We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
50
11
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
11
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful boutique hotelindian breakfastgoaluxuryprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Artistic place with amazing view. Breakfast is pretty much limited (no buffet) and small. Wifi is free but did not get signal in our room. Rooms are clean and nice. In the evening there is no much to do..no music.. no atmosphere
If you are lucky you can see monkeys and peacocks in the hotel area!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hannakuresaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Lovely time on this very hotel cliff - Sometime to hot where you need the ocean breeze. All rooms are great and so is top service and food. Must the most expensive hotel i Goa - And the best. Bring extra cash

Room Tip: Bring extra money
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Have visited the Nilaya a few times over the last couple of years, it is an absolute gem, service, staff, food & pool are all superb. It is situated in the hills so fantastic views & it is so peaceful, no traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brasco1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed 9 nights at Nilaya. It's a beautiful little place, far from everything. Here you will get the peace you're looking for. The staff is attentive and do their best to make you feel comfortable. There are 11 rooms- all different. We stayed in star, sun and poornina room. We had one night in sun, got moved to star (1 night) which was too dark for me, so we had the last week in poornima which was great.

What you get:
Excellent service!
Peace and a complete feeling of privacy!!
Wildlife- monkeys in the trees!
Good food (although selection is less)!
Very deep pool- 13 feet at the deepest
Great massage on sight!!

There are only two things which Nilaya in our opinion could improve a little:

1. Keeping the pool clean/clear:
The water was murky most days, one day almost greenish, and then the next morning completely clear but with visible debre on the bottom. I did swim everyday but it was always in the back of my mind if there were too many or too little chemicals in the pool.

2. Variety of food:
With only 11 rooms it's understandable that it's difficult to maintain big variety in food. However, already day 2 you have pretty much been through the whole menu (we only had breakfast included in the rate) - and we were (to say the least) very disappointed with the Indian selection. For this reason we went out a lot to the local restaurans "Gunpowder" (for Indian breakfast and dinner) and also Honey Bee. (Ask for a local taxi/hotel about 10-15 min)

But with that said, we were very sad to leave and we most definitely will be back!!!!

Maria and Suraj

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Nilaya Hermitage for a night this January. Its on a hillock about 2 kms away from the main road and the St Josephs school. The approach is desolate and eerie and the ride up the hillock to the hotel is steep.

But once there, its a sanctuary in its own. Fabulously maintained, great staff, wonderful service and premium feel. They have a great pool ( with one end almost 10 feet deep) and an amazing view of the sunset from their poolside deck.

A steam room, gym, their so very wonderful Blue Room for Music and excellent cottages with comfortable beds, make you lounge around in the resorts comforts, without bothering to move out.

Add to it Superb European food, served freshly cooked and the stay can only be heavenly.

Has its share of issues - away from the beach so not essentially the Goa that we come to..approach is desolate and no complimentary drops and pick ups to nearby Saturday Night Markets or Beach or Clubs, make it difficult to get into that Goa mood.

But Nilaya has designed itself to cater to the privileged, who basically come to holiday and not to tour a place. So one is cut off and hence the Hermitage.

But quirkily a hermitage with all possible luxuries that life can offer.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dweidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews