We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, but in a very, very quiet area”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Candidasa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karma Royal Candidasa
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at this resort. we are members of the Royal club, and had never stayed here before. Beautiful surroundings and grounds. The pool was fantastic, however it was nearly impossible to get a drink order in. You could wait for ever before anyone came. We would just go up to the bar and order it ourselves. The restaurant food was amazing. Congratulations to Dewar the chef. The banquet night on Sunday night is not to be missed!! I am a vegitarian, and had more choice that you could possibly image. Do not miss the cooking tour offered by the resort. It was a tremendous experience and well worth the money. Unfortunately I came down with the dreaded Bali Belly right in the middle of the course and became quite ill. The resort staff did everything within their power to assist me & even went into the local village to get me some tablets and hydration drinks. When we got back, they bought over medicinal drinks to our room and really looked after me. they even gave me a refund for the course, which was not expected!!

Although the restaurant food is great, you should also try "Vincents" and La Rouge" in CandiDasa. If you ring and make a booking, they will send a car to come pick you up & drop you off when you are finished. Candidasa itself is a "One Horse Town" and not much there. At night there is nothing at all to do. And the bar at the resort is dead. No-one is around after 9pm. My husband & I found this pretty unreal. We thought that there would be at least some music at the bar to encourage people to come and sit down and have a drink and chat.

The resort is geared towards the older traveller, who wants to do nothing more than lie around the pool and do the occasional day trip. I would not suggest this place for anyone with teenagers - they would go mad within 2 days!!

The spa is great, but they keep changing their prices. They may offer you a treatment with a 20% discount in the morning, but in the afternoon, you will be offered the same treatment at 50%????

Overall, this is a nice resort, aimed for the older person. It is well maintained, clean and the staff was absolutely wonderful. If you want to laze by the pool and watch the world go by, you could not do this in a better place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Mrs Kate,
Many thanks for spending your valuable time to write such a long reviews. we are so glad that you were enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Resort Candidasa. we believe that you will come again in the near future.

See you again soon and kind regards from all of us at Royal Candidasa

Sulinggih - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Perhaps we had high expectations after our stay at the RBBC in Sanur, but we were a bit disappointed by this resort. We missed the turn on the way in and drove all the way to Candidasa before asking directions. So, we turned around and drove. and drove. And finally saw the sign. The resort is actually in Manggis, down a small alley. Along the alley are a cute convenience store, a couple of shops, and a couple of warungs (The one closest to the main road is delicious, with great service)! Also, a resident group of guys that seems to hang out and drink...
We were greeted coolly by a grumpy middle aged man, and that was to set the tone for most of our staff interactions for the remainder of our stay. They were not all that friendly and never bothered to learn our names- with one notable exception, the lady who ran the spa (bad on me, I did not learn her name). She was very keen on getting us in for treatments, but you can get a nice massage right outside the gate for $10. The setting is definitely not as idyllic, but the massages are good.

The grounds are lovely and meticulously maintained. Gorgeous. The restaurant is also lovely, with a view of the pool and the sea beyond. We ate breakfast there daily, and every day it was amazing! Particularly the banana pancakes.

We had a one-bedroom unit, number 17. We had a partial view of the ocean. There are only 4 rooms with a full-on ocean views and, unfortunately I did no get the numbers. The room was very nice, with a basic kitchen (microwave, sink, fridge and coffee pot), living area, patio, and large bedroom with vanity. The bathroom was adequate, with plenty of hot water but not the best water pressure. Our room was kept clean and stocked.

Our biggest complaint, like RBBC Sanur, was the location. This is to be expected from timeshare, but it is still the most unpleasant part. It cost $5 each way to get to town (pricey for Bali). Also, be aware that this is a very quiet town and there is little to do. If you want to relax by the pool, this is your place. It takes a good 30 minutes by car to get to white sands beach, which is lovely. We liked the resort overall, but left a day early because we were bored.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenDo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for writing such a long reviews. Royal Bali Resort at Candidasa is located in the eastern part of the island where the regent is more traditional, nature and less pollution and trafic. If you looking for a place to relax and to feel the real Bali life this is the place. However if you look for busy and commercial places this may not suit you. we are sorry if you were get bored when you stayed at Candidasa, however please do not forget to visit us whenever you plan your next trip to Bali.

Kind Regards
Sulinggih - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

One week at this hotel left us very relaxed. The complex is on the ocean with lovely pool. Retaurant is good but pricey and we ate at the small restaurant outside of the complex. Also had massages down the road at $10 pp rather than the hotel $30 pp. Our 2 bedroom unit was really very comfortable, good ac and quiet. Only noise was some local motor bikes and the roosters.
Went snorkeling at Amed and do not recommend to go there as its dirty and the corals are all dead and few fish. Infront of Candidasa the snorkeling use to be fabulous but I have heard from various people its not worth going either.
Only complaint I would have about this resort is that its too far out of Candidasa center - 5 alms and one must take a taxi to get there as the walk into town is very hot and dangerous along the busy road.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for your reviews on this tripadvisor.
We are sorry for the unpleasantness caused by the noise of the motorbike and roosters during your stay. It is difficult beeing in the middle of the local village where the noise of the animals and peoples are alwars there, however this is the real Balinese village, it is more traditional and nature life if you compare to the south part of the island. Some peoples like it as it has a real Bali feeling.

Anyway, once again thank you and hope that we all will see you again soon.

Very best regards
Sulinggih - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This ISLAND is so breath taking that it has literally floored me I am yet to come to terms with this beautiful BALI & its people (ever smiling people). The RBBC resort rooms are good, clean, well maintained. Very friendly staff. I would surely recommend it to my friends. Its ideal for HONEY MOON couples & people who would like to take off in solitude

Room Tip: Quite & Serene place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs LVR,
Thank you so much for your positive reviews about us and Bali.
We look forward to have you come again soon.

Kind Regards
Sulinggih - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

When our driver turned into a tiny little lane somewhere in the middle of nowhere, I was a bit worried. We pulled into the entrance of the 'Royal' and were greeted by a wonderful group of people, a gratefully recieved welcome drink and the fastest check in ever!
I must advise that our pary consisted of 5. Myself and my husband, both in our 40's, our 7yr old son, our 17yr old intellectually/physically handicapped daughter, ad my Mother, 71.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment, which had a basic kitchen, (microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee maker, sink, cutlery & dishes for 6, a non-refidgerated water cooler, and a few other bits & pieces) quite adequate. We had 2 bathrooms, and the lounge folded down into a double sized bed. It was lovely. Considering in was january, it also had 3 of the hardest working air-conditioners on the planet!! The tv was excellent, with pay tv channels, and a dvd player, perfect for watching the dvds you can buy for around $1.50 at the local markets! ;). In the room was an information leaflet, introducing us to some of the local wildlife we might encounter..The 'Tokay Gecko', heard but not seen! and the 'Thick-Tailed Shrew', seen & heard alot!! We had nightly visits from our shrew, that was simply delightful! Though it might freak you out if you don't like small furry creatures. The don't move fast, and have failry poor vision, so if you watch them they will usually find their way out!
The grounds were gorgeous! I took more photos of the trees, flowers and butterflies than of the family, and I'm not really into gardening.
Te restaurant was good. The breakfasts were simple and tasty, the lunches the same, and the dinners were terrific, though as we were there for 2 weeks, it felt a little repetitive.
The pool was outstanding! We spent alot of the time there when not out and about discovering the local area. It overlooked the ocean, had plenty of places to sit, a spa, and all the towels you need.
The K-spa was great, I had a few massages and enjoyed each one. While you can get much cheaper massages just outside in the laneway, (They were wonderful as well!) The K-spa offered other treatments as well.
The immediate surrounding area, (the laneway) had a few general stores where you can get eggs, bread, milk, your laundry done for a pittance, a variety of breakfast stuffs and snacks, as well as Bintang. There are also at least 3 places you could get a massage, and a few place where you can get kites, wooden objects, Ikat and Batik, as well as as least 2 places to eat. (They were rebuilding a restaurant while we were there).
Candidasa pronounced Chandidasa we found out, was just like how I remember Legian to be when I first went there in 1983. Very green, a few places to buy clothes and Souvenirs, a great Silver shop, 3 'supermarkets' and a lot of great places to eat at! People hasselling you for taxi service, and massages, street sellers selling sunglasses, wallets, watches etc, nostalgic! Temples, wedding decorations, local ceremonies including roadside cremations (I kid you not!).
They also had an english speaking doctor who was very professional. I must admit, it's been a long time since I have witnessed such a thorough examination! There is also a very good hospital near by.
We regularly used the serviced of Ketut and his brother, and found them simply wonderful. If you are going to stay at the Royal, contact the resort before you leave, and ask them to get Ketut to meet you at the airport. It would have been much easier & cheaper, if we had done this.
Well I guess that covers it! We had a good time, The only other thing I would add, is that at the time of our visit, we were the only family at the resort, which was sad, as our son is very social, and would have loved other kids to play with. When we were there, it was mainly older couples, and a few honeymooners, no other Australians, mainly Americans so very far from home!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tacaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Cakaga,
We thank you very much for spending your valuable time to write such a long reviews in this forum. we are all the staff and the management here at Candidasa hoping you and your family stay well and in a good spirits. please do not forget to visit us at Candidasa whenever you plan your next trip to Bali.
We all love to see you and your son again very soon.

very best regards
Sulinggih
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A great hotel with staff that go the extra mile to make your stay memorable.
Remembering our names a real personal touch.
Excellent restaurant with first class food, a couple of theme nights during the week.
Local restaurants up in Candidasa will pick you up for a meal and drop you back to the hotel.
Nyomans out on the road leading up to the hotel has great meals with ice cold drinks at budget prices.

Room Tip: Ocean and pool view room balcony a great place to sit, rest and have a quiet drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This would be my 7th stay here at the Royal Bali Beach Club at Candidasa and its just getting better and you can see that the grounds are always well kept, it is private and the people staying are of the older generation (over 40) and there was not a child on this occassion. The staff is very attentive and the Manager is always there with a smile and will help you with any question you have to ask. The Restuarant is great but yes the prices are bit high for Bali but you can be guaranteed that the dreaded "Bali Belly" wont get you. Tip DONT DRINK THE TAP WATER, for the amount of about $4.00Aus get 19 litres delivered to your room and into the dispenser this will last a week for coffee, brushing your teeth and for drinking straight as well.
The location is a little out of town of Candidasa which I have seen evolve into what Kuta was 30 years ago with more little shops, a few more street sellers who are not as pushy as their Kuta counterparts and more Restuarants, my favs are The Dining Room for a great Pizza Wood Fired and other food,Janger for Nasi Goreng and the best Mixed Fruit Juice and the Crazy Kangaroo for the Calimari or squid.
UNLESS YOU LITTLE DARLINGS CAN AMUSE THEMSELVES at this point of time Candidasa is not for the younger ones as after awhile a $50 van ride to waterbom park in Kuta will become rather expensive

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stcsgt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
1.1 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
854 reviews
18.6 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#82 of 199 in Ubud
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#12 of 20 in Candidasa
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Candidasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Candidasa

Address: Jl. Villa Kandara | Puri Buitan Manggis, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Candidasa: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#4 Family Hotel in Candidasa
#5 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Resorts: Royal Bali Beach Club at Candidasa, located on Balina beach on the outskirts of Candidasa, is the perfect site for anyone seeking relaxation and peace in a stunning location. The ambiance is uniquely Balinese with traditional architecture and stone carvings of ancient Gods, which adorn the surroundings. A combination of beautifully furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments surround lush gardens, the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi lead directly onto the beach. The international restaurant caters for all tastes and regular entertainment evenings are staged. There is a comprehensive excursion programme offered on-site giving guests a combination of relaxation and adventure. Diving, snorkeling and fishing are extremely popular activities here and the local fishermen land their daily catch of fresh seafood right on the beach in the same way that they’ve done it for hundreds of years. The verdant hills behind provide a variety of lovely walks and some optional hard climbs, whilst the town of Candidasa offers shopping and dining experiences for all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Bali Beach Club At Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Karma Royal Candidasa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing