We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Marinha Dourada Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resorte Marinha Dourada
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Marinha Dourada Resort”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have recently spent our winter vacation in Marinha Dourada. Hotel was very clean and hotel management was very helpful. Our room had a perfect view of the lakes. We were suprised to learn that lakes were actually salty water so that explains why there were no mosquitos in the room. We enjoyed sitting in the balcony and the view from the room.
Food was wonderful at Marinha Dourada. Breakfast had many choices to select from. We ate most of lunch and dinners at the resort, because we did not want to increase contamination risks especially with small children by eating places that we did not know well. Hotel offered intercontinental food choices, so I really enjoyed good sea food recipes from Goa. The stuff was flexible and helpful to fix our meals as we wanted from no spicy to whatever kids like.
Resort had entertainment at most of the nights we stayed there. We did not feel like we need to leave the resort at all. Our children liked the tree house and walking paths around the lake. Whole resort felt very spacious. The only improvement I can think of for the resort is access to WiFi. It was available only at the reception area not in the rooms.We would like to thank hotel management for excellent recommendations for Goa beaches and other historical places to visit .Overall, we had a good time in Goa and most enjoyable part was our stay at Marinha Dourada.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    283
    109
    52
    31
See reviews for
171
373
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

hi i had spend 4 days at this wonderful resort. a very nice nd good place to stay in goa.
view from all rooms is fantastic. lake nd swimming pool can be viewed from room balcony.
rooms are well furnished with all amenities.
reception nd room service staff were very helpful.
advise to management is jus to increase some more cusines in vegetariaon food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyurbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I should say that the initial apprehensions I had immediately vanished as soon as I reached the resort. The rooms were excellent, staff courteous, the views from the room were great. In all I felt that I got value for the money even though I visited during the peak Christmas season in December. It is a family friendly hotel with good food, nice swimming pool and in close vicinity to the beaches in north Goa. In all a memorable stay. Would come back again for sure!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the lake facing ones, the next are the pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskar_Raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from our third visit to the Marinha Dourada. Looking at recent reviews the rooms are a little tired and some of the bathrooms need to be refurbished but this is only a 2 star hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding changed regularly. The breakfast room formerly known as the bird cage has been refurbished and looked very good it is an excellent place to have breakfast. The setting is wonderful and very relaxing the staff are friendly its a bit like going home and it is the only hotel we have ever returned to and will do so again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel, but the friends we were travelling with had been six times before. Amazing views from our room overlooking the lake, surrounded by palm trees and sun sets to die for each evening. The rooms are very basic and normally I would stay in somewhere a little more luxurious, but the setting of the hotel makes up for the more basic accommodation. Excellent staff in all aspects of the hotel, nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts were very basic but okay. The fact that it is in a quiet area to us was a bonus although I have noticed that other reviews have it down as a negative aspect, it is what you personally like, if you want hustle and bustle this place is not for you. We used taxis most of the time as they are very cheap, but courtesy bus is available all day on the hour from 9 till 6. Very good restaurant to visit is Nicks place which is only a five minute walk away run by Bob and Linda exceptional hosts and excellent food. Whether it be local cuisine or English, their staff cannot do enough for you. We travelled by the Thomson Dreamliner which is well worth booking as it made the long haul seem so much shorter than I have experienced before on other long haul flights in the past. It is worth visiting all the local markets and putting your bartering skills to the test. The exchange rate for the rupee against the pound at the moment is exceptionally good, so it makes everything you see and do very inexpensive. Would highly recommend this whole experience, just remember you are experiencing Goa not for luxury but its beauty. So impressed we are going in the very near future again.

Room Tip: lake view for a truly spectacular experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in Goa. We first went to Goa in 1998 and stayed at this hotel and returned there several times but not since 2005, so this was a nostalgic return.The rooms are a bit tired but they are large and very clean and the setting is beautiful. Recommend you ask for an Annex room overlooking the lake. The staff are extremely friendly and Peter and Sach in the Agor Bar remembered us, so that was special. Baga Beach has lost all its charm and is too busy now that the Indians from neighbouring States also holiday there, which also makes it very dirty as well with a lot of litter. Candolim is the best beach along that stretch but head out to the Northern beaches such as Mandrem and particularly Querim to experience the true charm of Goa. We enjoyed it but it will be our last visit to North Goa. If we return it will be back to South Goa which is less crowded with better beaches and a more up-market feel, although the price you pay for this is a lot more Russians!

Room Tip: Room in the Annex on the first floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Enjoyalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Easy, smooth check in and quickly shown to our room. Rooms are a little bit tired but large and clean. Bed was comfortable, shower powerful and a great view over the lake from the small balcony.

Breakfast was served in a large, almost tent like structure but clearly the hotel have thought about the best way to prevent queues and speed up service by having someone continually making the toast and you give your order to the 'egg man' and it is delivered to your table. The only thing I missed was fresh fruit, especially as it is so cheap!

The location seems to be a problem for some people but the hotel do run a shuttle bus into Baga once an hour between 9am - 6pm but we walked it every day and it takes about 20 - 30 minutes although beware the lack of pavement, the potholes and the lunatic scooters!!

Favourite place to eat was a small bar/restaurant called the Shining Star along Baga's main road, great service, very friendly and excellent food but to be fair food was great in all the places we went (Rasa, Lobos, Cliff's Shack, Laxmis, St Anthony and Green Mango in Anjuna. We are fickle).

On the downside: Baga beach......overcrowded, loud, dirty and I really didn't like it. In the evening the bars and restaurants were in competition for who had the loudest music, so much so that we couldn't actually hold a conversation so we chose to eat away from the main beach front. As in a previous post, we also went to Mandrem Beach and that was much quieter and more what I had hoped Goa to be. We also went to the market in Anjuna and then spent the day on the beach. The end furthest from the market was the quieter end and suited us better.

Summed up: Loved the hotel but can I pick it up and move it to another, quieter area of Goa :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.2 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 15 in Arpora
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#6 of 15 in Arpora
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Sunila Suites
La Sunila Suites
#2 of 15 in Arpora
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Property: Resorte Marinha Dourada
Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing