We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Staff and Food!”
Review of Abalone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalone Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Staff and Food!”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

19th December 2008 - 3rd December 09


LOCATION
--------------------
30min walk to baga beach - nice walk. 100rupees (£1.20) taxi to baga beach or better still hire a scooter like we did for 200 rupees a day! The hotel is near a few good restaurants, Alfresco is the best one! Try the crab and cord cakes to start with then the bengaly mustard prawns!!

HOTEL
---------------------
Basic but we knew that before we booked! Staff really friendy espcially Captain, Ray, Bidopt and Pronob!
Beds were as hard as concrete and the pillows too but i slept no prob after i got a soft pillow :) Room was basic, 2 single beds, 2 ceiling fans, small wardrobe, fridge and table.We were half board and although the breakfast was only tea/coffee and toast - it was fine. We ate here a few times and were really surprised at how tastey the food was! Try the specials (they never change) Golden fry prawns and Crispy chicken :)
Christmas dinner was a buffet, nothing to write home about but did the soaking up of the alcohol!
New years Buffet was much better and the entertainment with the dancers and hours of fireworks (bangers!) was excellent!

Best beach shack by far was BISTRO located at the end of baga beach a near brittos. Lovely staff, food and dogs!

Weather was excellent! I tanned better than i ever have! 30 degrees plus!

Dress code was casual! Being a women i took way to many clothes and flat shoes! In the end i wore the same sandles during the day for 2 weeks and a different pair for at night!

I highly recommend people to come to this hotel around the december xmas time if you are up for a laugh with people aged 20-60. We met lovely people and we will all be heading back to the ABALONE to meet up next Xmas.

Any questions just give me a shout :)

Lexi

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
northampton, enhland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

a basic hotel b ut it had everything you needed and was clean and comfortable.
to be honest we didnt spend too much time at the hotel, as there was so much to do elsewhere, and the beach was much cooler due to the sea breezes. however, the time we did spend there ws highly enjoyable. all the staff were helpful and friendly and the cleaners were thorough and considerate.
breakfast was very basic - toast with jam and a fruit juice or cup of tea, but you could order something more substantial if you required it, and the food here was really really cheap. we had lunch at the hotel a few times too and that was really nice, and again very cheap.
outside the hotel there are plenty of taxis, and although it was only about a 20 minute walk to the beacj, the fares were so reasonable and the weather was so hot that more often than not we used them instead. make sure you barter with the taxi drivers as they are open to negotiations. the drivers are also great to take you on trips which work out much cheaper than going through your tour operator. for example they will take you to the waterfalls to see the monkeys, to the spice plantations, to see the crocodiles,etc. just agree a rate up front and they are yours for the whole day! also make sure to visit the bazaars (markets) as these have to be seen to be believed. but be sure to haggle -the locals wont respect you unless you do!

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — distance to beach/main resort area
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hanner_spanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed here for a fortnight on a halfboard basis although we never used it for dinner (too many good places outside) The hotel is a bit out of the way, too far in my opinion to walk to anywhere but we hired a jeep. The rooms are very basic, but are cleaned daily, air con is available at about £4 a night in a few rooms. We did look about to change the hotel on the first day, but decided to stick with it. The pool is a reasonable size and clean. The staff were typical Goan lovely people in no great rush!. We went out on the first charter of the season and loads of places hadnt opened. beach shacks had yet to be built and many of the shop owners didnt open until late in our second week, All in all an ok hotel but there are a lot better out there

  • Liked — Its in Goa
  • Disliked — A bit too basic
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippychick1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2008

The abalone is great!! You have 2 go! Yep it is a little basic but hey your in india! We stayed 2 weeks and did not want to go home,the staff are so much fun and help and do anything for you,the rooms are basic but very clean ,the pool is lovely my kids loved it ,the food they do is great ,its so cheap we could'nt believe it!! theres loads to do while you are there so just hire ya self a taxi for pence a day and go we went all over, if you want a nice beach go to mandarin beach ! The night markets are great aswell for asda price shoppin as the locals say! Abalones ace we are going back next year ,goa is so nice ,you will love it we did !

  • Liked — the pool ,the staff ,the food everything its ace
  • Disliked — been checkd out ! wanted 2 stay!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank indianjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Horrible flight with My Travel (First Choice much better). The Hotel was much as we expected for the price. Clean enough, didn't bother with breakfast. The best part was that Arpora is now a nice little place tp stay, away from the madness of Baga/Calangute. We always get a scooter and to reach the northern beaches from Arpora was so much easier, cutting out the traffic congestion. We spent a couple of nights in a nice beach shack in Ashwem, all mod cons. Overall enjoyed the holiday. It is almost as expenseve to just book a flight, so to have the Abelone included was a bonus. Nice local restautants-All Spice, Spice Oven, Starlight etc. No complaints.

  • Liked — hotel location
  • Disliked — lack of storeage space
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molesKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

I had a 2 week stay at the Abalone and have to say it was a very enjoyable holiday. The hotel is basic, however the staff are very friendly and could not do enough for you. The rooms are a decent size and have a mini bar and in our room there was two single beds, not the best but it was still a bed.

You have to pay extra for the air conditioning, which is approx £50 for 2 weeks and for the mini bar. We used the mini bar for the two weeks and it cost us about £4 at the end of the holiday. The hotel pool is very cold, but it is exactly what you need when you have been sunbathing!

The food was quite good at the hotel and very reasonably priced. The breakfast mainly consisted of tea/coffee and toast, which was fine. There are a few good restaurants near the hotel, the Spice Oven directly across the road was very good, although the service was very slow(as it is in all places in Goa!).

There was also two restaurants at the end of the road, all spice(very nice although quite expensive compared to most restaurants and busy) and the starlight(very cheap and
the food is excellent). Don't be put off by the look of the starlight, the food is excellent but again the service is slow. There was 5 of us there for dinner on the first night and it cost 685 rupees which is about £7, not bad eh! Oh and that was including drinks!

There is lots to do and see in Goa and if you make the Abalone the base for you holiday and that it all you are looking for then this hotel will meet all you needs and not stretch the wallet!

  • Liked — The cold pool
  • Disliked — The bedrooms were not the best
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KerryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
1.5 mi away
Alor Holiday Resort
Alor Holiday Resort
#76 of 110 in Calangute
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sodder's Renton Manor
Sodder's Renton Manor
#11 of 15 in Arpora
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 15 in Arpora
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#51 of 65 in Candolim
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#92 of 110 in Calangute
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Resort

Property: Abalone Resort
Address: Gorbhat | Little Baga, Arpora 403 518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABALONE RESORT ! Comfortably & friendly. it is located at – Baga - Arpora, a mere walking distance from world famous Baga Beach. All rooms have balconies, some are pool view.There are many great attractions, including the Baga beach, Anjuna Beach, Calangute Beach, Saturday Night market & the Famous Discotheques nearby.ABALONE RESORT emphasizes on cleanliness and personalized service making the Resort a "Value for Money" proposition and our guests stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Abalone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Resort Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing