We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resorte Marinha Dourada
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Arpora
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our first trip to Goa and at first couldn't understand why people return year after year but we may visit again in the future after getting used to the culture. The hotel was brill and deserves more than 2 stars. Yes the breakfast was basic but there was something for everyone. The rooms could do with updating but they were roomy and everything was clean and working. We had a lake view and appreciated the fact that the sun didn't get onto the balcony, although the room looked a bit gloomy at times it was a welcome break from the scorching heat. I don't go on holiday to watch TV so can't comment on that. I thought the bed was a bit uncomfy, my hubby thought it was great so it's a case of you can't please everyone! Lots of happy smiling polite workers who would do anything to please even fetching ice cream from the restaurant to the poolside. We didn't have a problem with sunbeds but it is getting towards the end of the season. Food in the hotel was good, we went to the Thursday sizzler night twice and the bill was no more than when eating out and the entertainment was very good. Nearby Saturday night bazaar was awesome with great music into the night. Last day bonus was the Happy Holi where everyone was celebrating by covering everyone in paint, great experience although there were some odd coloured people on the trip home! The Thomson Dreamliner was a joy with no need to book extra leg room, great journey both ways spoiled by being ripped off coming back at Goa airport. Before going to departure we were told we HAD to exchange our leftover rupees as we couldn't spend them upstairs. We had about £18 left (1810 rps) , and were given less than £12 hubby kicked up a fuss and was told it was because of the tax! they gave us another £4 when he demanded the rupees back. Upstairs a small bottle of water was 30 rupees but they equated it to 60p to pay in stirling! Lesson learnt, hang on to your few rupees to spend upstairs or you'll end up paying £5 for a manky box of pringles like another fellow duped passenger. The Russians are O.K they are just a bit misunderstood, we had no problems with them ( a polite good morning goes a long way). Many of the British visitors are from the older end (like us) , the Russians much younger and will still be going in years to come and unless the cost of the visas for the U.K is reduced Goa is in danger of losing out on U.K visitors in future years. If we return we would stay at the Marinha Dourada, we saw some of the other hotels on route and this was a good choice and worth paying for the taxis and Tuc Tucs to get to the other nearby resorts.

Room Tip: We had room 150 (Middle floor of 3) , overlooking the 2nd lake and swimming pool. A bit away from re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueJackson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We returned to the marinha dourada again in February , my son and his wife and me and my husband, we have been several times and it is difficult to review because we have said it all before !
Great hotel
Great location
Great staff
Great grounds
Great breakfast(choice of eggs)
Great holiday
We are already looking forward to next year , if we were all retired we would stay longer but for now three weeks will have to do!!!
Thank you marinha dourada for a great holiday
See you again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jandjtweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Go for this hotel if
1.Looking for clean and big rooms.
2.Friendly staff.
3.Balcony awesome view.
4.Cheap and delicious food.
5.Night band.
6.All other facilities just outside the hotel.
7.Very large resort.
8.Good for couples to have quality time.
9.NO hassles whatsoever.
10.Close to saturday nite mackies which is too good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANAND_025361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for three weeks in February ,have already booked for next feb.we have stayed in a number of hotels in goa,2 and 3 star and like the marinha dourada the best .the rooms are large and clean with good aircon,the shower was always hot .
The breakfast is excellent lots of choice.
It is a large hotel set in beautiful grounds around two large lakes ,with good views from your room. Staff are very friendly ,we can't think of anything to really find fault with without appearing petty.a good choice of hotel for your stay in goa

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank CrissLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for years - first came in Feb 98 - and we have stayed in other places in Goa, but we always prefer this hotel as first choice. I cannot agree with some of the reviews, this is a 2* hotel and has been voted the best 2* hotel in the whole of India - not just Goa. If you want a higher class * rating, then book into that class of hotel.
There is a lot of repeat bookings and long stays - why is that? The setting is peaceful, the staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean. Chillax, India - and especially Goa - is go with the flow. The breakfast is simple - varying daily, but normally including: Tea, Coffee, Fruit Juice, Cereals, Porridge, Eggs - fried, poached, scrambled, boiled, variety of omelettes - Beans, Tomatoes, Toast - White, Brown, Rye, and the local "Unod" bread, and not forgetting the Indian style breakfasts - Idli, Bhatore, Dosa, Samber, Chole and many more - which as a change, were delicious - help yourself. Fresh fruit is available, for which there is an extra charge normally Rs150/£1:50. - we once stayed in a hotel in Greece and only got Boiled Eggs and Olives for breakfast.
We are in our early fifties and most of the people that we were talking to, and socialising with, were younger than us - some in their twenties. Perhaps we are just happy to talk to almost anybody, we even spoke to some of the Russians - who, by majority where from the Ukraine, break the ice and talk to people, you go to a foreign country and at some point you will have to talk to the locals, why not talk to tourists from other countries as well. Your efforts will be rewarded - in our case with an invite to the Ukraine.
This hotel is an acceptable place to base yourself in Goa - and we, most certainly, will be staying here again, in the future.
The Marinha Dourada is a nice place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms 29 - 38(over 3 floors ie: G29,129,229) have balconies were the very is not obscured by Palm Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CsWorldtourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews I really didn't know what to expect so went with an open mind, I'm glad we chose the marinha dourada as me and my partner had an excellent 2 week holiday all round .
The hotel is very well run and looked after by the hundreds of staff and they all have a smile for you no matter what - our room was overlooking the pool on the 1st floor and I can honestly say I was impressed with the cleanliness and change of bed linen and towels was done every day .
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel we went to niks so cannot comment but we did have 2 evening meals which were very good , would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a nice quiet location even though it's a five minute taxi or moped ride to baga beach - we have booked to go again in December and will stop at Mandarin beach in one of the shacks for a night or two I can't wait ..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel complex is big, off the road and relatively quiet, the rooms are large, cleaned regularly,
This hotel is for the over 65 club. Adjoining baga river with some lakes inside hotel premises.
Good swimming pool, great view from balconies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlesteps18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.2 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 18 in Arpora
1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.9 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 16 in Anjuna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#6 of 18 in Arpora
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Sunila Suites
La Sunila Suites
#2 of 18 in Arpora
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: £43 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing