We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top non-beachfront property in North Goa”
Review of Rio Residency

Rio Residency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Residency
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Arpora
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The location is good if you have a vehicle. Ample free parking and a short drive to all major points like Baga, Night Market etc makes it convenient. Free shuttle to Baga from the hotel a few times through the day. But what makes this property a winner is the overall package - great restaurants, beautifully maintained infrastructure, activities, pool and service with a smile - all at attractive prices. The only small drawback is that the room decor, fit and finish are not of the same level. Still very clean and comfortable.
If you are a family or a group of friends, this is ideal. Go for it..! I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Resort Rio and Rio Residency are the same property with different class of rooms/apts. There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotoShirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and a positive review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay, enjoyed our convenient locations to all major attractions such as beaches, night markets and shuttle facility. But more importantly the overall package comprising of the resort itself, restaurants and their delectable cuisines, guest activities, general cleanliness, great pool and genuine hospitality with a smile.

We thank you for your great comments, referral and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special promos, offers and updates…

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had booked a 3 bedroom Villa for my family, after reaching the resort we found the Villa was not less than a hospital room. We had to pay extra and get ourselves upgraded to a higher category room for which the amount exceeded to a very high figure. Toiletries were very bad in bathroom. King size bed was two single beds joined together. Food was absolutely bad and tasteless. Shuttle service to and fro to the airport was pathetic. Overall don't even consider this resort as a option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PREMk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and comments. However we regret the same and would like to clarify your feedback from our end,

 Our 3 bed room Villa is not less than a hospital room – a humble request when the permits to visit a hospital near your vicinity that would clear you comparison. It’s not just to comment on the accommodation when you haven’t stayed in it.

 Unfortunately as all other star category hotels / resorts, an upgrade charge will always be applicable pertaining to the room category, in which your case was the bare minimum.

 We fail to understand that the toiletries were bad – they are no different than the ones which are placed in all guest rooms with no complaints ever.

 In terms of bed configuration - we do have adequate rooms with king size beds and queen beds to cater to different travellers’ needs and market segment. In your case due to the high hotel occupancy and request for rooms close to each other, the beds were joined with a topper to meet your needs.

 Food was bad and tasteless – a complete contrast to other reviews, definitely one of a kind. To please your palate would be very challenging as it seems to very unique.

 Airport Transfer – we do understand that you experienced a flat tyre with the vehicle; however the same was an unforeseen contingency beyond our sight but necessary arrangements were made with an alternative conveyance arranged in a short span of time.

With all due respect to your comments, each and every guest has their own likes and preferences however the same is unmerited to your taste. May be if we had to add the upgrade on complimentary basis, you may have reviewed differently to your gain and at our loss, that would be regrettably incorrect.

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I chose this hotel as it is located on the border of Baga, just away from the chaos but not too far from the action. I booked my stay through a travel portal, and for some reason the hotel staff had not received the notification. However this was double checked and the check-in was done by puttine me at ease.

The rooms are in the same vicinity as Resort Rio, adjecent to the main housing block and a short walk through the villas. The rooms were just the right size to hold 2 people, with a spacious balcony (nothing exciting about the view). Bath was well maintained, clean and functional. Breakfast was the average buffet spread, continental, Indian and a fresh fruit bar. A decent sized pool, with a pool bar.

Verdict, this hotel is excellent for young travellers who are looking to stay a week or a weekend to party around north goa. Also would recommend it for families, as I did come across events being organised all day for kids and adults. Oh yes, and the staff does leave you with a smile.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a short stay, book the Rio Residency rooms, it's in the same area, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_VS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and a positive review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay and appreciated your comments on our convenient location. Yes unfortunately your booking details was due to a lapse from the online portal agency, however our staff were quick enough to sort the same for you.

We value your feedback on the general cleanliness in the room and the resort itself. And most importantly service with a smile from our ever friendly staff. We however have to disagree with your comments on the buffet spread and pool same in contrast to the many great reviews on both these aspects from fellow travelers.

We thank you for the referral and recommendation; look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on face book, our website for special offers, promos and updates..

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I would really like to thanx my travel agent who suggested me Rio. Everything here was just so perfect. The Manager was also too good. I'm so completely satisfied tat i will suggest the travellers to surely visit this resort once for making ur tour d memorable one.
Food of here was also superb..
I short i must say tat everything here was superb.. Thanks Rio foe making my tour d most memorable one..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chiragdoshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are glad to know that you had a memorable experience and enjoyed the resorts facilities and delicious cuisines.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your great comments and recommendations. And look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on our website, face book for special offers, promos and updates..

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Neat and tidy room and friendly staff!!! What you really want after a tiresome journey?? A place that refreshes you something soothing...Resort Rio is there name for it!!!
Hotel Rio is the best. We had comfortable stay. Food was also nice. The staff were behaving nicely and doing their best. Their service was excellent; Everything was good.

Room Tip: Dont worry about the rooms! All are the best!!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hari n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our accommodation and delicious cuisines. And that our friendly staff provided you with genuine hospitality.

We once again thank you sincerely for your great comments and look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on our website, face book for special offers, promos and updates…

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Recently stayed in residency with my friends in three bedroom villa,i must say it was one of my best holiday in Goa.
This is a five star hotel ,and maintained very well even in the monsoon.Villa is very specious with attached bathroom in each rooms.
Resort have very beautiful and clean swimming pool,staff is well trained,they are very friendly from each and every department.
Its a perfect place for relaxation .

Room Tip: villa in a lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manojtiwari2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our three bed room villa accommodation and the various resort facilities. And most noteworthy is that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one.

Once again thank you for your great comments especially referring us to a Perfect Place for relaxation and eagerly look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on our website, face book for special offers, promos and updates..

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 4bdrm villa which was simply amazing lovely view.... Very good service people working thr wr too helpful and wr cooperate with us.....frm the time I ck-in to the time I ch-out our stay was very comfortable.. Food was amazing reception staff restrnt staff wr all great.....will definitely visit again thnk u all fr mkng my trip a good n a memorable trip

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodation in our luxurious Four Bedroom villa and that our friendly staff exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again for your great comments and hope to see you soon again!

Please do visit us on our websites and face book for special promotions, updates and offers…

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 18 in Arpora
1,703 reviews
6.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
10 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.1 mi away
Nilaya Hermitage
Nilaya Hermitage
#8 of 18 in Arpora
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Residency

Address: Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#6 Spa Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: £88 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rio Residency 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort in North Goa in the same grounds as and with access to all the facilities and hospitality of its sister resort, the 5* Deluxe Resort Rio. With best of both worlds, Rio Residency combines a beautiful peaceful setting on the banks of River Baga with the famous salt pans of Goa beyond but with all the comforts and pleasure of refined hospitality of its 5* Deluxe adjoining resort. In North Goa, close to the famous Baga Beach.The accommodation comprises from great value cozy rooms to one bedroom apartments to luxurious 4 bedroom villas with private plunge pools. A true home away from home. Guests have the use of the swimming pools, restaurants, spa and all other facilities of the incredible 5* Deluxe Resort Rio, less than 2 minutes walking distance through our gardens. Stay with us, and feel like home…… But don’t miss out on having the Time of Your life ! Rio Residency twinned with Resort Rio. The best of both worlds ! Main Attractions a). Beautifully appointed accommodation from Cozy rooms to family villas. b). In North Goa and close to all the action, beaches, restaurants nightclubs and yet in a beautiful peaceful location. c). The famous Night Markets and the day flea market just a short distance. d). Beautiful location. e). A paradise for bird watchers. f). Panjim, the Capital of Goa, just 12 km. g).“ Jalsa”- The pure vegetarian Gujarathi Restaurant - Awarded by Times of India Good Food Guide as the Best Vegetarian restaurant in Goa in the last two consecutive years. h). " Mamma Mia "- Ristorante Italiano and Pizzeria. i). " Aagor "- the Goan shack. j). " Rio cafebar" A 24-Hour Cafe & Lounge Bar serving a choice of alcoholic & non alcoholic beverages from coffee to cocktails . k). " Pickled Mango" All day dining multi-cuisine international restaurant serving culinary delights from around the world . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Residency Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing