,
Pracilo D'silva
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    424
    112
    35
    35
See reviews for
551
514
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My family and I decided to go on a holiday to Goa and on the suggestion of a few friends, we booked into Resort Rio. We had heard a lot of good comments about this hotel so we stayed there. It was a 3-nights trip that was simply fabulous!

Firstly the deluxe rooms were absolutely spacious and the kids had enough and more space to run around in. The hotel had an elegant, no-fuss deco which really appealed to me. We tried their Mamma Mia restaurant a few times, for a different taste and it didn’t let us down one bit! The chefs there are really good. A must try for everyone with Italian taste buds! The kids enjoyed their time at the pool and were completely fascinated with the elephants spouting water.
The staff at the hotel were cordial and we didn’t have any problem with them. The beach is also pretty close and one-way transportation was usually available…..The only thing that we regret is that we were unable to experience the spa treatments due to lack of time. But we will surely be back for that sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amitkhandekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Amitkhandekar,

We thank you for your positive review of our resort. We have noted your comments and look forward in welcoming you again!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special offers, promos and updates...

Warm regards,
Pracilo D'silva
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We went goa for a few nights and stayed in room 207.
On arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and had our heavy cases taken of us..
When we were shown to the room we were like wow what a plush room, it was beautiful. If I was to be fussy one of the tables has not been cleaned and was sticky. The light fitting was not fixed on the wall properly and the power shower fluded the shower as the drainage was slow other that that every thing was 5*. we had dinner in one of the many restaurants it was excellent as was the entertainment with all the staff joining in with singing and dancing.
If maintained well this hotel will be a winner in the future

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leeds56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Leeds56,

We thank you for your positive review of our resort. We have noted your comments and look forward in welcoming you again!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special offers, promos and updates...

Warm regards,
Pracilo D'silva
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Truly a hidden gem, hardly 2 kms away from Baga & Calangute Beach. Excellent Ambience, and service beyond imagination. The rooms are a dream and best suited for a couple or family of 3. For larger families, they have the apartments & villas with Living rooms & kitchenettes.
The staff go out of their way to fulfill every wish or demand. Activities throughout the day for children & adults. Live music with karaoke in the restaurant and an excellent spread of food every day. If you don't like the buffet, they will cook up a special dish of your liking at no extra charge.
Enjoy the drinks at the pool bar, indoor sports and a wonderful spa experience.
The only thing that disappointed us was that they shut the pool at 7 in the evening!
But, overall, a great holiday destination!

Room Tip: Ask for a room/ villa with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rohitgupta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubiqsoln, General Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Mr. Gupta,

First of all I would like to thank you for getting back to us with your observations. We certainly do value them a lot.

We are definitely glad that you think of our resort as a “truly hidden gem” with excellent service and facilities. We deduce from your review that you definitely had a remarkable time during your stay here. Undoubtedly, we do provide unlimited fun, entertainment and much more.
At the same time, we follow certain rules and regulations at the poolside and this includes ending of the swim session at 7pm. We are very grateful to you for co-operating with these rules.

We thank you once again for your review and we invite you to visit this “great holiday destination” more often.

Regards,
Terence Nunes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

making my family happy is all i want to do. i saw the comments and reviews on this site and also was browsing on the site of Resort Rio... from what i saw.. i fell in love with the pictures on the site but the reviews was leting me down.. i wanted to see for myself and a family outing to Goa at resort rio was my plan. the journey to the hotel... was waiting to c the marvelous place.... the road towards the hotel was an adventure... we had to pull back because of a pickup coming the opposite site since the road was narrow, that's what i want to say all good things come the hard way. arriving to the resort, my family was over whelmed to see the the massive structure, it seemed like a palace, my check in was done by a gentleman named saby ( i hope i got that name right) he was a professional his accent phewwwww....... the rooms no words to describe... i told my wife i wish i could go to work from here everyday. the nights went fast and so the days.... guess i was having the time of my life with my family, i was entitled of all meals, i remember sachin and ryan served us most of the times and service no issues.. food was good.. i tried the mamamia pizza and guess what i got a 20% discount the pizza was worth more.. thanks for taking me to Italy when m in goa.. will come back for the pizza. the onli issue i had was the currents flactuation but the it wasnt for more then 10 to 15 sec... but the AC had to restart! the pool so wide, a sit up bar... bartender Jose and deston, i just asked how u going to get me drunk? and they kept making me drinks somethings out of their menu but really consumable... the coffee shop must have more then two guys.... coz we take time to order and others wer geting left out. if i had to read the bad reviews and dint wwant to come here i would have missed it all... the staff who were ready to help the massive rooms with lovely bath area.. i met Mr. Benny sales and marketing mgr he was such a down to earth man and neville he treated us like we wer family... i would say it was like home away from home... resort rio i will be back for more. guys i would suggest " go to this resort" you will not like it but love it

best wishes

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Sharp42,

We thank you for your positive review of our resort. We have noted your comments and look forward in welcoming you again!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special offers, promos and updates...

Warm regards,
Pracilo D'silva
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baroda
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

we all stayed in the hotel as there was a function in goa .we enjoyed the stay too much the ambeience ,eminities, the staff ,location were great .during the function i forgot my diamond jewellary in the room but when i returned it was safely kept .i was surprised by the loyalty of the staff.the only thing i would like to suggest is that they should work on making the food better otherwise a very good experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamini70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubiqsoln, General Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Ma’am

I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. We at Resort Rio, make every effort to ensure that our guests have “the time of their lives” here in Goa.

I am especially glad that you had an opportunity to witness the loyalty and dedication of our staff towards their job. We will definitely work towards upgrading the quality of the food here. I assure you that the next time you are here, your experience will be enhanced.

Thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Terence Nunes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We did a weekend package at Resort Rio and had a real blast.
We were a group of 6 people. We booked in 3 deluxe rooms. The rooms are very big, more than we expected. Anjali from front office was very helpful to give us pool facing rooms.

We had a nice dinner at the buffet restaurant Pickled Mango, Agnelo the manager took good care of us and was very jovial. We especially enjoyed the Karoake session.

The Rio Sunday was really fun day. The entertainment guy George had so many games, the music was rocking and we had lots of fun. We also took part in the fishing competition but unfortunately instead of catching the fish, the fish ate all my bait... grrrr. It was my first time after all...great experience!!!

Great going Resort Rio, we'll be back for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrikantgaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubiqsoln, General Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Sir,

We are very pleased to receive your review. At the same time we are delighted that you and your group had such a great weekend at Resort Rio.

I am glad that you had a good time at Pickled Mango with the karaoke session and suggest that you try out our other restaurants soon. I am also pleased that the staff here made you feel comfortable. We notice our efforts beginning to materialize when we know that you, our guests, have had the best time at our resort.

And of course, we do hope you have excellent luck at the next fishing competition here! We look forward to giving you another fantastic experience soon.

Thank you.

Regards,
Terence Nunes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
3.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,176 reviews
6.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#7 of 64 in Candolim
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Rio

Property: Resort Rio
Address: | Near Baga Beach, Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#1 Spa Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Rio 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Rio, a five star luxury deluxe spa resort in Goa, is spread over 10 acres on the banks of the Baga River and is just a 5 minute drive from the world famous Baga Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Rio Hotel Arpora
Resort Rio Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing